We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“not for kids”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sesuit Harbor House
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Dennis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stayed here for a week in August in a "suite". The inn is recently renovated, but an old, worn-down facility with smallish rooms. Pleasant grounds and small pool, but owners act as if
you are staying In there home, not at their hotel. Breakfast was store-bought pastries and no
brewed decaf - and the owner was a chef at Maison Robert in Boston! They advertise as kid-friendly, as long as you don't make too much noise or have too much fun in the pool. We were
sternly told not to make waves in the pool or it would "shut the system off". If you are on a business trip or stopping by on your way to somewhere else, it will do. Definitelly not a vacation
destination. And not worth the price.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bobandeileen3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kim M, Owner at Sesuit Harbor House, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2013

It is upsetting when a guest is dissatisfied with their stay, but a fair response can be helpful to explain some of the complaints. Our property could hardly be described as an “old worn down facility with smallish rooms”. These guests stayed in our Nantucket Suite which measures 400 sq. ft., consists of a living room with all new furniture including a sleep sofa, coffee table, comfortable chair and end table, pedestal dining table with four Windsor chairs, and a new 32” flat screen TV. This leads into a full kitchen with seating for two, and then into a bed room with a full bath, queen bed, bureau, night stands, and 22” flat screen TV. All of our rooms feature new carpeting and linens and always fresh paint.
When this guest told us they would be sleeping on the sleep sofa, but wanted more support, we added a piece of 1” plywood to make it firmer. The next morning, upon checking to see if this remedied the situation, and we were told it had. They also took the time to tell us how lovely the suite and property were, and were interested in the suite upstairs from them which sleeps six, because they might rent it next summer with their children and grand children.
Our swimming pool is 40’X20’, and eight feet in the deep end, containing 33,000 gallons of water. The pool deck features four tables and chairs with umbrellas, eight lounge chairs with tables, an assortment of additional seating and a variety of pool toys including lounging floats, noodles, inflatable tubes, beach balls, face masks, and fresh towels for the guests to use at the pool as well as the beach.
As required by law, our filter is equipped with a computer “kill switch” which shuts the filter off if it detects any interruption of suction during its operation. This is to prevent anyone from becoming trapped on a floor drain by the suction and drowning. When these guests and their two grand children were in the pool, they were using four floats to create waves that were so large, they threatened to shut down the filter, which must stay on 24/7 to maintain a clean, safe water environment. When they were politely asked to please stop making the large waves, we were met with angry stares from both adult guests.
We maintain a policy of not allowing unregistered guests to use the pool, which is clearly stated in all of our literature, restated in our confirmation which is sent at booking and again one week before arrival, and reviewed with all policies at check in by our front desk personnel. In addition to a liability issue, we want to make sure that all of our registered guests have equal access to all of our amenities. These guests told us that they had planned on having their two grand children who were not registered guests use the pool during their time here at the hotel. After some discussion, we allowed this breach of policy. As the week progressed, they also invited their two adult children to join them at the pool. Although this was not what we had agreed to, we decided to allow it. Unfortunately our guests’ visitors parked in another room’s assigned spot rather than visitor parking, and when we asked them to move their vehicle after receiving a complaint, they were again clearly annoyed.
Finally, as is evidenced by the majority of reviews on this site, our continental breakfast is consistently complimented by our guests, and we do not serve “store bought” pastries. Everything is baked on the premises daily using high quality ingredients with the utmost of care. In our first year of operation, we offered brewed decaf coffee daily. Unfortunately, there were almost no guests taking the decaf, and were forced to throw away the coffee every day. As a result, we switched to instant decaf, and offer brewed decaf upon request. Additionally we provide coffee makers in every room that include brewed Folgers regular and decaf coffee as well as Lipton tea and Swiss Miss hot chocolate. Having been a chef at Maison Robert does not necessarily require us to waste expensive food or beverages.
It is quite clear that these guests were unwilling to comply with simple, reasonable house policies and when asked to be more considerate, they became annoyed. Some guests are simply more comfortable in a larger, more anonymous establishment.
The entire staff at our property works diligently to provide an enjoyable, comfortable, family friendly and safe experience for all of our guests during their stay with us. We sincerely hope this response reassures everyone of our commitment to those goals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (200)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

118 - 124 of 200 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2013

My husband and I decided to take a very last minute long weekend at the Cape, and were lucky enough to find the Sesuit Harbor house and Jim and Kim. When I called, their desk clerk offered me a lovely surprise in an end of season discount as well!! We arrived to a welcome sign bearing our name, a spotlessly clean, very quaint Cape Codish room with the most comfortable bed EVER, and absolutely beautiful grounds. They have a great pool, with all the floats, toys and tables you could want, they offer free (FREE!!) use of bikes and BBQ equipment-we even found a bucket of ice in our fridge. They provide a lovely continental buffet breakfast (all you could use before a beach trip!) in a quaint sun porch with very pretty gardens outside. This was SO much nicer than the "cookie-cutter" experience of the "name" places on the Cape, and we so enjoyed speaking with the owners, who are very hand-on and knowledgeable. This is a GREAT romantic get-a-way, but given the multiple buildings, this would be an excellent and very affordable place to bring a group or a family with little ones. Saving on the bike rentals and breakfast alone are wonderful!! Highly recommend!

Room Tip: While we loved Nauset, I think any would be great! Couples would like this building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thezwartsofny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

Our family of four stayed in a deluxe room at the Sesuit Harbor House for three nights. We made arrangements for a late arrival prior to our stay. We found the key and welcoming directions to our room exactly as we arranged. The room was quiet, spacious, and clean. The two queen beds were comfortable. The bathroom was clean but quite small. The shower was a noticeably small stall shower. We enjoyed breakfast outside each morning. It was adequate but not unique in any way. There were several choices of dry cereal, bread for toast, boiled eggs, and a few packaged pastry items. We used the pool and found it to be pleasant. The outdoor shower was handy for removing beach sand. We inquired at the desk each morning for tips as to which beach to explore. They were happy to advise us and we were pleased with the beautiful Dennis beaches. We would return.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TLK11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2013

Staying at Sesuit Harbor House was wonderfull! It was our first time there but Kim and Jim make us feel like at home! They are very nice persons!
The place was wonderfull: plenty of charme, confortable ad well appointed room, everything very clean.
Really quite around, the perfect place to relax!
The garden was gorgeous, plenty of space to sit down and rest under the trees or looking at the kids playing around.
The breakfast delicious: one of the best coffe I have ever had in US!! Also the home-made pastries were excellent!
The kids enjoyed a lot the pool, they really appreciate all the equipement they could use for free (mattress, balls, etc.).
Last but not least, the price was really convinient compared to the service!!
Our next trip to Cape Cod will be, no doubt, at Sesuit Harbout House!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fontanelfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

My friends chose the Sesuit Harbor House for me because it was close to the location of their party I was invited to attend on Cape Cod. I knew that I had come to a good place when I entered the reception area. The receptionist was very professional and efficient, but friendly at the same time. My room was spacious, cool (the air conditioner was already running), and had everything I needed. Bathroom fixtures and carpets were not new, but kept clean. WiFi worked well. As I sat in the breakfast area the next morning, enjoying good coffee, fruit and nice pastries, Kim, one of the two owners, greeted me by name! The inn has a number of bicycles, helmets and locks guests can use for free. I rode the bicycle to various beaches and little towns. Kim even let me use the bicycle on he day I checked out,and they stored my luggage in their office, both free of charge. I would stay here again and can highly recommend this inn. It is a well-run business that cares for their clients and their employees. Everyone is responsive and service comes with a smile.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HGK_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

My husband and I have been back for 3 nights each August for several years. We feel very comfortable here, the grounds are lovely, with lots of places to sit, the pool is great, the breakfast is yummy and the owners and staff are very thoughful and helpful, ready to give any advice on having the perfect vacation. The property is within biking distance of some trails and astounding beaches. Having a small fridge is also very helpful (to keep drinks cold and for leftovers or beach sandwiches).

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spanish_af
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

We were looking for a place that was close to friends for a short visit and we were helped by these friends to select this property. As soon as we walked into the reception area we knew that we had come upon a gem. The reception staff was welcoming and efficient. The room was clean and extremely well appointed with air conditioning and fan, numerous towels, up-to-date guides to the Cape and so much more. The grounds are attractive and very well maintained. And the breakfast was more than a simple continental breakfast, as it included home-made pastries and excellent coffee. I would be happy to return and would unreservedly recommend it to friends who were planning a trip to the Cape. JimCA

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 65JimCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near East Dennis
6.3 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
7.1 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
272 reviews
9.5 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
621 reviews
7.6 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,260 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Villages at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sesuit Harbor House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sesuit Harbor House

Address: 1421 Main Street, Route 6A, PO Box 1503, East Dennis, Dennis, MA 02641
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis > East Dennis
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in East Dennis
Price Range: $108 - $239 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Sesuit Harbor House 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Sesuit Harbor House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sesuit Harbor House And Motel
Sesuit Harbor House Hotel East Dennis
Sesuit Harbor Motel
Sesuit Harbor Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing