We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Irongray
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Barnsoul Caravan Park
Certificate of Excellence
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
Reviewed March 2, 2014 via mobile

We cannot fault this park at all. The park is well signposted and a warm welcome was received on arrival. Our 'Pod' was immaculate and comfortable. Fantastic on-site facilities with clean kitchen, toilet and shower blocks. We took our dog, who was welcome and she had a ball, enjoying the surrounding woodland. We will definitely be back again.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank M8KNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    17
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
60
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Craigrothie
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2013

I would like to thank you so much for our awesome stay last weekend. We won a prize which included a 3 night stay in a Wigwam at Barnsoul Caravan Park and what an amazing time we had!! The wigwam was huge and we were pleasantly surprised as we are a family of 5 one of which is a disabled child. We were able to have all the beds out and a travel cot and still had loads of room to move around and have medical equipment wired up. Barnsoul is the most amazing site and we hardly ever saw our children when we were there as they were happy to explore the woods and they found a den too. The facilities are very clean and the lady who looks after this was friendly and approachable, we had a very comfortable stay. Each wigwam has it's own fire pit which we did make great use of on two nights as the children loved toasting marshmallows. While we were there we had a look round the tent site which is in a separate field and had electric hook ups and flat pitches. We will definatley return to Barnsoul and hope to try camping with electric in April. The most wonderful asset Barnsoul has is space, everything is well spaced out over a large area giving the feeling of peace, calm and tranquility.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Moira H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Great time in wigwam for 2 nights especially as I'd never camped or glamped.
Kitchen , toilets etc very clean
Quiet site.
Mixutre of wigwams tents etc
Great value for money
Little lodges look good too.
Eileen

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eileen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penicuik, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed in the little lodge for 2 nights it was fab, they are lovely and cozy, the kids loved it too, . it was nice and peaceful the toilets were clean and the kitchen area was clean too. Also free fishing which the kids loved. We will definitely be back.

Thankyou x

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhonda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed at Barnsoul for two nights in August 2013 in our tent. The site is in a very quiet spot, far enough from the main roads to make it a pleasure but close enough to make travel convenient. The tent field is right at the end of the site, which is slightly out of the way making it a little bit of a walk to the main toilet block, showers and camp kitchen. There is a portaloo for the tent field, however, that wasn't always ideal. The tent field has plenty of water points and electric hook-ups. Good vehicle access to allow you to park your car next to your tent. Overall we really enjoyed our visit. The main facilities were very good quality and clean. My wife wants to go back and stay in the wigwams which have a nice outside area which has a wall to provide shelter and a fire circle, very cosy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HonestOpinionPC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torphins, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2013

We stayed six nights in the Little Lodge, the only one on site at present although there are two more arriving shortly.
This is a great wee holiday park for families or couples. It is divided into three separate areas - one for touring caravans; one for the eight wigwams, the Little Lodge and a handful of statics and an area for tents.
Very peaceful and quiet. Lots of woods and places for the kids to explore (no need for a playpark). Lots of room and a handly spot for exploring Dumfries and Galloway.
The staff are very friendly and helpful. The toilets are basic but always very clean.
The Little Lodge we stayed in with our daughter was excellent with a separate room with bunk beds and a comfortable double you make up in the seating/eating area. Also has a good sized fridge, a microwave, a toaster and a kettle. There is a very large glass area (with curtains) looking across the countryside.
The weather was so good when we were there we ate all the time outside on the picnic table.
It was our first stay here and in Dumfries and Galloway but it was hugely enjoyable and we will be back. Can highly recommend it.

Room Tip: The Little Lodge is worth spending that little bit extra although the wigwams are good as well.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeesideDowser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Recently enjoyed 2 nights at Barnsoul, quiet and relaxing helped by fantastic weather. Kids enjoyed freedom and plenty of space to enjoy.
Hope to return for a longer stay in the future.
Great value logs n kindling for fire pit :-)

Room Tip: We were in a Wigwam, hard to believe but too hot at night so sleep was not great, could invest in me...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bill H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Barnsoul Caravan Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Barnsoul Caravan Park

Property: Barnsoul Caravan Park
Address: Barnsoul | Dumfries & Galloway, Irongray DG2 9SQ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Irongray
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Specialty Lodging in Irongray
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Barnsoul park is surrounded by a working farm and stunning wooded parkland abounding in wildlife – fox, deer, over 100 different bird species and even the occasional otter. Set amongst woodlands and rolling farmland, Barnsoul is the perfect base to explore our beautiful region. Located just 6 miles from Dumfries and within easy driving distance from Annan, Castle Douglas and Kirkcudbright. Pitches for tents, motor homes or touring vans are available on a nightly, weekly or seasonal basis. Our comfortable facilities offer: hot water, electric hook ups, a shower block with individual cubicles, communal kitchen, picnic area, play park, dog exercise area, laundry facilities, chemical toilet disposal, bike storage, pitch and put, an on-site warden and even free fishing. Don’t want the hassle of putting up a tent? Introducing the crash pad, Bothie, apex pods and little lodges. All Glamping pitches (excluding the crash pad) include foam mattresses, lights, heater, fridge, kettle, toaster, microwave and your very own fire pit which allows you to cosy up at your very own campfire. The Little Lodge is a newly designed camping pod with more windows, increased headroom and a separate bunk area for the kids. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing