We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lots of charm here”
Review of The Parsonage Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Parsonage Inn
Ranked #2 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
sydney nsw
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“lots of charm here”
Reviewed October 3, 2008

A recent five week trip from Australia touring New England included a two night stay with Ian and Elizabeth at their beautiful bed and breakfast accommodation. We stayed in the Willow room and it was really delightful, very roomy with a small kitchenette and lounge area, not your usual B & B room- Breakfast can be taken on the terrace when weather permits and this is a lovely area. The gardens are very relaxing and there are two restaurants within a very short walking distance. East Orleans is very handy to Provincetown and also Hyannis. Ian and Liz were very gracious hosts and we can highly recommend this establishment, especially the Willow Room, if you are planning a trip to this area

  • Liked — the willow room
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank kangaroosSydneyNsw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    234
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
27
155
15
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Coralville,IA
1 review
Reviewed September 29, 2008

We greatly appreciated our stay at the "Inn." The location is convienent to the beach and the breakfasts are remarkable. Carol and I felt like personal guests, which made our first visit to the Cape very special.

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hawkeye32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2008

Simply an excellent place: people, food, rooms!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank imp2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northborough, MA
1 review
Reviewed September 27, 2008

This was our 1st time to the Parsonage Inn. We will definitely return. We celebrated our 25th Wedding Anniversary there. Ian and Elizabeth were wonderful hosts and served awesome breakfasts. Complete with newspapers and lots of Coffee.
We stayed in the Pine room which was lovely and very clean. We enjoyed the living room complete with sherry and lots of books.

We loved the proximity to the bike trails and the beaches, and especially two fine restaurants were in walking distance. We enjoyed the hospitality of the locals at Joe's in the Barley Neck Inn.
We plan to return next year and highly recommend the Parsonage Inn.
Colleen & Wayne
Massachusetts

  • Liked — Romantic & relaxed feeling!
  • Disliked — nothing, it was all great
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cbaldi97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
153 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2008

The Parsonage Inn is an absolute gem. I had a large, beautifully-appointed room, equipped with all the necessary amenities as well as home touches such as a delightful selection of books, wine glasses, a nice assortment of teas with the tea/coffee maker, etc. There is a wonderful common area in the house with piano, complimetary sherry, comfortable sofas/chairs, and great reading material. Ian and Elizabeth are stellar hosts - so welcoming and truly caring for their guests. We had excellent conversations. They prepare a very nice breakfast with cereals, fruit, muffins and then a special entree for the day. I could not have stayed in a nicer place in Orleans. For a visit to the Cape, the Parsonage Inn should be the B&B of choice!

  • Stayed September 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank explore with more
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 4, 2008

We first discovered The Parsonage Inn over 10 years ago when we were looking for a weekend away at the Cape. As soon as we arrived, met the innkeepers, Liz and Ian Browne, and saw our room we knew we had found something very special. We have been fortunate to be able to return every year, sometimes for as many as three visits, to enjoy Liz and Ian’s warm and genuine hospitality, to relax in the comfortable charm of the inn’s rooms (we’ve stayed in all but two of them), and to anticipate eagerly each morning’s delightful breakfast. Sitting at a table outside on the patio relishing Liz’s culinary creations and Ian’s readiness to pour yet another cup of freshly brewed coffee has got to be the most perfect start to a perfect Cape day. Liz and Ian have mastered the fine art of inn keeping with perfect pitch. They remember their guests’ names, can give valuable recommendations for anything from restaurants to kayaking venues, and do all of this with care and a refreshing sense of humor. Over the years we have seen them go above and beyond to accommodate guests’ special needs, be they food allergies or something critical left behind at home. Though people tend to think of the Cape as a warm weather get-away, we have to say that staying at The Parsonage in the off-season has its own pleasures. Eating breakfast in the cozy indoor dining area as snowflakes fall outside the garden window and then hunkering down with a book on the soft sofa in the inn’s living room is a winter’s dream. This is truly an inn for all seasons. We can hardly wait to return!

  • Liked — The innkeepers, the breakfasts, and the charm of the inn
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank love2kayak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Ian and Elizabeth Browne are the delightful owners/proprietors of the Parsonage Inn. I booked our stay there after hearing from my sister-in-law that Nauset Beach is the best beach on Cape Cod. So I chose to stay somewhere close. Parsonage Inn is less than two miles from the beach, so the location was good.

We stayed in the Willow Room, which had a queen bed, a twin bed that pulled out from a loveseat, and a small kitchenette. For what we got (and considering what else we had to pay for other places on this trip), it was a good price. Ian and Elizabeth were extremely helpful and friendly, and made us feel very welcome.

The breakfasts were fabulous! I want to ask Elizabeth for her recipes. Lemon ricotta pancakes, waffles, spice bread, fruit--all was delicious. She also put out cookies in the parlor every evening--a nice homey touch.

The inn is on Main street, so the traffic was a bit annoying, but that also meant that a market was right across the street, so being on the main drag is a mixed blessing.

The decor was simple, but functional, and overall, we really enjoyed our stay in Cape Cod.

  • Liked — The location, the friendly owners, and being on beautiful Cape Cod
  • Disliked — The traffic on the main street
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Thundergirl990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
4.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
5.3 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#3 of 9 in Chatham
684 reviews
1.3 mi away
Ship's Knees Inn
Ship's Knees Inn
#3 of 5 in East Orleans
263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
1.0 mi away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#1 of 5 in East Orleans
366 reviews
7.0 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Parsonage Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Parsonage Inn

Property: The Parsonage Inn
Address: 202 Main Street, P.O. Box 1501, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Parsonage Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Innkeepers Jo-Anne and Richard Hoad look forward to welcoming returning and new guests to The Parsonage Inn, an 18th century parsonage, now a romantic village Inn, located in the heart of East Orleans and just one and a half miles from Nauset Beach. The eight guest rooms have been redecorated with refitted bathrooms to offer a relaxing, cozy and contemporary feel. Breakfasts are freshly prepared each morning, using wherever possible organic seasonal produce locally sourced. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Parsonage Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Parsonage Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing