We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“my other favorite place on the cape”

Chapin's Fish 'n Chips
Ranked #19 of 46 Restaurants in Dennis Port
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Norwood, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“my other favorite place on the cape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2014

along with the Wooden Shoe in Dennisport. great, friendly staff. good, live music every night during summer. great place to have some cocktails after a day on the beach. food is good but get there early as it gets very busy, especially on the weekends. the restaurant side is very family friendly!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slainte7777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    49
    26
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
47 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Chapin's Fish & Chips, we call it the Beach Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

This is the summertime gem of Lower County Road. Flocks of families with small children dominate the restaurant dinner tables (inside and out) all summer. But the big, rectangular bar in its own room is the meeting place for a mixture of thirty-somethings with late 50-somethings in a chatty, upbeat atmosphere. Seeing it ranked below bakeries, pizza, and hot dog joints is grossly unfair.
Try World Cup soccer here on an easy afternoon, surrounded by knowledgeable former players and parents of current collegiate players. Oh, and they have food too, way beyond just fish and chips, there are great dinners served most informally.
The menu of the once great "fancy Clancy's" on Upper County is alive and well at the Beach Bar. Miss those boneless buffalo wings, or the Irish Mixed Grill, or a stuffed lobster salad roll for under $20? Chapin's has them all.
The bartenders are youngish but long-term at this bar. They are uniformly good-humored, excellent at their craft, and entertaining. The place is like Cheers.
Alas, the season ends at Labor Day, and but for a few weekends, we all wait 'til May.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GarrethJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Casual and Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

First we had a drink at the bar then sat outside for dinner. We all started with chowda which was amazing. Although we were full we still all ordered apps. We had wings, a stuffed quahog, calamari, stuffed shrimp. Everything was amazing and the quahog was massive. The service and drinks were great. THe bar scene was lively and we stayed for the live band. The live music had everyone dancing and interacting.

Great time overall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cait E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
33 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Nice place for outside dining”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 4, 2013

We enjoy alfresco dining and this is one of the best on the cape. The service is sometimes a little sketchy as the waitresses are not especially attentive, but the food is very good. Because it was so good, both times we were there we ordered the chicken saute and requested linguine instead of the penne on the menu. This meal was delicious and included asparagus. The weather had gotten a little chilly for late August by 7:30 at night but we both had sweatshirts to keep us warm. Inside always looks rather crowded and claustrophobic, but the outside deck is delightful.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank LuluTheCommish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glastonbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
210 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“You Get a Lot for a Little”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Generous portions at a ridiculously low price. I doubt you'll find quality seafood for much less. Service was prompt and courteous.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Gene N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chapin's Fish 'n Chips also viewed

Dennis Port, Cape Cod
Dennis Port, Cape Cod
 

Been to Chapin's Fish 'n Chips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing