We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor service, mediocre food, high prices”
Review of Clancy's

Clancy's
Ranked #8 of 48 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $38
Cuisines: American, Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Takeout
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Poor service, mediocre food, high prices”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

Our visit to Clancy's last night was a disaster. We were a large party, and our server clearly wasn't competent to handle this. It took forever to get him to take our orders. Drinks took even longer to arrive. Water glasses weren't refilled, and meals were given to the wrong diner. When I asked our server to get me a clean knife and fork, he told me "I have already given you silverware" and he refused to give me a clean set up! The food was incredibly salty and tasted like cheap margarine. At $25 a plate, I expect better than Red Lobster quality. All in all, a really bad experience. We won't be back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

535 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    190
    189
    73
    49
    34
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Rochester
Level 6 Contributor
177 reviews
114 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Seafood on a pond”
Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Ate here with friends- service was great and seafood was very good. Prices comp. to rest of island seafood- had 1 1/4 steamed lobster for $23. Very tasty! Was on the fence Because of lobster roll reviews but was not disappointed. Husband had a fantastic fish and chips.

Dined outside, 45 min wait for 6 people and worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fresh seafood”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Recently went with family to Clancy's for dinner as a couple of us were looking forward to good seafood and onion rings. We ordered the onion rings as an appetizer and by the time the food came we were almost too full to eat! Onion rings were good, but not great. Dinners included scallops, swordfish, and salmon and although the portions were large they were average in taste. The waiter was fun and attentive, sitting on the deck was nice although try not to sit next to the door.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Simple food, good prices, very nice setting”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Old old-time favorite on the mid-Cape, Clancy's has expanded and kept up-to-date over the years. Its a welcome retreat. Great for couples, families and groups. Lots of different kinds of seating. And you have to try the lobster roll here. There is so much lobster meat I swear one roll could easily serve two. Well worth the price. We always try to hit Clancy's at least once during our summer trips to the Cape.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, Tennessee
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Service missing”
Reviewed August 3, 2013

Clancy's is a nice restaurant, but in the afternoon the distractions of the river traffic seemed to create a crowd of staff around the windows. We were in early for dinner, having skipped lunch. Inept boaters on the river were matched by the staff. I observed a loan diner near our table repeatedly try to gain the attention of her server, who was intent upon watching the boaters and had tuned out all else. Our service was reasonable and the food was good, but I felt oppressed by the multitude of gawking staff looking over us to see outside.
Clancy's staff: you failed!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Clancy's also viewed

 
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing