We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Canadians on the Go. Yet...”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Eastham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Atlantic Oaks Campground
Certificate of Excellence
Quebec City, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Canadians on the Go. Yet...”
Reviewed August 29, 2013

So much for the welcome arms of friendly manager greeting us after drving for hours from Canada to camp at Atlantic Oaks. The manager was terse, snappy, and would not elaborate on questions about the area. She was not very nice toward us. We have since learned from fello Canadians, they have been treated in a similar way. Then it comes to the bath house, in the evening, very dirty. Hair in drains. Someone even used the shower as a toilet! They charge a high price. Kids extra. Air quality poor to people abusing the fire rings. Watched campers in the row buring cardboard beer 20 pack cartons. Once we went to the Seashore Park beaches, we started to relax, yet the campground has issues that need to be resolved.

Room Tip: I guess ask to ask fellow Canadians or friends from The States to tell you about the area and not re...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Paulette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    26
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
46
36
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whitman, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2013

I hosted a camping meetup group at this campground. We were all tenters and stayed in the "safari" area. I booked very far in advance and posted my site location on the meetup site so others could book near me. My site was paid in full when I booked. When I arrived they had moved my site and not told me. They were completely booked and pretty much told me that was just "tough". The older couple that runs the front desk are very rude and unaccommodating. They could care less that this had messed up our camping meetup. Other parties in my group did not find me until a day later as they were looking for me at the site number I posted 6 weeks before the trip. The campground is nice, clean and well maintained. The sites are very small and very close together but not bad either. Just beware of the rude couple if you have any issues. Don't plan on them being very helpful or even nice about it!

Room Tip: If you are tenting stay in the tent area near the office as there are no restrooms near the back one...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eventgallb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shady3002, Manager at Atlantic Oaks Campground, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Our official policy, as stated on our website, is that we do try to honor specific site number requests, however we can not guarantee them. This is pretty much an industry standard. It is only on the rare occasion, when circumstance dictates, that we are unable to honor a request.

This policy did not come into play in this case due to the fact that we never did "move" the guest off of her "original" site as stated. Unfortunately, there apparently was either a miscommunication or misunderstanding on the part of the guest as to which site number was initially reserved.

As to the complaint about the rudeness of our employees, we will respectfully have to agree to disagree on who was being rude.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago Area
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

This campground is in a great location for visiting Cape Cod. Very close to Coast Guard Beach. Visited with a Class A 31'. Nice pull through site with lighted utility pedestals. Has a dog walk area but is next to a large pile of mulch. (Dogs cost $8.00 for every 2 nights to stay there. Never paid for as dog to camp before). The free WiFi worked pretty good.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sierra87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New England
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2013

If have breathing problems, stay clear of this campground. People light fires in the morning, the afternoon and night. When time to extinguish the fires, the doused water on multiple campsite fires creates an unbearable haze of smoke linger into dawn. It seeped into our tent. No sleep for my family. Oh. The tent sites are next to a State Highway. Last. The manager who check us in was rude, curt, and huffy. She needs anger management classes or a better pair of shoes. Can you say, "attitude and jaded?" There are more friendly campgrounds in Truro without endlessly burning fire pits. This place WAS the pits.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Woopiedo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlantic O, Owner at Atlantic Oaks Campground, responded to this review, June 10, 2013
All of our ads say we permit campfires. Anyone who doesn't like campfires or may be sensitive to smoke should find another campground that does not allow them.
Atlantic Oaks has found that most campers prefer campfires so we will continue to allow them until 11 PM.
Campsites next to the Highway are the last ones to be rented and guests may reserve any site that is open.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
boston
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We had a great time here at Atlantic oaks. We have also stayed at there other campground in Brewster and both are fantastic. We really liked the fact that the bike trail ran right behind the campground and we could get right on without driving anywhere. Bathrooms were very clean and the staff was always friendly and helpful. Our site was clean and level, can't wait for next year!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sally c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2012

First I want to say that we enjoyed our vacation. Cape cod is a great place to visit and the weather was perfect for camping. We had a 30amp full hookup pull through site, with lots of room to spread out in out 30 ft travel trailer. The campground had free wireless internet which was ok most of the time but did get very slow particularly in the early evening. Atlantic Oaks is about equal distance from the Atlantic and Cape Cod Bay beaches although we prefered the Atlantic side, and its very close to many resturants and a couple of Miniture Golf attractions which is good for young kids like my 12 year old. Many of these are just a short bike ride from the campground on the Cape Cod Rail Trail bike path. The only negative was that we thought the Campground itself needed a little work. Although our site was pretty level I watched quite a few people have some problems with very un-level sites and they had to use a combination of car jacks and wood they could scrounge up to get there camper level. Also the campsites and connecting roads around the campground were not well maintained. All were just sand/dirt with lots of weeds and although we had great weather (i.e. no rain) I would imagine that the place gets pretty muddy after a T-Storm. The bathrooms and showers however are well maintained and very clean. They have a small game room, but when my wife and son went there to play most machines were out or order, so for my 12 year old the game room was a bust. One thing we would have liked to have seen was a pool, the beaches are close but having a pool on the campground would be nice. The Campground staff were cordial but a little distant and the camp store was adequately stocked with all the food product essentials and camping supplies.

They have a 10PM quiet time rule and I must say that after 10PM it was very quiet and great for sleeping.

The Atlantic Oaks management may be trying to keep the campsite "oh natural" but we felt that better roads and level campsites would have enhanced the quality of the overall campground facilities. This is a 7 out of 10 campground that could easily be a 10 out of 10 with a little work.

Overall I recommend the campground, but if you are used to a more manicured facility Atlantic Oaks may dissapoint. We have stayed at much nicer campgrounds for the $59 per night rate. I guess you are paying for the location which is a very nice place to visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank PaulWS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellesley, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2012

For tenters- Clean restrooms and showers, camp store with most things one needs. Picnic table, fire ring with hinged grill top and plenty of dead wood nearby. Right on the cape cod rail trail, next door to a mini golf and ice cream store. Within a few miles of nauset light and coast guard beach. We were able to bring the dog too. Recommend.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KarenHtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Eastham hotels
0.2 mi away
Ocean Park Inn Cape Cod
2.1 mi away
Blue Dolphin Inn
Blue Dolphin Inn
#5 of 9 in Eastham
260 reviews
0.1 mi away
Four Points by Sheraton Eastham Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
286 reviews
2.6 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
0.1 mi away
Town Crier Motel
Town Crier Motel
#7 of 9 in Eastham
219 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Atlantic Oaks Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Atlantic Oaks Campground

Property: Atlantic Oaks Campground
Address: 3700 State Hwy, Eastham, MA 02642
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Eastham
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Eastham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 100
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If you're looking for fabulous family camping with the best location on Cape Cod, then come stay with us at Atlantic Oaks Campground! We are nestled in the heart of Eastham, MA, surrounded by beautiful beaches from Cape Cod Bay to the Cape Cod National Seashore. Enjoy 22 miles of beautifully paved bike path known as the Cape Cod Rail Trail right from our backyard, and an array of kayaking opportunities is also right down the street. We have so many choices for great restaurants that you will never have to worry about eating at the same place twice, or if you are into cooking over an open fire we allow those too. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Atlantic Oaks Campground Hotel Eastham
Atlantic Oaks Campground Eastham, MA - Cape Cod

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing