We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Time/Place for "Me" that said "Welcome" from the start !!”
Review of Ship's Knees Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ship's Knees Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 2, 2013

I needed a few days of "me" time before starting a new job. I googled "beach, fireplace and Cape Cod" and did I ever come upon the find of the year !! The Ship's Knees Inn was cozy, warm and truly welcoming. From the size of my room with an actual wood fireplace, to the decor with a beach-like theme, to the refrigerator with it's old-fashioned safe-like exterior, the wine glasses, cheese board & knife atop it in a basket, to an excellent continental breakfast (to which I wore my pj's to) that was included with the extremely reasonable price, to the friendly, helpful & courteous owner who shlepped a lot of firewood to my door, I felt like I was at home (yet away). The website & Guest Information Guide was very organized and helpful. A must if you're going to be in the area !! I can't wait to go again !!

Room Tip: Room #3 is large and has the wood fireplace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amazn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

116 - 122 of 270 reviews

Reviewed October 2, 2013

My stay, for three days in September, was just wonderful. This is a lovely old inn, with intriguing twists and turns in the hallways and impressive decor. The hosts and other employees were simply outstanding. Travel for me, though i love it, is tiring, and this was the perfect place to relax and renew. In addition, a little walk down the road leads to Nauset Beach - a beach of many moods that I absolutely fell in love with.

And who could forget marley - the resident dog with his lovely, unique personality?

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TeganMarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 18, 2013

We recently stayed two night at the Ship's Knees and it was great. It's an authentic historical inn close to Nausett Beach. The owners are very accomodating and accessible. They help you enjoy your visit to Cape Cod and Orleans as well as your stay in their inn. Yes the rooms are smaller than grand resorts but we felt very comfortable there and appreciated the ambiance of the place, the personal attention of the staff, and the local knowledge they were able to share. The great breakfast and the fire pit made it a great value for the price.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This year at the cape it was mostly a grey Labor Day weekend. At this time on the cape that means only one thing, no traffic! Our first night we had a fantastic thunderstorm with all the trimmings - but we were so snug in our Ship's Knees apartment, we confused the drama with a dream. We examined for evidence of rain over a delicious self-serve breakfast and hot coffee. Everyone in our party (the glutefrees, the light breakfast eaters, and the gluttons) was well nourished for a day of cape adventures. We enjoyed driving to local swimming spots and walking to Nauset Beach. After a stop at the well-named Friends Market, we enjoyed wine and provisions in our cozy apartment retreat. My husband and I shared a room that had been newly painted and redecorated. My mom had a private room and my sister slept on the large couch bed in the living room. It all worked out great and everyone had a nice view from their rooms. Cheers to Peter and his bride for all the hard work on the gardens and grounds. Oh, for dog lovers, a special friend will greet you in the office (for you non-dog folks no worries, he is very mellow and well mannered and mostly out of sight). We'll be back!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank burner_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

I was at the Ship's Knees this past long weekend (Labor day) with my boyfriend and my brother and his wife. The Inn was really comfortable and quaint. We really enjoyed our stay. Location was perfect as we were walking distance to the beach, plenty of parking available, great breakfast, beautiful patio with a great little fire pit!
We really enjoyed our stay and would recommend it to anyone needing a place to stay in the Cape!

Room Tip: My only critique would be that the room was on the smaller side and the pillows were really hard!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank st621
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

My husband and I stayed for four nights a few years back and I should have reviewed the Ship's Knees more promptly, but I have to add my two thumbs up for this charming place now. Peter was so kind to email answers to my questions before we arrived. He had wonderful tips for how to spend our time. The location is convenient to Nauset Beach. We enjoyed breakfast outside and conversation with other guests. I slept like a baby in this quiet, clean, comfortable room. We hope to return someday soon.

Room Tip: My husband and I had adjoining rooms in the main house. Mine had a door leading out to the courtyard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TaffiePa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Our time at the Ship's Knees came at the end of a series of upmarket hotel stays in New York and Boston - and what a relief! Charming, relaxed ambiance, super-helpful hosts, characterful rooms and a breakfast menu to die for.
Being Cape Cod first timers we tried hard to get it right using all the websites and even Google Earth - and it was worth every second spent. For a relaxed, comfortable and brilliantly-situated place to stay on the Cape - look no further then the Ship's Knees.
We'll be back....

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hugh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
5.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Parsonage Inn
The Parsonage Inn
#2 of 5 in East Orleans
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
9.8 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
291 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship's Knees Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship's Knees Inn

Address: 186 Beach Road, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range: $180 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship's Knees Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and charm of a 190 year-old restored Sea Captain's home, just 1/4 mile up the hill from the world famous Nauset Beach. 17 individually appointed rooms, 15 with private bath, and 1 or 2 bedroom fully equipped ocean view "Captain's Quarter's" guest apartment. Our newest accommodation (2010) the "Nauset Suite" has a king bed, private bath and private entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ship's Knees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship`s Knees Hotel East Orleans
Ship's Knees Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing