We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful place to stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Earl of Sandwich Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Earl of Sandwich Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful place to stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

This was the fifth or sixth time we have stayed at the Earl. As usual, the rooms were immaculate and well appointed. The housekeeping is more than excellent. The owners are cordial and frendly. The grounds are beautiful and the ducks very frindly!

Room Tip: There are no tips for choosing a good room. They're all excellent!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ross P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    142
    90
    11
    4
    3
See reviews for
77
117
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

While the comments about the age of the motel are true, our room was comfortable enough and the place is very well situated on 6A. We especially loved the geese, ducks and other native birds on the grounds. The owners were also very accommodating to our requests and I really liked the zucchini cake at breakfast.

Free wifi was available and there were a good selection of TV channels.

The bathroom should probably be redone but was serviceable. The drains however desperately needed clearing, the water was above my ankles while showering. The room could also have done with a good airing.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hatshepsut5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2012

My husband and I and another couple just spent three days on Cape Cod and stayed at this little motel in Sandwich. We had stayed here about 15 or so years ago and thought it was reasonably priced and very clean and quaint then. It still is. Accommodations can be very pricey on the Cape, and this place is a real bargain. The owners are hospitable and gave us good suggestions for restaurants. The rooms are good sized and clean but furniture needs a little painting and shower needs to be recaulked. All in all, though, it's very clean and neat. There is a small pond out behind the motel full of ducks and geese who will gather around the fence for a handout. So after dinner, bring back a left over roll to feed them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank IllinoisDogwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
104 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

What a charming find! This small hotel harkens back to the motor hotel days, but has been totally remodeled. The rooms are immaculately clean, the grounds are filled with lots of flowers and trees, there is a pond, and many ducks walking around this lovely place. There are St. Francis statues around the grounds which he would approve of with his love for all of God's creation. There is a continental breakfast with muffins, croissants, and don't know if they serve it all the time, but the pumpkin bread is amazing.

Room Tip: Stay here for several nights if you are touring Massachusetts as it is in the center between Boston...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huldah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario Canada
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We stayed at the "Earl" twice this year, most recently for a week on Sept. 10th. It was great, as always! The Innkeepers, Brian & Nancy, are the nicest people in the world, they run a clean, neat and comfortable motel in a nicely wooded area on Route 6A. They still serve a really nice continental breakfast and they have "The Cape Cod Times" every morning which I really appreciate.
I wrote a review of the "Earl" about 3 or 4 years ago, I loved it then and love it now, it hasn't slipped at all!!
We hope to stay there a couple of times again in 2013.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OceanLover64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hollowville, New York, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

The motel was clean and quiet. The staff was very friendly and prompt. They provided a decent continental breakfast. Nice groomed grounds with a charming duck pond. Train tracks nearby but it only runs during the day so no noise at night. Thank you Tony!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Scott M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

In recent past years we've stayed in hotels in Middleboro, MA for our annual trips to Cape Cod to take care of some family business. For our Aug 2012 trip it appears that those hotel rates are significantly higher during the summer vacation season for weekends and even more for weekdays. Found the Earl of Sandwich motel based on an Internet search. The Earl of Sandwich motel location is much more convenient for where we needed to be on Cape Cod, and it had lower, more acceptable/reasonable rates for us for non-weekends (Sun nights to Thu nights).

The motel has it own nicely laid out website, and link to an online reservation service, but be aware that the online service may not be providing full info on how many or types of rooms are actually available. Best to call motel directly (800 number) during the day to find out about how many/types of beds in room (affects rate) and whether a room can be used with pets. I think all rooms are non-smoking, but not sure. Motel has one week advance cancellation policy, not as good as for the hotel chains, but not unexpected or too bad for a small property in a vacation area

The room we got was clean and seem relatively well kept up, did not have any objectionable odors, had a queen size bed, LCD TV, and small refrigerator. The air conditioner unit appeared to work OK with a reasonable low noise level. I thought our room was a bit dark so it was necessary to keep a few lights on to see when entering. The bathroom sink area was outside the toilet/shower room, a convenience in the morning when there's two people using the room. One thing of note is that there is no door between between the toilet/shower area and the sink area, not a problem for us, but it's a bit different than we’ve seen in other hotels with similar setups.

There is free in-room WiFi, and computer (did not use) in lobby. However, our room WiFi signal was relatively weak, was able to pick and use with our laptop computer, but my iPhone could not detect the WiFi. There was no AT&T cellphone coverage in our room, weak coverage in parts of the parking area outside the room, slightly better coverage in front of the office entrance.

The included breakfast was small and passable, locate in a small room that also served as a local info literature area, with ice machine, microwave, etc., but no tables/chairs for eating in that small space. Food provides includes some fresh watermelon, pastries (zucchini bread, small muffins and corn bread, croissants), coffee, milk, orange juice, and hard-boiled eggs. There's a nice picnic area nearby with tables, benches, and chairs where one can have a pleasant breakfast in good weather, and enjoy the nicely laid out grounds and an enclosed area that has a pond and ducks and geese.

Not much in the way of food establishments near the hotel, but there's no shortage of eating establishments in this vacation area within a 5 or 10 mile radius of the motel.

Our stay at this location was pleasant; we would recommend it.

Room Tip: If have preference, ask whether rooms available are "pets allowed" or not.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank FmrEngr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Sandwich
10.7 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#2 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 stars 1,208 reviews
13.6 mi away
Cape Cod Irish Village
Cape Cod Irish Village
#2 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 stars 547 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Acres Motel
Country Acres Motel
#2 of 6 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 stars 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
#4 of 6 in Sandwich
3.0 of 5 stars 244 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn
Dan'l Webster Inn
#1 of 11 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 stars 549 reviews
12.5 mi away
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
Sea Crest Beach Hotel
#6 of 22 in Falmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl of Sandwich Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl of Sandwich Motel

Property: Earl of Sandwich Motel
Address: 378 Route 6a, East Sandwich, Sandwich, MA 02537-1442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich > East Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Earl of Sandwich Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Earl of Sandwich Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Of Sandwich Hotel East Sandwich
Earl Of Sandwich East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing