We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Will not go back”
Review of The Cutty Sark

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Cutty Sark
Ranked #8 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Bristol, Connecticut
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Will not go back”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed there last year. It was my 1st time at the cape so I didn't know what to expect. Pat was very nice and helpful, however the room was small and not so clean. When we got there, I inspected our bed and found stains on the bed sheets. They were dirty and when I told Pat, he came to the room and saw the stains. He immediately switched us to a different room but it wasn't that clean either. We had no choice but to stay there but won't make that mistake again. We are heading to the cape again next week and hope to find a place that is more clean and still close to the beach...hope this review helps.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mari P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    50
    29
    7
    2
    3
See reviews for
35
34
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Cutty Sark is a family run business that earns an A for family value. It is in walking distance to the beach, has a nice pool and the rooms are very clean and comfortable. The owner Pat McGrath is hands on and is there for you if you should ever need anything. I would highly recommend this fine establishment and we plan on coming back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montpelier
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

The Cutty Sark was exactly what we were looking for; reasonably priced, located across the street from a town beach, and with the right level of amenities! Nice little pool; A/C; microwave and fridge: What else do you need? Staff and owners super friendly and helpful, right up the street from some nice restaurants. Great break from the big chain hotels!

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidAMace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My family has been coming to Dennisport for 25 years, and for the past 3 we've come to the Cutty Sark. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. While they might not be as updated as some might prefer, we're very pleased, especially given the reasonable price ($159 a night in July). We have 2 young children (5 & 2), and this is perfect for them. They absolutely love the pool! It's so clean, and has lots of seating space around it. The minute-walk to the beach takes the prize! Raycroft Beach is small, but everyone is so friendly! For people that complained about seaweed, they have obviously never been to a Dennisport Beach before! That's part of Cape Cod's charm. I highly recommend the Cutty Sark, and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Cbrooks826
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2011

Stayed with family. Loved the location. The room was very clean, great service, friendly staff and several beaches within a short walk. The price was right & will be staying again next fall. Thanks Cuttysark!

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garyg2675
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 10, 2011

After Boston we made our way to Cape Cod where we stayed at the Cutty Sark in Dennisport. The location was great and the beach was right across the street. We booked two rooms, both very clean, up to date and reasonably priced. The rooms had mini refrigerators and also microwaves which were a nice convenience as sometimes we came back from restaurants with leftovers. The beach was right across the street & closer than it appeared on the website. It was also a very tranquil setting which was a nice bonus since we were unfamiliar with the general location. It sites along a road that runs parallel to the shoreline with a mixture of residential homes and a few other motels. We never used the pool but it looked pretty nice. We would definitely stay at the Cutty Sark again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Everett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2011

I am not sure why this is rated so high by everyone. I am actually shocked that it is listed so high. It is close to the beach and Pat was nice but other than that this place is so run down. The carpet looks really old, the towels are the size of a tea towel. The room is REALLY small with no where to put your luggage, the beds were hard and it was not really clean. The handle on the faucet broke off when I turned on the water one morning. It is just really run down and if that is what you are looking for then by all means this is the place for you. The positives are the proximity to the beach and that it was quiet, other wise I would not recommend this place.

Room Tip: None, don't stay here,
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Nancy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
3402.5 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
3407.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
3408.9 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3402.7 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
3403.6 mi away
The Club at Cape Cod
The Club at Cape Cod
#5 of 19 in Dennis Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 54 reviews
3402.8 mi away
Holiday Hill Motor Inn
Holiday Hill Motor Inn
#10 of 19 in Dennis Port
4.0 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Cutty Sark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cutty Sark

Property: The Cutty Sark
Address: 396 Old Wharf Rd, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2522
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — The Cutty Sark 2*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Cutty Sark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cutty Sark Hotel Dennis Port
Cutty Sark Dennis Port
The Cutty Sark Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing