We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful beach” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coast Guard Beach

Coast Guard Beach
Ranked #1 of 27 things to do in Eastham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A great beach to hike, relax and soak up the natural beauty of the Cape Cod National Seashore.
Norwalk, CT
Level Contributor
136 reviews
58 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Beautiful beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2012

One of the most beautiful beaches around. It is part of the national seashore, and is a great place to take a walk on the beach.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank viajera923
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

429 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    322
    82
    13
    7
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, CT
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hostile park ranger”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Yes, the beach is beautiful, even on a cold, damp, windy day. We arrived with a large group of scouts and parents on bicycles. The grouchiest park ranger ever refused to allow our support vehicle into the lot because it is reserved for local residents and taxpayers. That's totally understandable during busy summer months, but the parking lot was EMPTY. So our driver had to go park in the lot a mile away, ride the shuttle ALONE to the EMPTY lot, then wait a HALF HOUR for the shuttle to return her to the satellite lot (also empty). Mindless, heartless authority over an empty parking lot. It's not exactly a homeland security issue.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brattleboro, Vermont
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best Kept Secret”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

I've been here more than I can count on one hand and every time, I have the place to myself. Grant it, I generally visit the Cape off-season, but even in early fall and late spring, I can enjoy the wild surf and antique buildings of this beautiful place.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
Thank Kiwee7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Stunning Beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2012

This is by far the most beautiful beach in New England. A 2 mile shaded bike trail from the Salt Pond Visitors Center includes a scenic bridge over the water or you can hop on the open air shuttle for another perspective. Low tide is the best time for families with young children since the waves at high tight can be daunting. Pack a lunch and spend the day or get a bonfire permit and spend an evening. Either way the views, the crowd and the sand are top notch.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank 8113bm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“the best beach ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2012

totally awesome ,,,,clean and so New Englandy,,,no rowdy crowds, no rif-raf, if you like a classy beach where you can sit quietly relax, people watch and read as well as body surf this is the beach for you...loud and belligerent people not welcome

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank KyLaConnecticut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coast Guard Beach also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Coast Guard Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing