We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleased by the Parsonage” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Parsonage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Parsonage Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Essex,CT
1 review
“Pleased by the Parsonage”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2008

The Inn was remarkably clean; our room (with private bath) was reasonably large for a B&B. The Inn has a very restful living room, perfect for visiting, or for reading or knitting or whatever. The Inn is a converted 100+ year-old parsonage, with a rather homey feeling, including satisfyingly squeeky wide-pine floors. The breakfasts were a delight -- different each morning, with fresh fruit, Belgian waffles, scones, souffles and so forth. The host and hostess -- the Brownes - were clearly experienced innkeepers. The knew just the right degree to which they could interact with their guests -- contrary to other B&B's at which we've stayed. We are quite comfortable in recommending the Parsonage.

Retired couple in their seventies .....

  • Liked — Cleanliness, gracious staff, excellent food
  • Disliked — narrow stairs
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RibbyRock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    223
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
26
147
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
sydney nsw
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 3, 2008

A recent five week trip from Australia touring New England included a two night stay with Ian and Elizabeth at their beautiful bed and breakfast accommodation. We stayed in the Willow room and it was really delightful, very roomy with a small kitchenette and lounge area, not your usual B & B room- Breakfast can be taken on the terrace when weather permits and this is a lovely area. The gardens are very relaxing and there are two restaurants within a very short walking distance. East Orleans is very handy to Provincetown and also Hyannis. Ian and Liz were very gracious hosts and we can highly recommend this establishment, especially the Willow Room, if you are planning a trip to this area

  • Liked — the willow room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kangaroosSydneyNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coralville,IA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

We greatly appreciated our stay at the "Inn." The location is convienent to the beach and the breakfasts are remarkable. Carol and I felt like personal guests, which made our first visit to the Cape very special.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2008

Simply an excellent place: people, food, rooms!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank imp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, MA
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2008

This was our 1st time to the Parsonage Inn. We will definitely return. We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary there. Ian and Elizabeth were wonderful hosts and served awesome breakfasts. Complete with newspapers and lots of Coffee.
We stayed in the Pine room which was lovely and very clean. We enjoyed the living room complete with sherry and lots of books.

We loved the proximity to the bike trails and the beaches, and especially two fine restaurants were in walking distance. We enjoyed the hospitality of the locals at Joe's in the Barley Neck Inn.
We plan to return next year and highly recommend the Parsonage Inn.
Colleen & Wayne
Massachusetts

  • Liked — Romantic & relaxed feeling!
  • Disliked — nothing, it was all great
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cbaldi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
144 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2008

The Parsonage Inn is an absolute gem. I had a large, beautifully-appointed room, equipped with all the necessary amenities as well as home touches such as a delightful selection of books, wine glasses, a nice assortment of teas with the tea/coffee maker, etc. There is a wonderful common area in the house with piano, complimetary sherry, comfortable sofas/chairs, and great reading material. Ian and Elizabeth are stellar hosts - so welcoming and truly caring for their guests. We had excellent conversations. They prepare a very nice breakfast with cereals, fruit, muffins and then a special entree for the day. I could not have stayed in a nicer place in Orleans. For a visit to the Cape, the Parsonage Inn should be the B&B of choice!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2008

We first discovered The Parsonage Inn over 10 years ago when we were looking for a weekend away at the Cape. As soon as we arrived, met the innkeepers, Liz and Ian Browne, and saw our room we knew we had found something very special. We have been fortunate to be able to return every year, sometimes for as many as three visits, to enjoy Liz and Ian’s warm and genuine hospitality, to relax in the comfortable charm of the inn’s rooms (we’ve stayed in all but two of them), and to anticipate eagerly each morning’s delightful breakfast. Sitting at a table outside on the patio relishing Liz’s culinary creations and Ian’s readiness to pour yet another cup of freshly brewed coffee has got to be the most perfect start to a perfect Cape day. Liz and Ian have mastered the fine art of inn keeping with perfect pitch. They remember their guests’ names, can give valuable recommendations for anything from restaurants to kayaking venues, and do all of this with care and a refreshing sense of humor. Over the years we have seen them go above and beyond to accommodate guests’ special needs, be they food allergies or something critical left behind at home. Though people tend to think of the Cape as a warm weather get-away, we have to say that staying at The Parsonage in the off-season has its own pleasures. Eating breakfast in the cozy indoor dining area as snowflakes fall outside the garden window and then hunkering down with a book on the soft sofa in the inn’s living room is a winter’s dream. This is truly an inn for all seasons. We can hardly wait to return!

  • Liked — The innkeepers, the breakfasts, and the charm of the inn
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank love2kayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
4.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
7.4 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
1.3 mi away
Ship's Knees Inn
Ship's Knees Inn
#3 of 5 in East Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
4.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
1.0 mi away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#2 of 5 in East Orleans
5.0 of 5 bubbles 344 reviews
1.7 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn
Eagle Wing Inn
#1 of 9 in Eastham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 434 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parsonage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parsonage Inn

Property: The Parsonage Inn
Address: 202 Main Street, P.O. Box 1501, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parsonage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innkeepers Jo-Anne and Richard Hoad look forward to welcoming returning and new guests to The Parsonage Inn, an 18th century parsonage, now a romantic village Inn, located in the heart of East Orleans and just one and a half miles from Nauset Beach. The eight guest rooms have been redecorated with refitted bathrooms to offer a relaxing, cozy and contemporary feel. Breakfasts are freshly prepared each morning, using wherever possible organic seasonal produce locally sourced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Parsonage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parsonage Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing