We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B - Right on the Sound”
Review of By the Sea Guests

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
By the Sea Guests
Ranked #2 of 8 Dennis Port B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Massapequa, New York
Level 6 Contributor
343 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
“Great B&B - Right on the Sound”
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My wife and I and friends stayed at By the Sea for 4 days.
Gotta tell you - its a great place.
Clean, breakfast is terrific and the location is awesome.
You walk out of the sliding doors from the breakfast area and your right on the beach.
Its a small beach but its private, for guests only.
They provide chairs, towels, umbrellas etc.

The rooms are on the smaller side but, if your a beach person it really doesn't matter.

Its centrally located and easy access to Rte 28, restaurants, shops and things.

Were going back in September with the same friends for another 4 days.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joe C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    22
    4
    10
    7
See reviews for
40
82
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed June 18, 2013

This B&B is fabulous, immaculately maintained, has unbeatable breakfast, great clientele, and excellent service. The beach is the best and cleanest in the area. Location is convenient to many restaurants and activities on the Cape. Helen, who is the owner, and her staff are friendly and make you feel right at home.

We found this B&B on the internet and were pleased when it lived up to everything presented on line and more! We just returned home and we're very sorry we had to leave such a restful place. We definitely plan to visit again and would highly recommend this as a vacation destination.

Thank you for a perfect vacation! Jim & Pauline from Minnesota

Room Tip: Choose a room that faces the beach so you can fall asleep to the sound of the surf.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank psanchez0312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed June 12, 2013

Just finished a week at By the Sea, this was our tenth year staying there. Same as always....excellent!!!
Helen and staff make the stay pleasent and comfortable. The breakfast is wonderful with Tom the new chef. Always enjoy the breakfast with the people we meet and in the evening compare notes as to what everyone did during the day.
Hope to return in the fall.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2012

My wife and I have been coming here for 10 years now, and wouldn't go anywhere else. The staff is wonderful and the place itself is so relaxing, warm, and inviting. We love sitting out on the beach or settling in for night, getting some hot tea or coffee and lighting a fire in the common room. It's funny to read any complaints about the water, staff, or place. As if anyone has the power to change the level if seaweed in the ocean. The staff here is welcoming and a delight, and I can guarantee anyone complaining created the issue themselves, didn't get their way, and hence, left a negative review.
10 years, not a single complaint, just happy memories. just like this year! And now we are on our way back home, just left the Inn, and look forward to our stay there for another 10 years. So sad to leave....

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jmast19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2012

Just spent another week at By the Sea, we try to make one trip a year since we found the B&B many years ago, we keep going back because the location is great but the B&B is clean, friendly and the breakfast is great. Helen and the staff are warm and friendly and we feel like we are visiting friends. I think they went out of their way this year and even ordered good weather for us. Can't wait for next year.

Room Tip: Room 308 on the top floor has a great view and is very quite. Leave the windows open a little at ni...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill1944
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbridge, MA
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We stayed at By the Sea this past weekend and it was a wonderful experience. The room was spotless, We slept better than we do at home. The breakfast was superb and the friendliness of the people working the breakfast was just great. By the time we left we felt like friends with the staff. We were treated wonderfully and totally taken care of. We would definitely go back and fully intend to do so next year. I would give them a 5 star rating !!

Ed and Sharon Bakker

Room Tip: We stayed in room 205 on the second floor. Very quiet !!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sharon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ansonia, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2012

My wife and I went up to the Cape on the spur of the moment. Was glad to get a reservation at By The Sea. The place is immaculate. Everyone was great and the Breakfast was wonderfull. Right on the water. What else can you ask for.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnoniaDon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
4.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
254 reviews
5.3 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
602 reviews
0.1 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
0.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
147 reviews
4.7 mi away
Chatham Tides
Chatham Tides
#1 of 1 in South Chatham
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Sea Guests? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Sea Guests

Property: By the Sea Guests
Address: 57 Chase Ave, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By the Sea Guests 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your By the Sea Guests reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Guests Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing