We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Finally visited this Institution on the Cape!”

Arnold's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Eastham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout
Description: "Best fried clams in the world"-Food & Wine Magazine. Arnold's seafood is so fresh, any fisherman would approve. Native lobster, local raw bar, cocktails, fried and baked seafood, lobster rolls, salads, an extensive children's menu, gourmet ice cream, and mini golf. Arnold's owner is Nathan "Nick" Nickerson, a true Cape Cod native and Mayflower descendant. Nick grew up surrounded by the sea and worked on farms and with family in Cape Cod restaurants. Almost 40 ago he founded what has become the world-famous Arnold's Lobster & Clam Bar. From the start, crowds were drawn to the fresh, native seafood, generous portions, friendly service and fun Cape Cod atmosphere found at Arnold's. Pets are allowed in our outdoor area in the back.
New York
Level 6 Contributor
114 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Finally visited this Institution on the Cape!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

So aware for so long, finally got there. Went near the end of their restaurant night, just before 9 pm. Had an order of onion rings, scallops and awesome mussels! Went around and sat near the raw bar and ordered the Oysters Rockefeller. Friendly staff, clean despite the lateness of the visit . Couldn't pass up the ice cream either! Have to come back to try a few more of the dishes and play miniature golf too!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cms43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,137 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    643
    312
    133
    34
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boxborough, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Very popular fresh seafood place”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Did not eat at the restaurant (most people don't), just did take out. If you want to get the food quickly, order over the phone and go to pick it up right a way. Otherwise it is very long wait. We even heard that it is part of the experience. The food is very fresh and inexpensive. One thing is strange: they don't take credit cards. Nowadays it is a nonsense.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Yury1080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Friends and I went to this place because one of them had gone with family as a child. It's clear to see why this place is still going strong. Great laid back atmosphere made for a perfect late lunch. Great lobster, it was so tasty. We also had the steamers and they were wonderful as well. The staff were friendly, restrooms were clean, cashiers were efficient without making you feel rushed (it's a wait in line to order/pick up type place).

It's nice to have an option to get great food without having a formal sit down dinner on the cape.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kristina F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milford, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best lobster rolls!!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013 via mobile

This is the perfect place to come while vacationing on the Cape. We had the lobster rolls which were filled with chunks of meat with melted butter on the side. One of the best I've ever had. Side of onion rings were very good. Clam chowder thick and tasty. Will definitely be back for the quality and quantity of food you get. Yum!!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Beccamarie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NYC
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Yes...Yes...But Cash only”
Reviewed July 21, 2013

This is definitely a lobster n' clam shack that you will love. Keep in mind, mostly fried stuff. It is a 'cash only ' joint so make sure you're prepared. Lines are very long in summer and getting the picnic seating inside can be a challange, there is also a tent adjacent for customer overflow with picnic tables. When temps outside are high, the inside is a hot box and miserable. It's not cheap but worth the wait. Kids love the atmosphere and think it's great. The wait time in line is very, very long, we learned to call ahead with our order. So when we're 10 minutes away, we call and place our order. Got it down to a science for pick up ready when we get there. You won't be disappointed.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BigDaDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arnold's Restaurant also viewed

 
South Yarmouth, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Arnold's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing