We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“loved this motel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Earl of Sandwich Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2008

I stayed in this hotel for 9 days while in Sandwich caring for my mother post surgery. I loved it! It was a perfect escape for me each evening - quiet, comfortable, relaxing.
Morning breakfasts were good - boiled eggs, pastries, fresh baked breads, juice, and coffee.
Stay here! I will again!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank wseashell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (293)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

264 - 270 of 293 reviews

Reviewed July 20, 2008

We stayed 3 nights in the Earl. We checked in with Nancy, and she was personable and friendly. Our room was clean, and country attire, as promised. We had a large, 4 post antique bed. The ground were amazingly groomed. We saw Brian gardening daily. We would definately stay there again!

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ama1450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2008

Our stay at the Earl of Sandwich this past week was everything we had hoped for and more. We were looking for reasonable lodging for a 4 night stay, away from the "busyness" of Cape Cod but within driving distance of everything the Cape has to offer. Conveniently located on quaint Route 6A, the motel setting was beautifully landscaped and offered plenty of comfortable places on the property for guests to sit and read or enjoy their complimentary breakfast of coffee, juice, breads and muffins. The owners and staff were attentive but allowed us our space as well. I would recommend this wonderful place to all Cape travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bookerbirdwatching
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2008

We stayed at this property for three nights. We have never spent time on the east coast before, didn't want to spend a lot of money on a room, and didn't plan to spend much time in the room. So, we weren't expecting a high dollar hotel room. This hotel fit the bill nicely.
The owners make quiet hours a priority. The check-in information even asks that you not back up to your door, to prevent exhaust from entering the room next to you. The decor was dated, but New England cottage-y, and clean. It was quiet, as expected.
Continental breakfast included coffee, tea, juice, hard boiled eggs, watermelon, mini bagels, and muffins.
Overall, we were very pleased.

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank kellyMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2007

We were fortunate to find this gem. I was a little skeptical of a motel but found it immaculate and very roomy for a motel. We got a room with a canopy bed with a view of the duck pond. The price was very good as the Cape is expensive although a little less so in the off season.
Directions were perfect and everyone on staff at this family-run business was friendly and helpful.
The continental breakfast is self-service from a small room with some breads and a bit of fruit and coffee, tea, hot chocolate or juice. You can take the tray to your room or enjoy sitting at the picnic tables that face the duck pond. Although it was a little cool it was sunny and pleasant to sit outside.
A few things to remember - bring your own hair dryer and shampoo if you need them. Also there is no alarm clock although you can request a wake-up call. I would bring an alarm clock.
It was nice and quiet and I don't think they put up with any nonsense.
Also, it was an easy drive to Hyannis and another day we drove to Wood's Hole and took the Ferry to Martha's Vineyard.
The Aqua Grille is a reasonably priced restaurant in town where we ate twice and once saw a pretty sunset.
One day we had breakfast at the Route 6 Cafe which was quite good- pumpkin cream cheese French toast.
The Church we attended, Corpus Christi, is Cape Cod's first parish.
We would not hesitate to stay here again and look forward to the next visit.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PeachTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2007

My fiance and I had the pleasure of staying at the Earl of Sandwich over the Memorial Day weekend this year while we visited the Cape for a wedding.

The family run inn gives you a feeling of 'home away from home' with quaintly decorated rooms and beautifully landscaped grounds. We were also very pleasantly surprised to find such a great place for such a value.

We will definitely be back-Thanks for a great week!

  • Stayed: May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank astsweetp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2006

We just returned from Cape Cod and a stay at the Earl of Sandwich Motel in East Sandwich, MA, and it is just as advertised, “One of those nice little places this side of heaven.” We found our room to be immaculate and the price very reasonable. The owners and staff are friendly, accommodating and helpful. Complimentary continental breakfast in the morning is a nice selection of fresh fruit, home baked goods, juice, tea and coffee which provides a good start to the day. The grounds are lovely with thousands of flowers and a peaceful duck pond. The guests have picnic tables, a hammock and chairs to enjoy in the yard and the pool offers a nice respite from the heat of the day. We heartily recommend the Earl of Sandwich Motel and look forward to our next stay there.

5  Thank Cap'nCoastie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Sandwich
1.9 mi away
Spring Garden Inn Motel
Spring Garden Inn Motel
#2 of 3 in East Sandwich
45 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,268 reviews
10.7 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#5 of 22 in Hyannis
1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Best Western Cape Cod Hotel
3.9 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Sandwich
254 reviews
1.8 mi away
Country Acres Motel
Country Acres Motel
#4 of 6 in Sandwich
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl of Sandwich Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl of Sandwich Motel

Address: 378 Route 6a, East Sandwich, Sandwich, MA 02537-1442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich > East Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Sandwich
Price Range: $92 - $140 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Earl of Sandwich Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Orbitz so you can book your Earl of Sandwich Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Of Sandwich Hotel East Sandwich
Earl Of Sandwich East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing