We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“beware of the rude chef and owner who does not take responsibility!!!”
Review of By the Sea Guests

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
By the Sea Guests
Ranked #2 of 8 Dennis Port B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 5, 2012

We visited the B& B for a long weekend and were looking forward to a relaxing stay! While the location on the water is convenient, the staff was far from hospitable!. On our first morning we arrived at breakfast 10 minutes early, we knew we were early and did not asked to be served, but could hear the chef making rude comments in the open kitchen about us. We ignored it, but were quite surprized at the behavior.

The next morning, we were told that breakfast was eggs benedict and asked if we could have our eggs another way. The waitress went back to the open kitchen to asked the chef and he yelled at her, made rude comments about us and continued on saying "this is not a restaurant". We thought that if it was a problem, we simply would have been told "no", instead, the entire veranda could hear the chef making rude comments. The waitress then brought over the eggs bendict anyway. At that point, I walked over the the office and rang the doorbell several times hoping to speak to the owner and resolve the issue calmly, but no one was availble. We decided to leave to avoid any further issues with the chef.

We went out for breakfast down the street and returned to speak to the owner in hopes of resolving the issue. I told her about the behavior both days and asked to be reimbursed the cost of breakfast for that one day. She said "I can't do that, he is new" and continued to make various excuses for him, The chef himself then came into the office and started to yell at me!! The owner still continued to make excuses for him!!

It is not acceptable behavior for an employee to speak over his boss and to a customer that way. A B&B is supposed to run on hospitality and we did not feel that here. When an employee makes a rude comment, mistake, etc, the owner must take responsibility and she did not do so. She could have easily resolved the issue and had us back as repeat customers, instead she made excuse after excuse for her staff's inappropriate behavior. We felt absolutely let down and we wont go back or recommend this place to anyone we know. Thanks for the memories iron chef wannabe!

Room Tip: 307 is ocean view but the window to the view is TINY
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LPT777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (171)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

114 - 120 of 171 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2012

Our first trip to the cape was made even more special by the staff at By the Sea. Marie and Helen were warm and welcoming, they truly roll out the red carpet for you. They made us feel so comfortable that we felt like family. The rooms were nice, the breakfasts were delicious and the hospitality the best. We travel a lot and I have never felt the need to write a review before but our experience was so good we had to share the news!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Angie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

There is so much I can say about this lovely establishment I don't know where to begin. First off, Helen and Marie are wonderful. They treated me and my family like family. Helen's talent and care for her property is supperb. My family stayed in a suite. From the wooden floors, to beautiful furniture, kitchen, and bedding to the decor and views, this place is top notch! It's the little details and Helen's talent on decor that makes this place special. Sylvia is fantastic and attentive to all guests needs. The veranda is beyond wonderful with little cakes, cookies that Sylvia makes, fresh lemonade, tea, water and coffee 24 hours a day gives it that extra touch. Don't worry about bringing chairs, tubes, and beach towels, Helen and team provide it all. Literally you have you own private beach with an outdoor bathroom and cold/hot outside shower. It is beyond clean and safe. I can't say it enough of how much I appreciated their hospitality and as I am sitting home writing this, I miss it so. Thank you so much!!! We will definitely be back!!!

Room Tip: Any room. Suites are all central air. There are games and DVD player in the living room. The kitc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dk6499
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 18, 2012

We had the opportunity to visit and stay for three days, The rooms are very nice, updated and extremely clean! Not a speck of dust in sight! Breakfast on the veranda was a pleasure in and of itself! i would highly recommend this establishment to all!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank midcapeman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We had a wedding on the Cape this weekend & spent 2 nights at By the Sea B & B. I cannot say enough of how beautiful it was, the place is clean & cozy. The breakfasts on the porch were outstanding, and the private beach was also enjoyable. We had a great time talking with the people who run the establishment as well. I am looking forward to my next trip back to By the Sea and would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a B & B in Dennisport.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank maryecrosby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Ever wish you had a relative with a house on the beach? This is the next
best thing! Helen and Niño make you
feel at home, have wonderful stories to
tell, incredible cookies and cakes always
available. Delicious breakfasts, looking out over their gorgeous, always well groomed private beach. No sun, curl up in the living room, with a fire burning and
classical music playing, goodbye to stress! This was our 3rd time there and we weren't the only return visitors! Rooms are clean, well appointed. See for
yourself! Note: this is a beach house and
not fancy!

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cooltrav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 3, 2011

We stayed at the B&B for a 3 night stay. It was right on the ocean. But you could not swim in the ocean because of the heavy seaweeds. Which we were very disappointed. Considering when making the reservation I asked how was the ocean in front of the B&B and was told it was perfect for swimming. That was far from the truth. Our room had a musty odor to it. The bedding always felt damp. The furniture was quite old and needs to be replaced. The breakfast was ok nothing special like other B&B's that we have visited. The pastries were frozen the juice watered down and the coffee was weak. The location of the B&B is far from everything else in Cape Cod.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Katina71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
0.1 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
4.2 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
410 reviews
0 mi away
The Breakers on the Ocean
The Breakers on the Ocean
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Edgewater Beach Resort
Edgewater Beach Resort
#6 of 19 in Dennis Port
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
An English Garden Bed and Breakfast
0.1 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to By the Sea Guests? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about By the Sea Guests

Address: 57 Chase Ave, Dennis Port, Dennis, MA 02639-2627
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Dennis Port
Price Range: $158 - $332 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — By the Sea Guests 3.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your By the Sea Guests reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
By The Sea Guests Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing