We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Run down and overpriced.”

Hong Kong Island Chinese
Ranked #17 of 27 Restaurants in East Wareham
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
East Wareham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Run down and overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013 via mobile

Bathroom was filthy. Urinal is actually duct taped together. Never seen that before.
Place is dark and run down, hadn't been there in ten years and it looked like nothing changed. Except it aged ten years.
Menu is over priced. But was hungry.
Waitress was very good and food was served quickly and hot.
Chicken fingers were under cooked. Chicken was cooked but interior of dough was kind of raw.
Rest of food tasted bland. Not much flavor. Now I remember why I hadn't been there in ten years.
Sorry guys. Won't be back for another ten.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jon r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Buzzards Bay, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good Chinese”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

A great Chinese place with good food, Ben the waiter and Henry the Bar Tender are great people, always clean but could use some upgrading with the seating, if you like Karaoke this is the place on Saturday night, always hoping.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank steve c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Coral
Level Contributor
39 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy Chinese food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

I always visit Hong Kong Island when in the area. Their sweet and sour chicken has a great sauce full of fruit. Their pork fried rice and egg rolls are very flavorful as well. The egg foo yong is also loaded up with fillings.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WendyD695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wareham, Massachusetts, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“this place is grose but the drinks are good and strong”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2013

the title says it all. when you walk in the place is always dark regardless of time of day. the food is greasy and not very enjoyable. shared the pupu platter it was the standard pile of fried stuff. this is a place for strong drinks and in this town that's noteworthy despite its other shortcomings.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank C P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pleasant Traditional Chinese Restaurant with Good and Plentiful Food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2011

We had pretty much given up on finding a good Chinese restaurant on the South Coast. After passng Hong Kong Island dozens of times, we decided to give it a try. It looks like it has been in its location forever and the area around it is very commercial and busy. There is plenty of parking and our expectations were raised as we saw many cars in the lot on a Thursday night. We were seated immediately and found the dining room clean and attractive. The service throughout our dinner was supurb from filling and re-filling our water glasses to serving the food. We ordered eggs rolls and Crab Rangoon as appetizers which were tasty and filling. Our entres were Moo Goo Gai Pan and a seafood dish whose name I cannot remember. Everything was delicious and there were plenty of fresh vegetables in them. After a satisfying meal, we saw on the placemat that seniors receive a 10% discount which made us even happier to pay the bill. The prices are a little high for Chinese food but worth it given the competition.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LCS2468
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hong Kong Island Chinese also viewed

 
East Wareham, Cape Cod
East Wareham, Cape Cod
 

Been to Hong Kong Island Chinese? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing