We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful and natural beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Nauset Light

Nauset Light
Ranked #5 of 29 things to do in Eastham
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Free tours of the light are offered from May to October. Visit the Nauset Light Preservation Society page on Facebook for the dates and times for this season.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Beautiful and natural beach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2012

This is what a beach should look like, seals swiiming around and good size waves. Very serene and relaxing, no jetskis or power boats racing around disturbing the tranquilty

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank westy57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    170
    92
    21
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cape Cod Light house”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2012

Got a brief tour, the original lighthouse on the potato chip bag, informative. Good experience. Nice beach adjacent with nice facilities.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Austin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Haven, ct
Level Contributor
152 reviews
81 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
“something to do while you're passing by”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2012

It was a nice place to stop and explore for a short time....it's the lighthouse pictured on the cape cod chip bag...so of course it's worth a few snap shots. On Sundays off peak they do free indoor tours of the lighthouse...nice views from the top!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank lisa0208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
76 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nauset Light”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

It is a beautiful light house, the inside is amazing. It is worth the time to drive and check it out. They have a little shed that has a movie in it and tells about the movement of the lighthouse and the stages. Nice place to visit with the kids or anyone for that matter.

You can also go up to the top of the light house, it is free, but they do ask for a $5 donation all workers are volunteers.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“My favorite east coast beach!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nauset Light is hands down my favorite beach on the east coast. The parking lot is small and fills up by 10am, but I park down the road at the high school and ride my bike up. I only visited the Cape for 2 days the last time so I didn't want to spend money on the parking pass, although if you are a in a group or with family it would definitely be worth it since you can bring more stuff. It's definitely worth it to get there early to get a spot here, just pack up refreshments for the entire day b/c if you leave at lunch time you won't have a spot to come back to. I like the fact that the parking is limited b/c I think this keeps the beach from becoming too crowded. This is compared to Marconi and Coast Guard beaches, which are just as beautiful as Nauset light but get very crowded, especially on the beach front right in front of the stairs and lifeguards. I won't complain about the cold temperature of the water b/c that's just how it is and I'm used to it. It's actually bearable if you get in and get used to it. the waves make it all the more fun. Also, the beach and footing in the water is all soft sand (not rocky like you find in RI).

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Steffrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nauset Light also viewed

 

Been to Nauset Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing