We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best”
Review of Swan River Seafood

Swan River Seafood
Ranked #17 of 48 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Price range: $9 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine, Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Takeout
Boston
1 review
“One of the best”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I've spent the last 17 years sampling seafood across the cape and my favorite spot to return to is Swan River. The views are breathtaking, especially when you go around sunset and are able to enjoy the beautiful colors reflecting off the water. More than that the food itself is top notch. I have never left dissapointed regardless of my meal. Finally the staff is very accomidating and provide a nice atmosphere I suggest any reader to give it a shot either as a romantic destination or with the whole family.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jake h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    84
    69
    30
    27
    28
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness
Level Contributor
233 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
“Seafood Wellington - don't do it!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

I'm afraid this place is grim. I don't often have bad meals so this seafood wellington came as a bit of a shock to the system.

Seafood Welllington sounded an odd but possibly interesting choice. However it was in fact disgusting heavy mess of melted cream cheese mixed in with scallop, lobster, and shrimp. The wellington was surrounded with a cheese sauce which had to have come from a packet. Imagine the sort of cheap sauce you get on some macaroni and you get the picture. Throw in some cold baked potatoes and now you really get the picture. I thought this meal was a crime against taste!
The crab cakes were OK but certainly not great.

Service was OK.

The view out the window is very nice. The actual restaurant is functional but not really cosy, romantic or anything.

I'm afraid I will never eat here again. Might have been a bad choice on my part but the wellington should not be on the menu.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Will_HInverness
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hackettstown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Got take out”
Reviewed August 24, 2012

Ordered the fried seafood platter, and the lobster roll. Both were so big, that my husband and I (both big eaters), could not finish, and both were GREAT. Really close to the Lighthouse Inn, and truly, very good. Next time, we want to try to eat in the restaurant.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jazzmn74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
44 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Tasty Fish”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

This is a good restaurant to go to with the family, as they have several large tables (we were seated at a round one, making conversation easy) and the place is big enough to get seated pretty easily. Our server was clearly inexperienced, but her sweet personality made up for that. I had the honey/almond encrusted cod which was delicious. Other party members had a seafood combo, burgers, chicken, and a kids' macaroni and cheese. All were happy with their choices. The clam chowder, though, was terrible with big, soggy chunks of potato and not enough clams. The restaurant also has outdoor seating with a nice view of Swan River. This can also be seen from inside the restaurant as there are big windows running the length of the room. There is a separate lounge/bar area that looks inviting and comfortable.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Claire D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Connecticut
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“great for takeout lobsters”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

i do highly recommend this place for takeout if you are staying nearby and want cooked lobster. really good and no mess in your rental. we ate in the restaurant tonight for the third time in as many years, and it still lives up to the reviews-- salads are as boring as possible and made well in advance and served in ice cold bowls (yuck, cold singular grape tomato and tasteless single slice of cuke). we ordered pasta and burgers tonight and were pleasantly surprised. pasta with chicken and broccoli was devoured, and burger was cooked perfectly (asked for rare and it was rare but not raw). service was perfectly fine for a monday night, no crowds and no Claude.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Darien06820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan River Seafood also viewed

Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Swan River Seafood? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing