We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful location!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Eastham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed May 26, 2009

We spent 2 nights at the Fort Hill Bed and breakfast this past weekend. The weather did not cooperate unfortunately, but everything else was simply wonderful. Gordon and Jean are wonderful hosts and we enjoyed our morning conversations with them over simply scrumptious breakfasts! The B&B is charming and we enjoyed the luxury of the Emma suite which is tastefully decorated and very very comfortable. The cottage looks lovely as well. This charming inn is in a wonderful location near to some spectacular beaches, only 30 minutes from Provincetown and a lot of great restaurants. Gordon and Jean made sure we had everything we needed while respecting our privacy and gave us some great recommendations for fine dining. All in all it was a wonderful three days and we would definitely come back to Fort Hill B&B. Thank you, thank you, thank you.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank atkinson_NHSandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (206)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

187 - 193 of 206 reviews

Reviewed March 30, 2009

After spending 1 or 2 off season weekends every year on the Cape over the last 32 years, we finally hit the Lottery and found our perfect weekend getaway spot on the Cape. We stumbled upon The Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast one day on a walk in the National Seashore trail system at Fort Hill a few years ago and now we will never stay anywhere else on the Cape. The peace and quiet, the ambiance extraordinaire, the five star breakfasts, the perfect host and hostess, the great conversations, spectacular views, tranquil surroundings, walking trails, moon on the marsh, and on and on. Fort Hill B & B is a place you leave and feel totally relaxed and refreshed. This B & B should be on your top 5 list of places to stay in all of New England and Number 1 place on Cape Cod. Don’t waste 32 years looking around!

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TPMMystic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2008

We have just returned from a wonderful visit to the Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast. We are return visitors, but have never come in December. We stayed in the Nantucket Cottage which was absolutely perfect. The ocean view is gorgeous both day and night. At night, you can sometimes look out and see the lights of a fisherman hard at work. We also enjoyed watching the abundant wildlife and varied bird species that visited the grounds, including a Cardinal that frequented a tree outside of our window. We took in some brisk sea air during an invigorating walk by the seashore and through the maple swamp. Afterwards, we settled in on the comfy couches by the gas fireplace with some hot chocolate. We also finished up our Christmas shopping in nearby Orleans. Altogether, a relaxing and romantic getaway!

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carm65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2008

We have always wanted to cross the pond and visit America.
This year we finally made it to Cape Cod.
The warmth of our welcome lasted the whole week through.
The walks were wonderful, the places we visited were fascinating and everywhere we went we felt the enthusiasm and warmth of the people.
Our hosts, Gordon and Jean Avery really were exceptional.
They are generous and concerned that you should enjoy every minute of your visit.
They start your day with a breakfast that must be experienced to be believed and the variety seems endless.
The accommodation is first class and the house is in an ideal location.
We sat on the wall opposite, just gazing at the sea and basking in the sun.
Even now, we dream about those marvellous breakfasts.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Jubbjubb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

My cousin and I stayed at the Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast for three nights. What a wonderful, comfortable, delightful place!
The host and hostess were warm and friendly, the breakfasts were amazing, and the accommodations were excellent! I would recommend this Bed and Breakfast in a heartbeat! The owners share their very lovely home while carefully respecting the privacy of their guests. This was a great choice; we certainly hope to return.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Havefunwilltravel2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 6, 2008

My husband and I stayed for two nights at The Fort Hill B&B in mid-August. This is a very pretty place, clean as whistle, located on a quiet side street just a couple miles from Coast Guard Beach, one of the best beaches I have ever seen.

The innkeepers, as others have mentioned, are friendly and helpful, yet not obtrusive. You need beach umbrellas, towels, chairs or a rec for dinner? They've got 'em.

Our included breakfast each morning was very good, especially a warm, homemade blueberry cake and blueberry crepes.

Before booking at Fort Hill (or any other B&B) it's good to know the rules, as expectations are everything. Fort Hill has a few rules which some may not like. In that case, a more traditional type lodging might be better.

There are just three suites, and they are set up for couples (or a single). The inn is quiet and does not allow outside non-registered guests on the property. Breakfast is served at 8:30 a.m. and being prompt is appreciated.

I mention the above, because comfort is everything while on vacation, and some people may not like these rules.

It should also be noted that from our suite, Lucille, the smallest of the three (and least expensive), and Emma, the next size up, there is no view of the water. There is a water view from one part of the B&B from the private residence section. I do not know about the other suite located in a detached cottage. From the online photos it may appear the inn is on the water, but it isn't.

To me, this was not an issue whatsoever. The National Seashore is a protected area and from what I can see there are no places directly on the ocean in Eastham. However, you are a very short drive away from Coast Guard Beach which has soft white sand, crashing waves, and an occasional seal to boot. This beach was paradise. Highly recommend it.

I am giving this B&B a top star rating because it had everything we needed, the quality is very high, and the location is great for Cape Cod beaching.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Voyagereuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2008

We just returned from a week-long stay at the Fort Hill Bed & Breakfast. It was our first time in Cape Cod, and we can't imagine a nicer place to stay in the Lower Cape. We were very fortunate to have booked the private Nantucket cottage- it provided the privacy and comfort we always look for when we travel. The cottage was so warm and welcoming, and Jean and Gordon were such wonderful hosts...my husband is still bragging about the delicious breakfasts they prepared every morning (we can still taste the buttermilk blueberry pancakes, cranberry crepes and soufflé). Every morning we'd enjoy our coffee while taking in the view of Nauset Marsh. We would spend our days walking along the beach (we loved Head of the Meadow Beach with the seals), dining at some fabulous restaurants, and touring the quaint towns of Chatham, Welfleet and P-Town. We'll definitely look forward to our next stay at the Fort Hill Bed & Breakfast!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank heatherandmarklucas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
5.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
7.6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
739 reviews
1.5 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
291 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
1.8 mi away
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
#3 of 11 in Eastham
128 reviews
2.3 mi away
Ship's Knees Inn
Ship's Knees Inn
#3 of 5 in East Orleans
269 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast

Address: 75 Fort Hill Rd, Eastham, MA 02642-2510
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range: $165 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax inside the Fort Hill Area of the Cape Cod National Seashore Park with panoramic ocean views and walking trails. The award-winning, adult-only B+B offers an ocean-view cottage and two gracious suites with private baths and full breakfast. Your hosts will give you a warm welcome and help you plan each day. Your accommodations will be private, quiet and luxurious. Eastham, home to the National Seashore Visitor's Center and ocean and Bay beaches, is the perfect location to explore the Cape from Provincetown to Chatham to the Islands. Join us to see why Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast has "the best location of any B+B on Cape Cod". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fort Hill Bed And Breakfast Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing