We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Reviewed August 14, 2006

The ocean view room was nothing we expected. You would think that for $300 a night you could take a deep breath of fresh air when you sleep. The rooms (we experienced two of them) are smelly (moldy smell) and very tired. The bathroom was tiny and so were the rusty towels. The resort did not even provide beach towels, and speaking of the beach, they clean the beach once a week (only on Tuesdays) so if you come on Wednesday... you'll have to walk on shells, dead crabs, and other smelly sea creatures (smell very fishy and the flies were everywhere). The staff was polite and courteous, but not hospitable, and anything that you ask for ... is taken with a grain of salt.

I would not recommend this place to anyone. It does not have a warm feeling, and does not make you feel welcomed! There are other hotels nearby whose facilities, services, and staff seems to be much more attractive!

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BenjaminK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

240 - 246 of 253 reviews

Reviewed July 27, 2006

Stayed at the Soundings July 16 - 20. The resort is old and tired. The rooms are smelly and musty - the hotel is just plain old. our first night there one of the sewage pipes broke right under our room - you can imagine the stench! We were never notified that this had happened. We found out the next morning when the plumber was underneath the room fixing the pipe. I immediately contacted the front desk and asked for a refund of the 1st night because we did not get a wink of sleep because of the smell. They were not willing to give our money back just an apology for what happened. I insisted that we move our room. They gave us what they call the "Penthouse Suite" - Far from it, old with linoleum floors and just plain HOT - 3rd floor and it was in the 90's - A/C did not work very well. The balcony was so old I was afraid for my kids to stand out there for fear that they might fall through. The A/C from our room leaked so much water into the room below they had to call to put a bucket underneath the A/C. Overall a HORRIBLE EXPERIENCE and I would never give The Soundings my hard earned money again!!!!

  • Stayed: June 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2006

We booked our room facing the ocean for one week at $200 dollars a night. I was willing to spend this much because it was directly on the ocean and had 2 pools, one inside and one outside. If it rained, which it did everday, then we could swim in the indoor heated pool, right? wrong! Both pools were absolutely freezing! The coffee shop is in the pool room so you can smell bacon frying while your in there. weird! The room was just ok, it's old and smells musty. The ceiling tile in the bathroom was falling down, but my husband fixed it. I wanted to leave after the second night , but was told by the front desk that there was no refund for early departures. Read the fine print! We stayed one extra night next door at Edgewater for $30 dollars more a night, and it was is new and just beautiful, certainly worth the money. Sorry soundings, you call yourself a resort? Far from it. Stay at edgewater.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank laceysu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2006

The Soundings Resort is located on a beautiful spot on Nantucket Sound. The staff and management are very helpful but the resort is starting to show its age. Things that need to get painted remain an eyesore. The towels provided in the rooms are extremely thin. In the coffee shop, only 2 of the 6 ceiling fans were operational.

Stayed: June 2006
5  Thank TK29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2005

We stayed at the Soundings 9/15-9/19. Our first room was directly facing the ocean, Room 220. Very nice view, room was large. The room had a bedroom area and sitting area and bathroom. Room had a fridge, tv, couch, chair and 2 double-beds and private balcony.

We decided to stay an extra night but we had to switch rooms, ours was reserved already. We moved around the corner to room 212. Same type of room, but you had a side-view of the ocean and overlooked the grounds and outdoor pool. Still very nice.
The staff was very helpful with our move. We just had to pack up and they moved everything for us.

The resort has an outdoor and indoor pool, jacuzzi and a restaurant for breakfast only, opened until 11am. The indoor pool and jacuzzi is nice for the evening.

The Ebb Tide Restaurant and gift shop across the street are great. Excellent food. There is also the Ocean House restaurant down the street, within walking distance.

We loved our stay. The first two days it rained but we just went shopping and to the movies. Plenty of restaurants and shopping in the area.

Our only "small" complaints would be. Room 220 had a tv in the sitting room not in the bedroom area, you can still see the tv if you turn it on an angle but it would be nicer if there were two tv's. Some people don't want a tv on vacation but it is nice to watch when going to sleep.

The bathroom needs a little work, Not bad but needs a little work.


Overall, we enjoyed our stay and The Sounding. This was our 2nd time staying there and we do recommend it.

  • Stayed: September 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank luvthecape
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2005

We went to Cape Cod during the 3rd week of June, just before schools get out. Perfect timing. Everything was open, but not crowded. We really liked our deluxe ocean view room. Even a side view of the ocean gave us plenty to see from our 2nd story balcony. It made for a peaceful start to each day of our vacation; coffee, the newspaper, and binoculars to watch the boats out on the ocean. We liked having the separate sitting area in the room with a comfortable couch and easy chair. Dennis Port is a great location for touring the Cape. It wasn't far to the beaches on the outer Cape, and it was also close to lots of fun family activities and restaurants.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank connierue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2005

Yes, the rooms are showing their age, but are so clean!!!! We book the first week in January to make sure we get the same rooms each year. The view from the ocean front rooms is excellent, the indoor pool and hot tub are so clean it makes up for the slightly worn appearence of the rooms. We purchase the meal tickets while there and take advantage of the wonderful breakfasts that are served daily in their restaurant. Yes the restaurant is located in with the pool, so it is warm, since you are aware of that, just dress accordingly. The beach is beautiful and the hotel has two small alcoves, so if you want to get away from the worst of the wind, just move your chairs and lounges up closer to the wall. Oh, by the way, the hotel does provide the chairs and lounges for you. No the one and only downfall I have noticed is no coffee pot in the rooms, I went out and purchased a little 4 cup coffee pot at Walmart and bring that with me. They have refrigerators in the room, I store my creamer in there and the coffee pot on top, I bring my own filters, sugar and stirrers. I have to pack snacks anyways, so no big deal. We are definately repeat customers for many years to come.

5  Thank bowsthecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
4.4 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
4.3 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
404 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Breakers on the Ocean
The Breakers on the Ocean
#13 of 19 in Dennis Port
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Beach Resort
Edgewater Beach Resort
#7 of 19 in Dennis Port
202 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection

Address: 79 Chase Ave, Dennis Port, Dennis, MA 02639-2627 (Formerly Soundings Seaside Resort)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range: $67 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Soundings Seaside Hotel Dennis Port
Soundings Seaside Dennis Port
Soundings Dennisport Ma
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing