We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A great B&B in Eastham” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 11 Eastham B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bellaire, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great B&B in Eastham”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Fort Hill is a true gem. Jean and Gordon are wonderful hosts, and they have created a beautiful B&B. The breakfasts were great, especially the pancakes!
The house is in a great setting, convenient to the entire Cape but just enough off the beaten path to feel secluded.
We strongly recommend Fort Hill, and hope we are able to return in the near future.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweil83401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    5
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
163
8
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Let me start by saying I am a hotel/inn/B&B snob. Expectations and standards are set high and luckily this time they were met. From the first response to the email that I sent checking on a date to the email that I received after our visit; the customer service was remarkable. Gordon and Jean were the perfect host/hostess- always there giving a lot of suggestions about the area and taking care of the needs of their guests. The attention to detail was throughout every aspect of the inn, extremely clean, beautifully decorated, serving the most amazing breakfasts and located on one of the most amazing spots on the Cape. We highly recommend Fort Hill and we look forward to our next visit. L & B (Fair Hill Maryland)

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynn P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

We had a great honeymoon at the Fort Hill B&B. We stayed in the Nantucket Cottage which was everything we'd hoped for -- quiet, private, charming and relaxing. Even though the weather was rainy for most of our stay, we had a great time. The area where the B&B is located is absolutely beautiful, just down the road from some great walking trails. Jean and Gordon were friendly, knowledgeable hosts who had lots of good advice on how to make the most of our short time on the Cape. They even gave us a bottle of champagne in honor of our wedding! The breakfasts were delicious, and we devoured the homemade cookies and brownies Jean left for us in the cottage. We would definitely recommend Fort Hill B&B for couples looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday on the Cape. We hope to be back again sometime soon!

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank BostonGirl011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

I am not a good enough writer to do justice in describing how nice our stay at Fort Hill was. With that qualification, let me try to convey a flavor of the experience. The house, yard, and surrounding grounds in the National Seashore are pristine. There are very few, if any, places left where one can stay to experience "the old Cape," what it used to be like. This is one of them. The owners, Jean and Gordon, have the unique ability to make absolutely anyone, regardless of age or interests, feel comfortable and completely at home. They are around and available with suggestions or to help in any way, as much or as little as you like, and do everything down to the smallest detail with such grace and ease that you never have any sense of how much effort they put into making sure your stay is perfect. If you choose to opt out of breakfast, they only ask that you let them know the night before. My advice - don't. Their breakfasts are a great was to start the day, and describing them memorable is an understatement to say the least. Perhaps a question by one of the other guests sums it up best; As we were finishing breakfast, Gordon asked if anyone had any questions. This guest relpied: "yes, just one question - what is your yearly rate!"

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kyle v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westport, CT
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

Recently, we celebrated our wedding anniversary with a stay in the Nantucket Cottage at Fort Hill B&B. It was a delight from the moment we walked in, with a plateful of homemade brownies awaiting us in the kitchen. Flooded with light from the many windows, it is the coziest and most charming oasis you could want. And -- dear to our hearts -- tons of books to browse through! The beauty of Fort Hill's salt marshes and woodlands were steps outside our door, so we could take an early morning nature stroll before tucking into a gourmet breakfast, elegantly served in the main house. Jean and Gordon are full of friendly information about what to see, eat and do in the area, always there for you yet discreetly apart to give their guests quiet and privacy. It was very hard to leave.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank conguirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Englewood, New Jersey
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

Jean and Gordon were the perfect host couple for our Cape Cod experience. Gordon recommended delicious restaurants and pointed us in the right direction each day whether kayaking, biking, or visiting a secluded beach. He tailored his advice to our requests. Jean cooked
the most delicious breakfast you could imagine with the dietary requests of each guest! They left no stone unturned when they designed the Nantucket cottage which felt like our very own getaway nest. We were able to enjoy and become acquainted with the entire national seashore with their tips.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebraSolomon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2012

Staying in Nantucket Cottage is the most comfortably elegant way to visit the Outer Cape we have ever experienced. The property is quiet and meticulously maintained with spectacular views and quick access to the nearby towns and the National Seashore. Gordon and Jean are gracious, charming hosts, committed to their guests' relaxation and full of information about sightseeing and dining. Breakfasts are delicious and, because the B&B is small, a low-key opportunity to enjoy fellow travelers who have discovered this gem. Like us, once you've visited you'll return.

Michael & Alison

Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michael L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eastham
9.8 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
5.5 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.8 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn
Eagle Wing Inn
#1 of 9 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cove Bluffs Inn
Cove Bluffs Inn
#3 of 9 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
1.8 mi away
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
Whalewalk Inn & Spa
#3 of 11 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast

Property: Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast
Address: 75 Fort Hill Rd, Eastham, MA 02642-2510
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Relax inside the Fort Hill Area of the Cape Cod National Seashore Park with panoramic ocean views and walking trails. The award-winning, adult-only B+B offers an ocean-view cottage and two gracious suites with private baths and full breakfast. Your hosts will give you a warm welcome and help you plan each day. Your accommodations will be private, quiet and luxurious. Eastham, home to the National Seashore Visitor's Center and ocean and Bay beaches, is the perfect location to explore the Cape from Provincetown to Chatham to the Islands. Join us to see why Fort Hill Bed and Breakfast has "the best location of any B+B on Cape Cod". ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Fort Hill Bed And Breakfast Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing