We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Stewart's Restaurant & Tavern Seafood

Stewart's Restaurant & Tavern Seafood
Ranked #11 of 28 Restaurants in Eastham
Cuisines: American, Seafood, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
113 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2012

After arriving late in the evening at Stewart's after having left a different restaurant when it became clear the waitstaff there had no interest in providing service, it was a relief to walk into Stewart's and immediately be greeted by the hostess, then immediately provided a table. Admittedly, it was well after the dinner rush, but some of the local restaurants don't seem to have any correlation between emptiness of their dining room and rapidity of seating of diners.

The service at Stewart's was excellent. In fact, it was so good that our waiter was thrown off slightly when he introduced himself, asked us if we wanted drinks, and then realized that the hostess had already attended to the matter! Our waiter was friendly, and was happy to answer questions about menu items, and managed to be attentive to our table without being hover-y.

Food came fairly quickly. I had the clam roll, which was alright, and the clam chowder, which was quite good, while my boyfriend ordered the half rack of ribs, which he enjoyed.

Honestly, my only disappointment was when someone switched the TV from an NFL pre-season game to some shrieking news channel instead. I would dine here again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Damariscotta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    65
    42
    23
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stamford CT
Level Contributor
105 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Decent Fried Beach Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2012

All in all, not so bad for Cape Cod restaurants, not usually very good at the peak of summer. The seven of us had a fried fish sandwich, a fried soft-shell crab sandwich, a fried whole clam roll, fried chicken fingers, a chicken Caesar sandwich (coward!), and some Cape Cod beer.
It was quite pleasant eating out there as the endless traffic crept by (don't they ever turn the Cape off?)
Still, a lot, lot better than horrible and out-of-control Provincetown....

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bern K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average food, okay atmosphere, terrible people”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2012

I went here for dinner in August 2012 with some family and friends. We had never eaten here before, but a local recommended it as something between Arnold's and Moby Dick's. After a short wait, we were seated at a windows table/booth with the sun glaring in our eyes. The waitress came over, and seemed quite impatient and rather incompetent. She became upset waiting for us to decide our orders and simply left. After returning, she took our orders, and the food came after about 20 minutes. The food was okay, but varied tremendously depending on the dish. Someone's shrimp scampi was flavorless while my overpriced soft shell crab sandwich was not bad. The "french fries," really chips, were either overcooked or undercooked. Up to this point, the restaurant had a rating of 3 stars. The owner's wife came to our table to make sure everything was okay. However, as we were leaving, the owner, who works in the kitchen, began to insult an employee openly into the kitchen microphone. He called the waitress worthless and told her she has a job to do. I will never return because of the owner's rude and completely inappropriate behavior. What a shame!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank mrtraveler1305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
2 reviews
“Great Cod Picatta”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2012

We recently went to the old Lobster Pool, now Stewart's. We wanted to try the new menu and check out the place. I ordered the Cod Picatta and I thought it was delicious. My husband really liked the whole belly clams and the bread. Next time we'll try some of the Greek specialties because the owner's wife is Greek--had a nice conversation with her.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Dale M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plymouth Meeting, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
53 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nice evening and a good meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2012

They have all the staples of a cape cod restaurant, a variety of broiled and fried seafood, with some interesting additions as well.. My wife really enjoyed the udon appetizer. Food-wise, I ordered the fisherman's platter and it was definitely tasty, but not exceptionally so. It could have been seafood overload on my part, but I didn't think anything was superior to any of the other restaurants we stopped at.

It does have a great outdoor seating area with interesting lighting that delighted the kids. Our server (Julie I believe) was great. We had a large party and a number of special requests that she handled flawlessly and cheerfully.

They also had a decent selection of local beers on tap and in bottles which I really appreciated and even had a few proseccos one the menu which was quite a surprise.

While I'd certainly be happy to go back and drink under the lights on the patio i don't know that I'd bother with dinner again, though after reading the other reviews I wish I had tried the chowder!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank DanHanLan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stewart's Restaurant & Tavern Seafood also viewed

 

Been to Stewart's Restaurant & Tavern Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing