We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“peaceful perfection” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Earl of Sandwich Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Earl of Sandwich Motel
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Sandwich
Certificate of Excellence
Derby, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“peaceful perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2012

We spent a week at the Earl of Sandwich, exploring the Cape. Perfect location, quiet with wonderful wildlife all around and charming considerate hosts.
Home made continental breakfasts,( you must try the zucchini bread) were wonderful, the pool was immaculately clean and quiet and the gardens delightful.
The only problem was not wanting to leave.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peggy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    93
    14
    4
    3
See reviews for
84
122
16
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2012

The proprietors of this motel have turned a 60's roadside motel into a charming lodging through the use of landscaping and interior design. The tree-shaded grounds invite you to sit and relax in swings or small groups of Andirondack chairs. Flower beds abound and are well maintained. There is a duck pond where a variety of ducks frolic throughout the day and are a joy to watch. The grounds also include a swimming pool.

The rooms are impeccably clean. Once you enter the room, I got the feeling that I had walked into a room of an Edwardian inn. The wooden canopy bed, the scatter rugs on the tile floor and the high back studded reclining chairs gave a very homey atmosphere. The rooms are spacious. The bathroom was so clean we thought it had recently been remodeled. There was the usual amenities along with a flat-screen TV. Our room had a medium tone paneling. But I understand that there are rooms without the paneling. I liked the paneling. It added to the atmosphere. Also, some rooms have a deck. All rooms are on the ground level.

There was no in-room coffee maker. However, there was a coffee pot in the breakfast nook of the main building that was available at all times. The continental breakfast included boiled eggs, homemade breads and muffins, juice and coffee along with croissants and jellies. There was no seating in the breakfast area. However, there were benches and picnic tables just outside. For us, this turned out to be a real treat. The morning was bright with comfortable temperatures. We watched the ducks romp while eating.

The bottom line is that the rent for this motel was very reasonable when compared with others in the area. If we ever return to the Cape, we will definitely stay at this motel again.

Room Tip: For a cozy atmosphere choose the paneled rooms. For a deck, choose the unpaneled rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jp679
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basking Ridge, New Jersey
Level Contributor
71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Earl of Sandwich Motel, we stayed for one week. Very convenient to all of Cape Cod. We also took day trips to Plymouth and New Bedford. What we liked the best was coming to the motel at twilight, sitting in the Adirondacks chairs in front of the fire and watching the ducks and geese who visit the back yard pond. Our room was very comfortable and nicely decorated. Continental breakfast is available, also menus for local restaurants.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clearwater, Florida
Level Contributor
36 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

This motel was recommended to us at the Visitor Center and we were very pleased with our 2 night stay. The owners were very friendly, the rooms clean and the breakfast was very good. This was very similiar to staying at a bed and breakfast at a lower cost. The room was very nice and although very clean and overall satisfactory the bathroom needed a makeover. Our room did not have one of the newer flat screen televisions however the older television was satisfactory. We would definetly stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MKC18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 23, 2012

This was our 1st stay at this motel & our first vacation with our new puppy.
First of all, I have to say we're checking our puppy into a nice kennel for our next vacation.
Next, positives about the motel: excellent continental breakfast, sweet & accommodating housekeeping staff, very nice pool, it's quiet, ducks & geese wander the grounds, small fire pit lit every night for guests enjoyment, non-pet rooms are nice, location can't be beat -- we LOVE Sandwich.
Negatives: I assumed "pet friendly" meant more than it did. Pets are not allowed in any common areas of the motel/grounds, nor are they to be left in the room at all. Not even in a crate while you go to dinner. (We did get special permission to crate our pooch for 90 minutes one evening while we went out for pizza, due to the fact that no one else was in the pet building that night.) Add to this the fact that the pet rooms are more expensive and far less nice -- dark paneling & dated -- than other rooms & it's just kind of disappointing.
We would stay here again, though, when traveling without a pet -- in a regular room.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building of the motel are nice. The only reason to stay in a pet room is out of n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sarchma307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta GA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2012

We stayed at the Earl of Sandwich Inn for 3 nights while traveling in the new England region I have nothing but good things to say about the Inn and the Inkeepers! The rooms were very clean and accomodating. The Innkeepers provide a small continental breakfast of home baked goodies that were delicious! Our rooms had a small fridge which we stocked with a fe odds and ends to compliment the breakfast foods provided. The inns goeunds were well kept and manacured and we loved sitting by the duck pond and reading. The Inn is close enough to get to the local sights yet offer a nice quiet retreat. The Inn keepers are very very nice and really do want to make your lodging experience the best it can be. We look forward to going back to the Earl sometime.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DebM63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina
Level Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2012

This motel was wonderful in all ways! It was cozy, very clean, and situated in a picturesque setting with nothing but New England charm-ducks & duck pond, picnic tables and most of all swing sets to swing on and view the gorgeous New England scenery along historic Rte 6A either in the warmth of the sun, or at dusk with that lovely sunset glow offering its unique beauty to New England. The owners were very helpful in terms of providing directions and information on where to eat etc. I stayed in a queen room with a canopy bed and this was very delightful experience-love that bed and room. This was my first stay and I was not sorry-very satisfied! I would stay here again without question, and I would highly recommend this motel for anyone wanting a true New England setting along with a feeling of being at home, comfort, at a very reasonable price in one of the sweetest towns along Rte 6A-East Sandwich/Sandwich.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShellZ7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Sandwich
11.7 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
11.0 mi away
Anchor In Hotel
Anchor In Hotel
#1 of 22 in Hyannis
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,022 reviews
3.9 mi away
Sandwich Inn & Suites
Sandwich Inn & Suites
#1 of 5 in Sandwich
5.0 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
Sandwich Lodge & Resort
#4 of 5 in Sandwich
3.5 of 5 bubbles 288 reviews
1.9 mi away
Country Acres Motel
Country Acres Motel
#3 of 5 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.7 mi away
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
Dan'l Webster Inn & Spa
#1 of 8 in Sandwich
4.5 of 5 bubbles 599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Earl of Sandwich Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Earl of Sandwich Motel

Property: Earl of Sandwich Motel
Address: 378 Route 6a, East Sandwich, Sandwich, MA 02537-1442
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Sandwich > East Sandwich
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in East Sandwich
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Earl of Sandwich Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Earl of Sandwich Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Earl Of Sandwich Hotel East Sandwich
Earl Of Sandwich East

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing