We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful building in tranquil setting with fantastic hospitality”
Review of La Magnanerie

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
La Magnanerie
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We were made most welcome with our bicycles en route between Saumur and Tours. We had afternoon tea in the garden and the tabled'hote in the evening was one of the best meals we had had on our trip. The room we had was huge and beautifully decorated , it was a pleasure to stay in it and Dominic and Brigitte couldn't have been more friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lolaCheshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

20 - 26 of 103 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed for two nights at La Magnanerie and cannot praise it highly enough!

My boyfriend and I were looking for a well located guest house which would allow us to explore the region of the Loire valley over a weekend, while travelling up from Carcassonne to England. We stumbled upon La Mananerie online and after reading the fantastic reviews booked two nights - I'm so thrilled we did!

We found the guest house relatively easily using Sat Nav, and although only a few miles from the motorway (and Nuclear Power Plant!) the pretty village of Savigny-en-Veron was tranquil and quiet. La Magnanerie is set back from a small lane with a large gravel drive where we were easily able to park our car, and some outbuildings, including a turreted castle!

Brigitte and Dominique were wonderful hosts and showed us around the beautiful downstairs and lounge area with sofas, television and lots of useful books on the chateaux in the region! There's also a beautiful garden full of fruit trees - lots of the fruit is used in Brigitte's cooking, for pies, chutneys and jams.

We stayed in the Nymphe room - a light and airy upstairs room, with a huge double bed and princess net, beautiful period armchairs, a feature fireplace and tasteful decoration throughout. It also had a huge en suite bathroom with separate WC and a double shower and a range of luxury toiletries were provided for us.

On the first night we'd booked dinner, which was served at 8pm. We dined with Brigitte, Dominique, a couple from Belgium and another couple from Holland so it was an international affair, switching between French and English. Dinner began with a glass of sparkling rose brut served outside on the patio, with breadsticks and other nibbles. The wine was local from the Ackerman caves in Saumur and was chilled to perfection. We were then led inside where the large table had been laid for dinner - we ate a starter of melon, with mozzarella and fresh tomatoes from the garden. The main was monk-fish with butternut squash risotto, served with hunks of fresh bread. This was followed by a cheese course - including a choice of goats' cheeses, hard cheese and a creamy Camembert. Finally dessert was a plum tart with plums from the garden, and wine was topped up throughout the meal.

I cannot stress enough how fun dinner was as well as terrific value for money at just 25 euros each - it was great to find out more about the history of the guesthouse, the renovations and the local area. We stayed up talking til nearly 11pm and I would recommend any guests book the meal when they book their stay!

After a peaceful (literally silent except for the ducks) and comfortable night's sleep, we got up to explore the area and headed down for breakfast at 9am (we told Dominique the night before what time we wanted to eat!) Breakfast was delicious again - it varied on each of the two mornings we were there but included a fruit and walnut cake, cheese, cold meats, a ham and cheese crepe, a homemade cold dessert-style creme caramel, apricots, prunes, fresh strawberries and fresh bread with homemade jams, marmalade and local honey! You definitely won't go hungry and it was lovely to try some of the local French delicacies!

The property is ideally situated for Saumur and the surrounding villages and chateaux of the Loire valley. We had a lovely day exploring and it was a pleasure to return to La Magnanerie for a second night.

I can't recommend this guest house highly enough - affordable, friendly and stunning we'll definitely be returning next year!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kim113
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 11, 2013

We had a most wonderful experience in this recently opened guesthouse. Brigitte & Dominique have exquisitely restored an old Silk factory into the most comfortable and luxurious home which they delight in sharing with their guests. Brigitte is a terrific cook - dinner is a most enjoyable event.
The property is ideally located between Saumur & Chinon to visit the Loire Chateaux and vineyards.
In our experience it offers excellent value - in fact, we enjoyed it so much we have already booked a return visit!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrandMrsKDublin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jean Jacques B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mamycoqueline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Corinne V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2017
Google Translation

Room Tip: La chambre au rez de chaussée,Cocon, donne directement accès au jardin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to La Magnanerie? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Magnanerie

Address: 13 rue Basse, 37420 Savigny-en-Veron, France
Location: France > Centre-Val de Loire > Indre-et-Loire > Savigny-en-Veron
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Savigny-en-Veron
Price Range: $99 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
La Magnanerie bed and breakfast is situated in Savigny-en-Véron near Chinon, at the confines of Touraine and Anjou. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your La Magnanerie reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing