We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor Service”
Review of Clancy's

Clancy's
Ranked #8 of 48 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: American, Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Scenic view, Families with children, Bar scene, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Syracuse, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Poor Service”
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We went to Clancy's last night to celebrate our daughter's birthday. We had about a 20 minute wait and headed to the bar for drinks. The bar tender was terrific and started our evening on a high note. After a short wait we were seated out on the porch. Our waiter appeared, handed us the menus, and made a comment to the fact we had our drinks and disappeared. After looking at the menu we decided on some appetizers to start our dinner. When our waiter showed up he asked if we needed anything and was about to leave. Our daughter had to stop him and say we wanted to order some appetizers .. He took our order and when the food came out that was the last we saw of him for a long time. We finally asked one of the bus boys to find him. He finally came out and made a comment that he let us wait a little too long...no apologies. By now it is dark out and the lighting on the deck was very low and made seeing our entrees difficult. We asked for a candle for our table instead we were given a UFO shaped LED light! Our entrees came out nearly a half hour later. It's really a shame that our service was so poor as the food was very good. The real kicker to all of this though was when we told 2 managers about our poor service their response was "really, Matt is one of our best waiters, customers ask for him" and that was it. No apologies, nothing. Sorry Clancy's but we won't be returning and our $150 tab is still smarting.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nlgh50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    189
    73
    49
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
12401
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
Reviewed August 31, 2013 via mobile

We had dinner there last night and the food was delicious! Our waiter Matt was very personable and sweet. Everyone in our party loved their dish. The food came out hot and flavorful. I would definitely recommend this place for your next visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank squire67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brewster, MA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“not so good this winter”
Reviewed August 30, 2013

We have eaten at Clancy's many times over the years. Mostly it has been great. We've taken
others there too and recommended it - but will not any longer.
This winter I took my mom there for her big birthday. Her meal was fine. My meal was awful.
There was a lot of grissle in the veal. Then they told me she got a free desert for her birthday. When the bill came they had charged us for her desert. I talked to the waiter who was unhappy about taking the charge off the bill.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank deb_gigi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fletcher, Vermont
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Beautiful outdoor dining”
Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

A little pricey, but the food was delicious. Very friendly staff. We enjoyed lunch outside with a lovely view of the river. We would eat here again.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Heidi H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, New York
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent dinner”
Reviewed August 21, 2013

Went here our last night on the Cape, and it was the best diner we had. The clam chowder was excellent, the broiled scallops were amazing as was the broiled seafood sampler. I fell in love with their rolls. Our waiter was charming and efficient. The key is to get there early. We arrived between 5:30/5:45 and were seated immediately at a table with a view. The bathroom, which is often a sign of a quality restaurant was immaculate.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ponine23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clancy's also viewed

 
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Clancy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing