We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“friendly staff, no frills, excellent!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Captains Quarters Motel and Conference Center
Ranked #8 of 9 Hotels in Eastham
Reviewed September 23, 2011

After looking at other reviews I was undecided on the hotel. The price was right and we were going to a wedding so we went with it and booked the 3 rooms needed for our group. I am very glad we did!

Each time I spoke with the staff, both in person and on the phone they were professional and courteous. Check in was a breeze and they had made sure our rooms were near each other.

The room was simple without the musty smell that other reviewers spoke of. The complimentary wifi in the room helped us keep our son entertained while we were getting ready for our event.

The following morning on our way to checkout we discovered my battery in the car was dead and the manager on duty borrowed jumper cables from a neighbor to help us get on our way so we didn't have to wait for AAA.

I have never written a review on tripadvisor before but felt this was the perfect time to start. If visiting wellfleet don't miss PJ's on rt 6 for fantastic seafood including a can't miss lobster roll!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gingerjayri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (242)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 242 reviews

Reviewed September 20, 2011

Fairly large property, about 75 rooms sprerad over several one-story buildings. Set back from highway, with lots of open space for kids to run around safely. (The grounds are not of the manicured sort. If you're into the less formal look, this is the place for you.) Complimentary breakfast includes several different kinds of coffee, three fruit juices, toast, bagels, muffins, & cereals. Rooms a bit spartan, but very clean & spacious, with cable TV & lots of hot water. Housekeeping staff is very attentive. The heated pool was closed by the time we arrived, mid-September. Management is very courteous & friendly. The HUGE draw here is the price! Unbelievably low for the Cape. Amazing deal for what you get. We really liked it here & will definitely be back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abernathy15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2011

We arrived Friday early before Hurricane Irene and hoped for the best - We were determined to stay for 4 days and "weather the storm". As soon as we met the manager Helen and entered our very clean room, we knew we were with family and we would all take care of each other.
I have been on many vacations and can honestly say that this will be on the top ten list.
The beds were so comfortable, the pool was heated and clean, the location was perfect! 25 minutes to Provincetown, right next to the bike path, a short walk to Ben and Jerry's and a country deli, a 10 minute ride to Orleans (wonderful brunch restaurants and Stop and Shop).
If I was forced to find a flaw, I would have to say, the lighting in the room. More light is needed.
I hesitate to go on with my glowing report because I am afraid there won't be an available room when I next want to go back to Captains Quarters!!

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jane883
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2011

We just returned from Captain's Quarters. We enjoy talking with the owner and manager. They are kind and caring. We visit there often and have never had any problems.

Our dog enjoys her visit as well.This is a great area to bring a dog.

We highly recommend Captain's Quarters, as it is an ideal place for a vacation on the Cape.

D & M, Albany, NY

Room Tip: Very spacious rooms with great mattresses.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2011

We knew heading into a two night stay at the Captain's Quarters that it wasn't going to be the Sheraton, the Hilton, or even the Hampton inn. But we were doing it anyway. We needed affordable lodging on the upper cape for a weekend, and it seemed impossible to find anyplace willing to take us for two nights (instead of a week) and for less than $225 a night. That's just the way it is on Cape Cod in the busy season. The Captains Quarters was $129 a night and that included free wireless and continental breakfast. Our room was of good size. Our TV worked well and provided cable. The room had new carpet and fresh paint on the walls. The furniture was drab and obviously repurposed from the Hilton chain (We found a Hilton sticker on the entertainment center). The bathroom was very small and it's hardware was quite old. The sink and mirror were located in the room, not the bath, and had old hardware, too. The bed was acceptable. The AC worked very well. The cleaning crew came in daily and left behind them a sweet dose of air freshened in the air. No sign of mustiness. Helen, the front desk lady, was hospitable and helpful. The location is ideal if you intend on visiting Nauset or Coast Guard or Marconi Beaches, or any of the town beaches. This motel is convenient to the a-w-e-s-o-m-e Wellfleet Fleamarket, which runs Weds, Thurs, Sat and Sunday. (Sunday is the best !). And it is close to the Friendly Fisherman, where Rachel Ray swooned after eating their fabulous Lobster Roll. Provincetown is just 30 minutes up Rt. 6 and the restaurants, bars and shops of Orleans and Wellfleet are 10 minutes away, too. If you can tolerate old tiling, questionable and repurposed decor, almost non -existent bathroom amenities than the Captains Quarters are not too bad, especially if you are operating on a tight budget. We felt safe, cool and disappointed that it wasn't a nicer situation. But it is a definite option. We would consider returning but probably only after trying to find a better kept up hotel at a similar price. Happy Traveling !

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank athomeatfenway
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My friends and I stayed at the Captains Quarters and all agree it is the first and last time we will stay there. We arrived after dark and while the woman checking us in was very friendly, that is where the pleasantries came to a halt. Our designated room was way in the back facing the woods and as soon as we opened the door the overpowering musty smell was greeting enough to let us know how the rest of our stay would be. We quickly discovered in an attempt to open the windows to air the room out that Mr. & Mrs. Spider and their brood had already checked in and were taking up occupancy in two of the four windows.
Turning on all of the lights made the situation even more dismal. Grungy carpeting, creeping black mold all around the back of the sink, a suspicious looking stain on the bathroom floor, and a toilet that sounded like an incoming tugboat when flushed only added to our trepidation. The beds looked clean but the rest of the room was warning enough for us and we slept on the sheets we use at the beach (we knew they were clean). The next day we returned from a trip to the beach at 4:30 and found the room had still not been visited by housekeeping and we had to send up an S.O.S. for clean towels (which we had to go get ourselves). Adding to our chagrin (and at this point some resigned laughing) was a shower that was weaker than my friend's 96 year-old grandma. We did make the following nights more comfortable by stopping at the grocery store for Lysol spray and disinfectant wipes. We would have looked into accommodations elsewhere but, per the Captains Quarters policy, our entire stay had to be prepaid prior to our arrival.
So...forewarned is forearmed...while we will return to the Cape next year, staying at the Captains Quarters is one traveling blunder we won't make again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Donna218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2011

Got a last minute stay at Captain's Quarters Motel. Room was clean but incredibly out of date. The carpet in my room was red and gold stripped, the walls yellow and orange and the bedspreads looked like they came from the 70's. Kind of a sad room. The lighting is also incredibly bad, dark at all times of the day, even with the curtains open. However that being said it was clean and the hotel has easily access to Nauset, Coast Guard and Marconi beaches. Helen was incredibly friendly and they have a inclusive Continental breakfast, which included assorted breads, bagels, juice, coffee. If your not fussy and what a simple place to stay, this may be the place.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
1.1 mi away
Ocean Park Inn Cape Cod
18.9 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
0.9 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
4.3 mi away
Mainstay Motor Inn
Mainstay Motor Inn
#4 of 4 in Wellfleet
52 reviews
3.8 mi away
Cove Bluffs Inn
Cove Bluffs Inn
#4 of 9 in Eastham
92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captains Quarters Motel and Conference Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captains Quarters Motel and Conference Center

Address: 5000 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642-2764
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Eastham
Price Range: $85 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Captains Quarters Motel and Conference Center 2*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Captain's Quarters is located on the Outer Cape, in the heart of the National Seashore. Whale Watching, Island Ferries and Beaches are just a short drive away. There is also an abundance of small shops and restaurants nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Captains Quarters Motel and Conference Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captains Quarters Hotel Eastham
Captains Quarters Motel And Conference Center Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing