We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
“Charmingly beautiful and relaxing retreat in...”
5.0 of 5 bubbles
other travelers have booked this property

Review of Gite du PinPerdu

View from the front door....lots more room inside!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from the front door....lots more room inside!
Gite from the raised Bedroom area Most comfortable chair in the house..........
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
5.0 of 5 bubbles
Excellent
11 reviews
View from the front door....lots more room inside!
Gite from the raised Bedroom area
Most comfortable chair in the house..........
Over the Garden wall (July - August)
Gite Kitchenette
View from Gite to Courtyard
The Shower room
View to the Loo!
Sitting room area
Terrace; view towards BBQ
Terrace entrance
The Dining Room
View over the garden wall Spring 2013
Our own Sunflower!
Roses by the Dining Room door
Road of the Lost Pine Tree......
Organic produce from our garden
More garden Produce
The Chateau at Rochefoucauld
River running past Rochefoucauld
Beach at Royan
Local Plan d'Eau - Lake Beach
On the River at Jarnac
Artist at work in Cognac
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Aigre, Charente, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
5 of 5 bubbles Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MrsBBespo...
Sussex
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Charmingly beautiful and relaxing retreat in rural France”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 for a stay in June 2013

The gite at Pin Perdu is a charmingly beautiful place, and wonderful to visit whether you enjoy taking things slow, or have a more energetic viewpoint on life! It is situated amongst rolling vineyards in a lovely part of France, close to many interesting places such as the historic hilltop town of Angouleme, the aromatic home of Cognac (funnily enough in Cognac), and the ancient roman amphitheatre near Rouillac. Stephen and Grania were perfect hosts, allowing us to explore, discover and relax at our own pace whilst always being available for any queries or questions we may have had. Imagine waking up every morning knowing fresh bread and croissants were ready waiting for you for breakfast. Parfait!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The fantastic surrounding countryside
Liked least: Quite a drive from the ferry port but it was a great adventure
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter H
Southampton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“This is a little paradise.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed for i night and then returned again - it was so very nice. Grania and Stephen are so very welcoming. It was a true home from home. We had the most wonderful supper with them on both nights. The wine flowed and the conversation was so easy going. The renovation of the gite is extremely tastefully done. The whole upstairs area is vast and so comfortable with relaxing seating and a raised sleeping area. Angouleme is a fantastic city with great shops and no too far away. Gite du PinPerdut is a little secret paradise.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 3 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses
5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils 5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities 5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The fantastic welcome
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lee T
Winchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A warm welcome and a comfortable stay in rural France”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

We stayed for one night on the way back from the Mediterranean coast.

Our hosts were delightful (as was the evening meal and the spacious and tasteful accommodation).

The area is particularly of interest being in the middle of Cognac country and the peace was perfect ! We shall definitely return.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
4 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: Allwas excellent
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollyhue
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful rural escape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2013 for a stay in July 2013

We returned to the Gite du PinPerdu for a few days of our family summer holiday - having stayed in 2012 after a friends recommendations. We are a small family with a one year old boy and really wanted to escape to the country for some fresh air and family time. We were not disappointed.

The welcome when we arrived was warm and the gite is a truly beautiful retreat.

The weather was glorius and we found the lido in Rouillac a lovely way to spend the afternoon and cool off. Whilst we were there the Cognac Jazz festival was on which was an enjoyable afternoon sipping local cider and listening to live music in the sunshine in such a pretty town.
All in all I would recommend the Gite for a tranquil time in a magical part of rural France. Days are full of exploration and a delicious meal is available in the opulent dining room if booked ahead. Grania and Stephen cook delicious meals using where possible the ingredients they have grown in their own garden. This was perfect when we had put our son to bed and we could then relax on our private terrace (all within earshot of the Gite). There is a picturesque view down the valleyto be enjoyed whilst relaxing and sipping the local wine. When it gets dark, you really become aware of how peaceful it is... no noise or light pollution mean a perfectly quiet night with amazing stars to gaze at...how can we not sleep so well. What a way to relax. Enjoy.

5 of 5 bubbles Value 5 of 5 bubbles Rooms
4 of 5 bubbles Location 5 of 5 bubbles Cleanliness
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annelloyd
southampton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An amazing countryside retreat - a real gem of a find, almost too good to share!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013 for a stay in August 2013

We had the pleasure of staying here for a week in August. The hosts Grania and Stephen gave us great directions so although its tucked away in the countryside we found it easily. When we arrived we were given a warm welcome of drinks on the terrace before a wonderful meal created by Grania and Stephen from some of the produce they grow in their garden! The gite has a beautiful rustic charm which was lovely and cool compared to the outside heat. We had flown to La Rochelle and hired a car so were able to get out and about. The gite provides a fantastic base to explore the area of Cognac and beyond and driving is so easy. We had a wonderful day at the town the of Jarnac and a 'beach' day at a local lake. We also visited the memorial village of Oradeur Sur La Glane which is a must for those who are interested in history particularly the Second World War. There is just so much to do in the area. But we also found time to relax at the gite with breakfast delivered fresh from the bakery to our door every morning courtesy of Stephen and a delicious meal every evening on the terrace. One week wasn't enough we will definitely be returning next year to recharge our batteries and explore some more of the area. This place is a real find we can't recommend Gite Du PinPerdu enough!

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The beautiful gite
Liked least: Going home!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SyracuseR...
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Idyllic Quiet Romantic Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013 for a stay in December 2012

My boyfriend and I stayed at Gite for Two by Le Petit Beuvais last winter and had a phenomenal pre-Christmas sojourn at this delightful and serene location. The area is thoroughly beautiful even in winter so in summer it must be utterly breathtaking. As a couple in our late-20's we found it excellent value for money for a rural escape from London.

The gite itself is set in a lovely restored barn. I was genuinely surprised at how much attention to detail the apartment had been added by the owners (Grania and Stephen). You really feel you are in a charming and tranquil cottage away from home - there's a lovely contained dining room below the gite too which again adds an atmosphere of a secret, homely idyll. The barn conversion is large with a king-sized bed, breakfast/dining table, modern and clean bathroom, and mini kitchen with toaster for your freshly bought bakery food.

Even during the height of winter the gite was well heated. The walks are scenic and help build up a good appetite for lunch and dinner in and around Le Petite Beavais which has restaurants with the great cuisine you can guarantee from this region of France. Alternatively, there is the host's delicious hospitality cuisine which is cooked from their own local produce from the sprawling garden which the gite overlooks. They are very used to cooking cuisine that caters to even the most unusual of dietary requirements so don't worry if you have any - just ask.

We thought this a beautiful and quiet retreat for two, certainly if you are looking for a truly romantic and unquestionably tranquil getaway. We look forward to returning in the summer months to explore the surrounding vineyards and visit the home of Cognac. You will certainly need a car but this secluded and picturesque haven is the perfect, enchanting sanctuary.

5 of 5 bubbles How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 bubbles How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 bubbles How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 bubbles Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 bubbles Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 bubbles Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 bubbles Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 bubbles Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 bubbles Service
Liked best: The serenity of the location
Liked least: Might have been an idea to hire a couple of bikes during our stay but otherwise perfect
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
Never pay for your vacation rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing