We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quite charming” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earl of Sandwich Motel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Earl of Sandwich Motel
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Farragut, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Quite charming”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

We found this motel to be clean and quiet. The grounds are nicely kept. We enjoyed sitting on our deck and feeding the ducks and chickens at the pond. A computer was provided on sight to research travel arrangements. The home made bread and fresh eggs at breakfast were enjoyed at the picnic tables that looked out at the pond. A camp fire was provided at night. The owners were friendly and helpful with our trip arrangements. A very charming motel.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank brenda m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    93
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
84
122
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle Upon Tyne
Level Contributor
212 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2012

We stayed at this motel for a couple of nights in July.

It is near East Sandwich and, while there is a restaurant within easy walking distance you'll need to use the car if you want more choice and to go further afield. The setting is rural with a delightful duck pond. Cars are easily parked directly outside each room.

The rooms are large with a sink area, bathroom, seating area and, in our case, a reasonable size double bed. Wifi is provided and there are plenty of points available to charge all the electronic gear that we tend to roam around with these days. Apparently, a swimming pool is availanble but we did not make use of it. The bed was comfortable. The bathroom perhaps a little dated but functional with a shower over a small bath. The replacement of the large elderly cathode ray TV with a similar size flat screen would save space.

Breakfast was provided but was a rather strange affair in some ways. No seating area is provided but picnic tables can be used in good weather. The selection of food on offer was fair though the omission of normal bread and any cutlery was rather strange. The absence of milk (only half and half provided) would seem unusual to non USA guests.

The owner and staff are friendly enough.

Overall, a pleasant rural motel. The breakfast offer could be improved.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank davidhchess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
67 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012 via mobile

The Earl of Sandwich harkens back to motels of my youth, before the big name chains existed. It is clean, quiet and the innkeepers have kept pace with technology by providing WIFI and cable. They even include a continental breakfast which is enjoyed in the most beautifully maintained grounds and accompanied by a wide variety of ducks and geese who are quite entertaining. A definite 5 star rating.

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Maudeydaudey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spent a week at the Earl of Sandwich, exploring the Cape. Perfect location, quiet with wonderful wildlife all around and charming considerate hosts.
Home made continental breakfasts,( you must try the zucchini bread) were wonderful, the pool was immaculately clean and quiet and the gardens delightful.
The only problem was not wanting to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The proprietors of this motel have turned a 60's roadside motel into a charming lodging through the use of landscaping and interior design. The tree-shaded grounds invite you to sit and relax in swings or small groups of Andirondack chairs. Flower beds abound and are well maintained. There is a duck pond where a variety of ducks frolic throughout the day and are a joy to watch. The grounds also include a swimming pool.

The rooms are impeccably clean. Once you enter the room, I got the feeling that I had walked into a room of an Edwardian inn. The wooden canopy bed, the scatter rugs on the tile floor and the high back studded reclining chairs gave a very homey atmosphere. The rooms are spacious. The bathroom was so clean we thought it had recently been remodeled. There was the usual amenities along with a flat-screen TV. Our room had a medium tone paneling. But I understand that there are rooms without the paneling. I liked the paneling. It added to the atmosphere. Also, some rooms have a deck. All rooms are on the ground level.

There was no in-room coffee maker. However, there was a coffee pot in the breakfast nook of the main building that was available at all times. The continental breakfast included boiled eggs, homemade breads and muffins, juice and coffee along with croissants and jellies. There was no seating in the breakfast area. However, there were benches and picnic tables just outside. For us, this turned out to be a real treat. The morning was bright with comfortable temperatures. We watched the ducks romp while eating.

The bottom line is that the rent for this motel was very reasonable when compared with others in the area. If we ever return to the Cape, we will definitely stay at this motel again.

Room Tip: For a cozy atmosphere choose the paneled rooms. For a deck, choose the unpaneled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jp679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Earl of Sandwich Motel, we stayed for one week. Very convenient to all of Cape Cod. We also took day trips to Plymouth and New Bedford. What we liked the best was coming to the motel at twilight, sitting in the Adirondacks chairs in front of the fire and watching the ducks and geese who visit the back yard pond. Our room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. Continental breakfast is available, also menus for local restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This motel was recommended to us at the Visitor Center and we were very pleased with our 2 night stay. The owners were very friendly, the rooms clean and the breakfast was very good. This was very similiar to staying at a bed and breakfast at a lower cost. The room was very nice and although very clean and overall satisfactory the bathroom needed a makeover. Our room did not have one of the newer flat screen televisions however the older television was satisfactory. We would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Sandwich
11.0 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 997 reviews
8.2 mi away
Quality Inn Cape Cod
Quality Inn Cape Cod
#15 of 22 in Hyannis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
10.7 mi away
SeaCoast Inn
SeaCoast Inn
#3 of 22 in Hyannis
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
#4 of 6 in Sandwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 6 in Sandwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Acres Motel
Country Acres Motel
#3 of 6 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl of Sandwich Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl of Sandwich Motel

Property: Earl of Sandwich Motel
Address: 378 Route 6a, East Sandwich, Sandwich, MA 02537-1442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich > East Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in East Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Earl of Sandwich Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Earl of Sandwich Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Of Sandwich Hotel East Sandwich
Earl Of Sandwich East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing