We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fresh”

Ocean House Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 48 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $20
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Business meetings, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
New Haven, Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Fresh”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Beautiful atmosphere with an unbeatable view. However, so so crowded and noisy. Best to go in off season if possible! Food is light, fresh and tasty.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    550
    180
    57
    23
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food breathtaking views”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Came here to celebrate my husbands birthday during our stay on the cape, we were seated at a great table with the most amazing views. The food was great although a bit pricey for the portions, a wonderful spot for special occassions

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Excellent location and great food with beautiful views”
Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

The staff was very accommodating from the getgo. The bar staff at the outdoor bar were happy and ready to make recommendations. The drinks were fantastic and the views just as good. We were seated at a window table and surprised by the gorgeous views. I felt like I was in the Carribean not the Cape. My husband had the bass and I had the lobster ravioli. Delicious, creative and house made. The calamari was also tasty. Great overall experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CCullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Centerville, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Great view, unhappy bartenders”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

The main restaurant is not open during the day, but you can hit the Beach Bar out back and enjoy the vistas. Atmosphere is fun since hotel guests can walk across the lawn from the rooms and belly up. But the bartenders are not very attentive and seem to just be slogging through their day. Not engaging and make it seem like you are interrupting their task of replacing the olives. The drinks re very good however, try the Blueberry Lemon Drop or the sangria--both perfect.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank J L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sarasota, Florida, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Not the same”
Reviewed July 20, 2014

We usually go to the Ocean House every year, but this will be our last time. We ordered calamari, which turned out to be a huge order of fried breading. It was impossible to find any of the calamari in it. Entree's were average, Cocktails were expensive for what was ordered. The view is fantastic, the room is extremely noisy. We asked to speak with the manager, and were told he/she was unavailable. A very disappointing experience.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Andrew V, Manager at Ocean House Restaurant, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Richard,

We do apologize for your disassociation. The calamari is a restaurant classic that has been very popular for many years. Your concern was brought to our attention and we regret that we were not able to address in person before your departure.

Regards,
Ocean House Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ocean House Restaurant also viewed

 
Harwich Port, Harwich
Harwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to Ocean House Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing