We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great New Find”

Marshside Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $14 - $28
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
674 reviews
276 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 315 helpful votes
“Great New Find”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I met two friends here on their suggestion. They had rediscovered it after a few years. It happens to be a good midway piont between Sandwich and Provincetown.
It was a crystal clear day which enhanced the view of the marsh. Very much a late fall day on the Cape. The room was bright with many large windows but made cozy by the fireplace which we sat next to.
The waitress was pleasant, helpful and attentive without hovering.
The food came out and all three dishes were excellent~ Chicken salad, baked haddock and broiled seafood platter. The portions were perfect for lunch.
As a bonus, the ride along 6A was scenic and very typical Cape Cod.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CATTSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

483 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    221
    153
    66
    28
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dennis, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Delicious, Reliable, Affordable”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

The Marshside had been a family favorite for a few years now as every time we go the meals are delicious and the bill is reasonable. You get what you pay for, especially on Cape Cod. The fish sandwiches are always tasty and very fresh. You can't go wrong with the chicken puffed pie and other traditional entrees either. Their bread basket is a great way to start a meal too. I wouldn't say the food is culinary genius but they do have some unusual items if you are looking for something other than fried seafood on the Cape. I always recommend the Marshside!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maura M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandwich, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Over crowded and overbooked!”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

I have been to this restaurants many times over many years but my last visit was a bad experience. My husband and I went on a Fri. night mid Sept. The place was very crowded but the hostess gave up our buzzer and told us the wait would be about 35 min. We went to the bar and each had a martini that ended up being $14 apiece! There was nothing special about them. After over an hour we went back to the hostess and asked how much longer it would be. She was very rude to us.. We were so upset we walked out.
Never again. There are too many fine restaurants in the area to put up with that!
Too bad, nice location, etc. but they just try to take on too many patrons.
Wonder what the fire code is for the maximum no. of people that are suppose yo be in there at a time?

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank carol c C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandler, Arizona
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Stew with a View”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

A favorite stop while visiting the Cape. The best seafood stew around. Reliable food and a beautiful view of the marsh.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AZwanderer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niskayuna, New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great year-round restaurant with beautiful Cape Cod views”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We recently are here for my birthday dinner on Halloween and all 4 of us had an outstanding meal, from drinks to dessert. We are all from NY and have a lot of restaurants to compare them to but Marshside holds its own against any of them based on price and quality.

We had been here before with friends who live in Harwich and decided to take our NY friends with us this time. We had a great time, the service was great and the food was delicious. They were offering 3-course dinners with 2 appetizers, 2 entrees and a dessert for $19.99 and everyone loved their meal.

I would definitely recommend this restaurant to anyone looking for a good meal at a good price.

(They do have a frequent diner's club but I would suggest initiating a discount or free dessert on birthdays, or during birthday month as it is always an additional draw!)

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mbrjpr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marshside Restaurant also viewed

 
Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Marshside Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing