We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay here for biking on the Cape Rail Trail”
Review of Midway Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Midway Motel
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Eastham
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, Vermont
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Stay here for biking on the Cape Rail Trail”
Reviewed May 19, 2014

As grandparents, we want to encourage our 6 year old grand-daughter to enjoy bicycle riding, so we decided to take her and her mom on a quick trip to the Cape Cod Rail Trail during some nice spring weather. What better place to stay than in your own cottage (the Wagonshed) - only a very short forested trail to the bike rail trail! We had one morning when the weather did not cooperate (rainy, cold) but that was happily spent playing board games in our cottage living room, making hot tea in our own kitchen. Other than that, we could literally go out the door, be on the bike rail trail and ride (for miles). Also, a 5 min car drive away was the Salt Pond Visitor center from which we rode our bikes to the ocean and another 5-10 mins car ride away was Marconi Beach for an afternoon of chasing waves. The cottage is kept incredibly clean and compact - which was fine for the 4 of us (3 adults and 1 child). My daughter and grand-daughter slept comfortably on the pullout sofa bed and we had the bedroom. The owner (Sally) is VERY helpful and pleasant if you need anything at all. It was early spring so we didn't need the grill and picnic table out front but the clothesline out back came in handy after we got wet chasing those waves! As did the shuffleboard right near our cottage that came in handy keeping my grand-daughter busy. This is the kind of place my husband and I love - reminds us of the 1950's with all the friendliness and character of that time. Reasonably priced too, to have your 'own little place' - there is also a motel too with a 'common room'. All in all, a great place.

Room Tip: There are only 2 cottages - one for max of 4 people, good for 2 adults, 2 kids -who could both sleep...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank zimnana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    37
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
90
120
13
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2014

Each spring, my wife and I visit The Midway Motel. We have been coming here since we moved to New England in 2005. The owner, Sally, has always prepared our room very nicely for our 4-5 day annual stay. The room is perfectly neat, well maintained, and all the mechanicals work fine. The daily housekeeping service left no complaints. The location backs up to the Bike Trail for extended walking or biking. There is a common room with a well-stocked at all times with ice. And it's quiet.
When visiting the Cape for several days you need a nice place to stay. This location is perfect for visiting attractions between P-Town and Chatham and after Patriot's week, most shops and restaurants are open. And Sally will offer you super advice and help you out with local "specials".
We'll be back next spring.

Jim & Phinie Faux, Keene, NH

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newington, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2014

My wife and I came up recently for a 3 day weekend to celebrate our anniversary. We were not disappointed. Sally, the owner, made us feel comfortable right away upon check in and our room was clean upon entering and was cleaned thoroughly every day. The location is great. Beaches, stores, restaurants are within a few short miles and there is access to the bike trail directly behind the motel. We would recommend this place to anybody and will stay there again in the future.
Jim and Joanne McKinnon

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank james m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Branford, United States
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

After our first stay several years ago, we decided there was no need to experiment with any other place in this section of the Cape.
Rooms, especially bathrooms, are exceptionally clean, more so than those in many fancy / expensive hotels. All have openable windows, and at least some (not sure if all) have ceiling fans - very pleasant when the temperature is moderate. (Don't worry, there's AC & heat for hot or cold weather.) The furniture is in good shape, and the linens are of good quality.
If you travel as we do with a cooler & freezer blocks, you can keep the freezer blocks frozen in the refrigerator that's located in the common room.
The grounds are lovely and are kept meticulously neat - manicured would not be too strong a description (weeding, sweeping, raking - always in progress!). Outdoor amenities include a bicycle rack, some outdoor games, grills, tables & chairs and a clothesline (very nice for drying wet bathing suits & beach towels).
Here's one of our favorite things about Midway Motel's location: At the rear of the property, a path leads to the Cape Cod Rail Trail. First thing in the morning, we take the trail about a mile to Sam's Deli on Brackett Road (BTW, Sam's has delicious baked goods & prepared foods plus a small grocery section). We get a cup of good coffee and walk back to our room, where we have breakfast (we bring fruit, cereal, muffins & the like with us). Bring your bikes and, venturing a little farther, you'll have access to several excellent ice cream places.
As others have mentioned, owner Sally lives on site and welcomes each guest with enthusiasm and offers of suggestions as to area activities, restaurants etc. Each year she renovates some rooms to update them & keep them in good condition. It's obvious that she takes great pride in providing superior lodging and a very fair price.
We will be back next year!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Susan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2013

I was at Cape Cod in September for a seminar. Stayed at Midway for almost a week. I really appreciate the level of cleanliness and attention to details with which the room is kept. After a long day in training, it was wonderful to be able to unwind and relax in the room. The rustic setting of the motel adds to the charm. Sally, the owner, is welcoming and enthusiasm is in her voice and eyes. I felt very much at ease rightaway- after a long long flight from Singapore. She is at the same time professional and helpful. Thanks, Sally. I will stay again at your motel when I come back to the Cape.

Room Tip: Don't hesitate to ask Sally for help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JoeTay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinesburg, Vermont
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

My Wife and I recently took our young family to the Cape for a couple nights in September for some late Summer beachtime. We had read great reviews of the Midway Motel and it did not disappoint. Sally, the owner is super friendly and very helpful. The rooms are clean and comfortable and are equipped with microwaves and fridges so you can be self sufficient if you want to be. Very handy with a young family! There is also a great common area with a full size fridge and freezer as well as free coffee in the morning if the in room isn't enough. Considering how busy Rte 6 is the privacy where the rooms are located was very peaceful with easy access to the incredible bike path. We will definitely try to return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank grizzrocker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hook, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
174 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for luxury, perhaps don't stop here. BUT ... This was extremely comfortable and the manager, Sally, is extraordinarily welcoming and helpful.

Our room was a good size: comfortable double bed; plenty of pillows; lots of drawers and hanging space for clothes; table and chairs; and a bathroom with soft white towels and facecloths, which I always think is a special touch. I don't think we would have been more comfortable if we had stayed in a hotel costing three times as much.

Sally's suggestions on places to visit and where to eat were spot on, with great food and service. She was constantly pleasant and welcoming and knowledgeable and on her own changes this from a "great value for money" place to a "must stay". If we return the Cape Cod, this is where we will stay.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank msjhaffey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
11.1 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
1.5 mi away
Ocean Park Inn Cape Cod
4.3 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
249 reviews
0.2 mi away
Viking Shores Motor Inn
1.8 mi away
Even’tide Resort Motel and Cottages
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midway Motel

Property: Midway Motel
Address: 5460 Route 6, P.O. Box 1859, Eastham, MA 02651
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Eastham
#2 Romantic Hotel in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Midway Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in North Eastham, on Cape Cod, Midway Motel & Cottages offers vacationers some of the most pleasant accommodations in the area. The Midway is smaller and more personal in scale with direct access to the Cape Code Bike Trail. Enjoy our common room and relax with board games, books or TV while drinking coffee or tea. Each room is accompanied by cable, HBO and in-room coffee and tea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Midway Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Midway Hotel Eastham
Midway Motel Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing