We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“just like home”
Review of Nauset House Inn

Best prices for your stay
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nauset House Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 East Orleans B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
new york
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“just like home”
Reviewed May 9, 2010

my husband and i travel to the nauset house each year to meet friends and share a wonderful few days. the inn is a place like home but with no work!!! Over the years, the innkeepers have become friends. they are cordial and will do anything you ask. the location is central to everything but is in a country setting. the nauset housse inn is a must if you go to the cape!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! lilly ann and george munnich

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    21
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
42
214
38
26
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2010

Been to this B&B many times over the past 13 yrs and keep coming back. From the nice rooms and common areas to the, beautiful grounds, friendly staff, and location; it's a great relaxing way to enjoy the cape and only 1/2 mile from one of the best beaches on the national seasore. Great breakfasts, wine & cheese happy hour, friendly other guests also. Easy friendliness with everyone there.

Thanks again John Cindy Diane.
We had a great time and will return.
Mark & Judy

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dartmouth, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2010

We arrived on a Thursday and had four wonderful days at the Nauset House. John and Cindy are most hospitable and we thoroughly enjoyed our time there. We particularly enjoyed the time we mingled with the other guests at breakfast and in the late afternoon. The room was lovely and the breakfasts delicious. The location is great - we spent time in Orleans, Chatham, Welfleet and Harwich. John and Cindy were great innkeepers with lots of suggestions places to eat and things to do. The inn's location is a great launching pad for many activities. We'll be back!

Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Princeton, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed April 29, 2010

My husband, son, and I just returned from a wonderful weekend stay at the Nauset House Inn. Their orange muffins were incredible! (I hate to admit that I ate two, but once you've eaten one, they are too irresistable to refuse!) They offered such a warm welcome to their guests. The inn is walking distance from a lovely beach with picturesque sand dunes and not far from the Nauset lighthouse. The Nauset House Inn is very quant and homey but has wireless internet! The friendly owners made our stay in Cape Code very memorable. Susan Silver
>

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
1 review
Reviewed January 8, 2010

My wife and I discovered the Nauset House Inn about 20 years ago, and look forward to whenever we can return. Diane, John and Cindy are friendly and thoughtful, the rooms and grounds show the attention of an artist who cares about every detail, and the breakfasts are creatively done and absolutely delicious. One of our very favorite places to stay, and also very close to the beach. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oregon
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed December 14, 2009

We have stayed here for over 20 years and it has not changed in that time. Just a wonderful place to be on the Cape. Great location, charming site and a warm, welcoming staff.

If you are going to the Cape you will love The NHI least of all the yummy breakfast.

George and Jane Norman, Lake Oswego, Oregon

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, CT
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2009

The Nauset Beach area of Orleans is a special place, and one reason for this is the Nauset House Inn.

My wife and I have been coming to the Inn for over 15 years now. The Inn and grounds, which includes a main house, carriage house and a cottage, are unassuming and peaceful. You feel immediately at home the moment you arrive. Each room has it’s own character and vibe. ALL are very comfortable and clean.

The main house has a wonderful common room with a fireplace and plenty of books and other reading material. The kitchen is off the common room and early risers can get a hot cup of coffee before breakfast. Speaking of breakfast, it’s great!. There’s also a beautiful glass conservatory off the dining area where you can sit and read or look out over the property.

The owners/innkeepers, Diane Johnson and her daughter and son-in-law, Cindy & John Vessella, are the ones who have kept the Inn a special place. And I think that’s so because it’s a special place to them. I feel fortunate to have had the pleasure of sharing the Inn with them and with the other guests who’ve stayed there.

Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Orleans
5.7 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
651 reviews
5.4 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.3 mi away
Ship's Knees Inn
Ship's Knees Inn
#3 of 5 in East Orleans
262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Eagle Wing Inn - Cape Cod
3.8 mi away
Inn at the Oaks
Inn at the Oaks
#1 of 11 in Eastham
280 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Parsonage Inn
The Parsonage Inn
#2 of 5 in East Orleans
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Additional Information about Nauset House Inn

Property: Nauset House Inn
Address: 143 Beach Road, P.O. Box 774, East Orleans, MA 02643
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > East Orleans
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in East Orleans
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Nauset House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nauset House Inn is a place where the gentle amenities of life are still observed... a quiet place removed from the cares of a workaday world... a place where sea and shore, orchard and field all combine to create a perfect setting for tranquil relaxation. Family owned and operated since 1983. Fourteen guest rooms with a complimentary full breakfast served everyday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Orbitz and Hotels.com so you can book your Nauset House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nauset House Hotel East Orleans
Nauset House Inn East Orleans, MA, United States

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing