We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun little bar” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bee-Hive Tavern - CLOSED

Bee-Hive Tavern
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: American, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fun little bar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stopped in to watch the Kentucky Derby and had a few drinks at the bar, along with an order of the clam and corn fritters. The drinks and food were very good and the bartender was super. The bar stools are a little uncomfortable, and it's not a very big bar at all. The interior is a bit dated and dark, but the friendly service was much appreciated.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank CupCrumb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

178 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    49
    54
    40
    21
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Milford, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
128 reviews
91 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great tavern atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

While driving along Route 6-A on Cape Cod, to view the blooming daffodils (gorgeous!), we stopped for lunch at the Bee Hive Tavern. It was a good choice. Service was friendly, food was delicious and generous. My companion and I had wraps, mine a chicken dinner in a wrap, and hers a veggie wrap. The only down side was that it took a long time for our wraps to be served. Nothing needed to be cooked, and the tavern wasn't that busy. But we were in a relaxed mood and weren't bothered. We would return there on another Cape Cod drive.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manomet, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
72 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Sweet spot with cozy feeling”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

We stopped in to this tavern after a visit to little known Nobska Point Light, south of Woods Hole, MA. The vista at the lighthouse was gorgeous, and we wanted a sweet place to relax and enjoy more of the spring afternoon. We drove to the Bee Hive, and it was perfect! Wide variety of good food on the menu, good service, a quiet spot (we were in the dining room), and the rest of a lovely afternoon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Paradox1995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great food, good entertainment”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2013

The Bee Hive is a favorite amongst locals down the cape. I've been here several times and always found it inviting on a cold winter's evening. The drinks are cheap and they don't skimp on the booze in cocktails like most places. Everything on the menu is delicious. The baked stuffed jumbo shrimp are delicious. The asparagus is great and so are there baked potatoes. The best thing on the menu is their chocolate molten cake. It tastes like it is homemade (which I'm sure it probably is) and is served with delicious ice-cream. It's very rich, but worth it.

To top it all off, Tom Kelley (a local musician) performs on Friday and Saturday nights. He performs mostly '60's and '70's music (Gordon Lightfoot, The Beatles, Herman's Hermits, etc.) and he is wonderful. People come back just to hear him play and sing. As one poster said, he is better than the originals.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jmstanl85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
26 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice Easter dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2013

We had a very nice meal at the Bee-Hive Easter Sunday. My husband and mother had the prime rib on the Easter menu I had the baked cod off the regular menu. We all thoroughly enjoyed our meals and thought the quality and quantity was worth the price. Our service was very good and although they were very busy we were not rushed at all. We would definitley come here for Easter again.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cranberry28p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bee-Hive Tavern also viewed

East Sandwich, Sandwich
East Sandwich, Sandwich
 
East Sandwich, Sandwich
East Sandwich, Sandwich
 
East Sandwich, Sandwich
East Sandwich, Sandwich
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing