We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Third Time - Still Great” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Old Landing Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Old Landing Motel
Ranked #2 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Certificate of Excellence
AMSTERDAM
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our Third Time - Still Great”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

This is a bit late -- we stayed mid-Sept. of 2012. This was our third stay. If you are looking for ultra-modern with plush amenities this ain't it. But if you are looking for a super clean, comfortable room with Old Cape Cod charm -- jackpot! We go to the Cape to enjoy the beach, dining, and relaxed atmosphere that can only be experienced after Labor Day, and David Maslin and the Old Landing Motel always deliver. David is helpful and friendly, and I don't understand reviews to the contrary. But some guests are rude, crude and annoying, and can't be pleased no matter how hard you try. Old Landing Motel is small, but cozy, very clean, not fancy and pretentious. We don't go to the Cape to sit in a motel room. The beach is the most important feature, and it is steps away, clean, with plenty of room even at high tide. The motel's location is central, so you're not spending a lot of time in your car. We even walked to one of Dennisport's best restaurant from The Old Landing. Just expect clean, comfy, and chill out and treat David like a human being instead of your servant. You'll have a relaxing vacation in the salt air and be recharged when you go back to "the mainland". Best of all, prices drop after Labor Day!!

Room Tip: Not all rooms have A/C. But in September, with the good cross ventilation in the rooms, you don'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    177
    46
    17
    9
    14
See reviews for
83
104
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Laconia, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 8, 2013

Upon arrival, we found the property was less then desirable. As we drove through prior to checking in, we noticed how run-down and univiting the property looked. We asked if we could cancel our reservation and go elsewhere but the owner informed us that he would not refund our deposit. (we would have lost close to $500). Against our better judgement, we checked in. Big mistake!! The beds were small and uncomfortable, outdated and dirty looking bed covers, lumpy pillows, dirty carpet, ripped screens, old dressers, and our door did not lock and unlock properly. The back door to the office was left open and we could easily see inside as we walked by on our way to the pool area. Open bottles of liquor were all over the place and it certainly was not a place where I felt comfortable having my grand children walk by. Upon checking out, the owner sarcastically asked if we enjoyed ourselves. I told him we did not. He responded by using profanity when referring to me, and saying"I don't care".

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Gregory2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Texas
Level Contributor
530 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 228 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

Our stay here ended our two week New England trip in style. End of their season as he closed the place up after we left. Great owner, really helpful and friendly. Very quiet, show a bit of age, but well worth the price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank joedvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burlington, Vermont
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2012

We chose this place based on reviews here...and in the end didn't end up being very impressed at all. We did not find the manager helpful..from questions about the area or requests. This place is an average motel in a really great spot ( right by the beach)..but we found the customer service to be very lacking. I don't think this is the worst place by any means, but I would not recommend to anyone and I definitely would not go back.

Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Steph1127
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2012

After staying at the Old Landing recently, all I can say is WOW! I was
so impressed. My fiance and I stayed at the Old Landing recently for
two nights in one of the ocean view rooms. It was beautiful!! The view
was gorgeous, the beach was so close it was like in our backyard, and best of all, it was so private and serene! The room was so clean and comfortable, you just feel
like you're in such a picturesque place of utter tranquility. We went
to bed listening to the gentle sounds of the waves. We had a truly wonderful
stay. David, the innkeeper, was so nice and friendly to us. He gives
you a lot of information on nearby attractions and he even made us
delicious cappuccinos in the morning! I would definitely recommend this place to anyone visiting Cape Cod and I can’t wait to return again.

Room Tip: Would highly recommend the upper level ocean-view rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Isabelle S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed two nights and we were impressed by the large immaculate clean room (room # 17) with an ocean view. The bed was very comfortable. The colors of the room were most soothing, white, and a lovely turquoise blue. The manager, David, was very friendly and did everything to make our stay pleasant. His assistant, Alina, added many nice little extras , like flowers on the towels, and tissues folded into origami roses. The room was literally a stone's throw from the beach, with a private walkway to the ocean. Altogether, it was a really nice experience at a good price. We can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Upper floor rooms have an ocean view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Henry K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 17, 2012

If I am lucky, I get to spend a couple of days here every year or so.

The location right at a small beach is perfect for a low-key visit. You can get to all sorts of restaurants and shopping, as well as the rest of the Cape, very conveniently.

I noticed some redecorating, new paint, etc., though the rooms have always been spotless.

As has been mentioned frequrently, one of the main draws here is the innkeeper, David, always a pleasure to talk to -- and drink excellent coffee with.

Room Tip: I love the rooms at the back that look over the parking lot to the beach. There are two trees there...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lcsumner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
0.8 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
3.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
0.6 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Club at Cape Cod
The Club at Cape Cod
#6 of 19 in Dennis Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 53 reviews
0.8 mi away
Edgewater Beach Resort
Edgewater Beach Resort
#4 of 19 in Dennis Port
4.0 of 5 bubbles 186 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
3.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Landing Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Landing Motel

Property: Old Landing Motel
Address: 15 Sea St, at Sea Street Beach, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2414
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
#3 Family Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Landing Motel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Landing Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Landing Hotel Dennis Port
Hotel Old Landing
Old Landing Motel Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing