We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot, can't wait to go back next year!”
Review of Ship's Knees Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Ship's Knees Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Ellenville, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great spot, can't wait to go back next year!”
Reviewed July 31, 2011

Great spot just a few minutes walk to one of the best beaches on the cape!!! Peter and Denise do everything to make your stay more comfortable. We highly recommend it!

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pbmb78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    218
    37
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
46
166
10
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2011

What a lovely place to spend 10 days this summer. The Ship's Knees Inn is a little corner in Paradis. It provides shade and privacy if you're looking for a place to spend a few lazy moments with a book or your laptop; or you can sunbathe ans swim in their beautiful swimming pool (especially if the ocean is agitated or the beach too windy). Nauset Beach is 5 minutes walk, and actually I could see a bit of the ocean from our window. And a bonus: you wouldn't need to pay for parking at the beach.
Breakfast in the morning is such a delight, with freshly baked scones and fruit and breads and yogurt and cereal and... with cute and comfortable seating inside as well as outside in the shade or in the sun. This place provides everything you need for a lovely, restful stay. Oh, and the staff is great, too, discreet and alwasy helpful. We loved every moment we spent at the Ship's Knees Inn, and we would go back next time we're in Cape Cod.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Idumi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 21, 2011

The inn is charming with an outdoor gas fire pit and lovely alfresco breakfast dining. In addition, we enjoyed the king suite with pocket doors to the sitting area. The inn owner is very nice and gave my husband some local directions to scenic spots. My last words to Peter was that we would be back for a longer stay.

Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Toots0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2011

This is a lovely old inn with an easy walk to a beautiful Atlantic ocean beach. There are many great local restaurants, our favorite being Abba. Wish I could go again next week.

Room Tip: Please note that this is an old inn so the rooms are on the small side and have low ceilings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThereseAlbany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Our recent getaway, albeit too short, was to celebrate a milestone anniversary. What better place to stay than the Ship's Knees!! The scenery is like a postcard with gorgeous blue hydrangas and pink flowers dotting the landscape. We loved the evenings by the firepit with other guests as well as the abundant breakfasts in the morning on the patio. Sitting by the pool was comfortable and a respite from the busy beach that is only a short walk down the road. What more could you ask for -- oh yes, the very friendly innkeepers -- we have come to look forward to seeing Pete,Denise and Marley when we visit the Cape. We didn't want to leave. Maybe we should consider moving there? Until then, we will continue to book at the Ship's Knees. Jessica and Randy Bernotas, Middlefield, CT

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RoxiParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pleasantville, New York
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Beautiful setting close to beach, friendly people.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pkosminsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The Ship's Knees Inn is housed in lovely classic Cape weathered grey shingled buildings. You walk into an unpretentious yet lovely office. Great upholstery on the love sofas! Traditional but updated, not the rundown look you see at many New England B&Bs. Our room was small but clean and air conditioned and had everything we needed. Lovely yellow and cream quilt on the bed. Nauset Beach, a fantastic Cape spot, is a short walk from the Inn, and the Inn makes it easy to enjoy the beach, offering the use of beach chairs and such. If you prefer, you can relax by the Inn's pool. The Continental Breakfast is SO MUCH BETTER than what you get at chain hotels! And you can eat on lovely courtyard tables. Again, the little things. We were so pleased with our choice for this weekend's stay.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
5.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
6.0 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
2.0 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#1 of 5 in East Orleans
356 reviews
3.0 mi away
Skaket Beach Motel
Skaket Beach Motel
#1 of 8 in Orleans
413 reviews
7.2 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship's Knees Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship's Knees Inn

Property: Ship's Knees Inn
Address: 186 Beach Road, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship's Knees Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and charm of a 190 year-old restored Sea Captain's home, just 1/4 mile up the hill from the world famous Nauset Beach. 17 individually appointed rooms, 15 with private bath, and 1 or 2 bedroom fully equipped ocean view "Captain's Quarter's" guest apartment. Our newest accommodation (2010) the "Nauset Suite" has a king bed, private bath and private entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Ship's Knees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship`s Knees Hotel East Orleans
Ship's Knees Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing