We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A home away from home.”
Review of Ship's Knees Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ship's Knees Inn
Ranked #3 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 9, 2011

Our recent getaway, albeit too short, was to celebrate a milestone anniversary. What better place to stay than the Ship's Knees!! The scenery is like a postcard with gorgeous blue hydrangas and pink flowers dotting the landscape. We loved the evenings by the firepit with other guests as well as the abundant breakfasts in the morning on the patio. Sitting by the pool was comfortable and a respite from the busy beach that is only a short walk down the road. What more could you ask for -- oh yes, the very friendly innkeepers -- we have come to look forward to seeing Pete,Denise and Marley when we visit the Cape. We didn't want to leave. Maybe we should consider moving there? Until then, we will continue to book at the Ship's Knees. Jessica and Randy Bernotas, Middlefield, CT

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RoxiParents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (270)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 270 reviews

Reviewed July 9, 2011

Beautiful setting close to beach, friendly people.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pkosminsky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2011

The Ship's Knees Inn is housed in lovely classic Cape weathered grey shingled buildings. You walk into an unpretentious yet lovely office. Great upholstery on the love sofas! Traditional but updated, not the rundown look you see at many New England B&Bs. Our room was small but clean and air conditioned and had everything we needed. Lovely yellow and cream quilt on the bed. Nauset Beach, a fantastic Cape spot, is a short walk from the Inn, and the Inn makes it easy to enjoy the beach, offering the use of beach chairs and such. If you prefer, you can relax by the Inn's pool. The Continental Breakfast is SO MUCH BETTER than what you get at chain hotels! And you can eat on lovely courtyard tables. Again, the little things. We were so pleased with our choice for this weekend's stay.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jessica S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2011

This is a great place to stay in a lovely location. Very convenient to everything on the "lower, outer, upper cape? (I find the designations used locally very confusing). The owners make you feel like a part of the family. This is a typical New England cape house, so don't expect hotel like accommodations. That being said, the rooms are very comfortable and the ambiance and B&B experience make the stay enjoyable.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank stk204
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2011

We really enjoyed this charming little Inn. Our room was decorated lovely and very comfortable. We stayed in room #4 and it has a door right out to a patio which was lovely. The pool looked inviting , but a little early in the season for me. The continental breakfast had nice homemade muffins, scones, a cup or slices of fresh fruits, cereals, bagels and great coffee(I'm really fussy here).

They make the effort to accommodate their guests and go the extra mile.

  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jms1014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 1, 2011

We recently visited the Cape Cod area for a wedding and stayed at the Ship's Knees Inn for our extended holiday weekend. We spent a great deal of time searching for the right Bed and Breakfast for our stay. Because of the convenient location, the amenities, the website, the price, and the pictures, we picked the Ship's Knees Inn and we were not disappointed.

We stayed in one of the smaller rooms that had a private bathroom. It was cozy but large enough for the two of us. Since we weren't planning on being in our room for most of our trip, the size of the room didn't particularly matter to us. Peter and Denise Butcher, the owners, run a very well maintained Bed and Breakfast. We were promptly greeted and checked in by Peter and Marley, their cute dog. Peter gave us a brief tour of the inn.

We were very pleased to hear that there is an ice machine and water readily available at all hours of the day. A Continental breakfast is served between 8-9:30am. The pool is in the back with towels available for usage. There is a bike rack for you to chain up your bikes in the driveway. The patio area with a gas fire pit is a very nice touch. The beach is a mere 5-10 minute walk down the road.

Room 13, 14, or 15 may not be for everyone, since these are the smaller rooms. We didn't have an air conditioner in our room, but I'm sure that Peter would have put one in had we requested. I also had to put in a request for a hair dryer. We did enjoy the travel guide written by Denise and Peter. This provided the history of the inn, suggestions for dining, activities, and shopping, and the history of Cape Cod.

The only disappointment we had was that we didn't spend enough time in Cape Cod. The next time we return to the area we'll be sure to stay at the Ship's Knees Inn. Thanks to Peter and Denise for their hospitality!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pammy_4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 25, 2011

Marcia and I had a delightful week here on the Cape at Ship's Knees Inn. The evening mist floating between the trees and buildings, and making hazy halos around the lampposts was mysteriously beautiful. The weather reminded me of conditions in the movie, "Ghost Writer" but I didn't mind because grey days made our cozy suite, and the coffee and breakfast room even more enjoyable to relax in.

Doug and Marcia Carlson, St. Paul, MN
P.S. I wish I had a stone bench entry of my own

Room Tip: Ask Peter or Denise
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amaandbopbop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
7.7 mi away
Chatham Inn At 359 Main
6 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
751 reviews
1.3 mi away
The Parsonage Inn
The Parsonage Inn
#2 of 5 in East Orleans
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Nauset House Inn
Nauset House Inn
#1 of 5 in East Orleans
376 reviews
2 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ship's Knees Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ship's Knees Inn

Address: 186 Beach Road, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range: $153 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ship's Knees Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the warmth and charm of a 190 year-old restored Sea Captain's home, just 1/4 mile up the hill from the world famous Nauset Beach. 17 individually appointed rooms, 15 with private bath, and 1 or 2 bedroom fully equipped ocean view "Captain's Quarter's" guest apartment. Our newest accommodation (2010) the "Nauset Suite" has a king bed, private bath and private entrance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda and Hotels.com so you can book your Ship's Knees Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ship`s Knees Hotel East Orleans
Ship's Knees Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing