We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A waste of time”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
boston
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A waste of time”
Reviewed August 21, 2006

This place is a dump not on the ocean, across the street from the ocean with limited view from the resort.

I went on a time-share tour and they did not even show a model unit (makes you wonder why). I peaked inside a unit while it was being cleaned - it was really, really dumpy. The free gifts were a SCAM. The $100 free gas (laughing) - they give you an application to send in with the $10 at a time, you must send in the application and a $10 receipt back and forth and you get a $10 check each time you complete the process. The COMPLIMENTARY cruise - you need $50/pp to get a travel request form, you send the travel request form back with 3 dates, if the 3 dates are not available your trip is null. you have 30 days to send the first $50/pp. This does not include port fees or taxes and any upgrades you choose cannot be guaranteed. A WASTE OF TIME.

  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sherrye777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    35
    14
    10
    16
See reviews for
38
40
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed June 28, 2006

I went to the Breakers for a time-share pitch. Several of my family members own time-share and I thought I would look into owning as well. I arrived at the Breakers and was a little taken back by the facility right from the start. They had remodeled one facility, which looked more like a motel than a resort. It was a huge disappointment! The rooms I was shown were located in the new building built across the street from the beach. Most of the view was of a parking lot. One room did have a view of the beach, but you had to tilt your head to see it. The units were small and didn't have much as far as accommodations go. The area in which I was taken to hear the whole pitch was frightening. They said that they were going to renovate this area as well. Boy, did it need it! I couldn’t believe that they were charging people (at a reduced rate of $75.00) to stay there for checking out their time-share place. One look at the place would have made me run. It looked like something from the projects. The pitch was designed to make you feel like an idiot if you didn't buy their time-share. Frankly, I think if you invest money into the Breakers, you are in for trouble. The place doesn’t deserve a minute of your time. The "gifts" I was given were outdated and could not be used. The $100. 00 gift certificate is worthless. In order to get any money back (in increments of $10 every 30 plus days) you have to send in a form perfectly filled out and wait to hear back from them. When you finally hear back (months later), you have to get (exactly to the penny) $10 of gas and get a receipt for it. Then you send it into the company with yet another form (perfectly filled out) and wait 4-6 weeks. After that, if they feel you did everything correctly (if not, they throw your information away and do not contact you) you are sent a check for $10 and are given the next certificate to get $10 in gas. The process continues . . . You are given 18 months to use your coupons. Given the time restraints, you would never get the $100 in cash. The vacation for 2 is even worse. The first thing you have to do is go on line and register. That wouldn't be so bad, except when I put in the number they gave me it came up invalid. Therefore, I have a worthless piece of paper. On the bright side of all this . . . the Cape is a beautiful place to take a day trip.

  • Stayed June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dennis Port hotels

A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed March 3, 2006

I made reservations for my family in early June 2005 to stay at the Breakers in July. I was told that there was a pool (which was a big hole in the ground, with water the shade of green, not swimmable yuck). I was also told that my room had a great view of the ocean. The view was from a lower level unit looking at a parking lot. The beach was nice, but that was the only good part. Other than that it was a waste of time, and I ended up getting more headaches because they were also doing some minor renovations which we were never told about. If I knew any of this I would have never have giving them my credit card in the first place, and I would have called another motel, and hopefully they were telling me the truth about everything going on at their resort. Anything to get a buck. If they told the truth of what was going on with their property, maybe I would stay there in the future, when all the renovations were done!! The Breakers definitely lost a future guest, and I'm not going to ever recommend them either. You need to be up front in the begining. Customer service is not a priority at this motel.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Old Lyme, CT
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2005

We took our family of five to the Breakers for an overnight to meet up with our cousins from the Mid-West. They were staying next door at a B&B. My twelve year old son thought the room was disgusting. There was mold growing in and around the tub and corners of the bathroom. Signs of water damage was on the bathroom door and the ceiling. The pool was green and there was no way I was going to allow my children to swim in it. I never saw anyone in it the whole time we were there. The front desk staff was extremely rude. I forgot to bring my hair dryer and I wanted to borrow one - they don't have one! I have never had this happen at any other hotel/motel. In all we were glad it was only one night - never again.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
18 Thank shoe5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 10, 2005

My girlfriend and I arrived at the Breakers in Dennisport, MA on the 5th of July, 2005 and checked out on the 8th of July, 2005. The rooms at the Breakers are inexpensive, however a complete waste of time and money. The "motel" has changed their strategy to be more focused on selling their units as condominiums rather than putting time and effort into things like customer service and maintaining the property. The views from this motel are breathtaking views of Nantucket Sound, but that and a friendly & courteous cleaning staff were the only positives I can say about the Breakers. Tom, the owner/manager was very courteous when I stayed at the Sea Lord in 2004, but was a tough person to speak to on this particular visit - especially when it relates to being unsatisfied with the property he manages. The property has some sort of affiliation with "mini vacations" which I believe is a corporation that sells condos. On the evening of the 5th I visited the lobby of the motel to inquire about getting a partial refund and checking out of the motel early. I was told that the owner had left for the evening and the receoptionist promised that I would be contacted by the owner at 8 am the next morning.....I never heard back from either the receptionist or owner. What really upset me was that I later saw the owner standing in the lobby but the receptionist never mentioned anything to him when I walked into the lobby to ask an unrelated question. The property itself is not being very well maintained - the swimming pool water had a greenish color. The most activity I saw at this motel were by construction workers that were renovating the ocean front suites and by the director of marketing who spends much of his time pacing the beach in attempt to find individuals who would be interested in buying a unit. I have already advised family members and friends who planned on staying here to look elsewhere on the Cape. It is unfortunate that what had been a very nice place to stay has not been taken care of. I'm sure it's not the current owner's faulth entirely, but you should at least be informed that the swimming pool is not in condition to be used and that the motel is undergoing major renovations. I'm sure that once the work is complete and the units have been sold off, the Breakers will be a very nice condo to stay at. Also, what type of motel doesn't inquire about how your stay was when you check out? Sorry Breakers, but that's just poor customer service. Perhaps I'm just one of many unsatisfied customers?

Stayed July 2005
Helpful?
28 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed July 12, 2004

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Breakers on the Ocean from July 7 to July 9th. We were promised an Ocean Front View of the Breakers on the Ocean what we got was a Sand Dune. The people at the Front Desk were rude and barely acknowledged us when we were to check in. To top it all off the Sinks in the bathroom were leaking water on the Floor.
I recommend all that read this review to not stay at the Breakers on the Ocean the place would be a waste of your money.

Helpful?
32 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
E. Providence, RI
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2004

We booked June 8,9,10 to take advantage of off season, mid week special, advertised in Prov. Journal. Were told by telephone reservation clerk that all ocean view rooms that were advertised were taken, so we settled for last two "Economy Rooms". When we arrived the place looked deserted and I asked if there were any cancellations so we could upgrade to an ocean view.
We were told there were none. I then asked desk clerk if there were any cancellations during our stay to please upgrade us. That event never happened. What I learned during our stay was that a time share hotel on the same street uses The Breakers to house their customers. What happened is 90% of their customers did not show, so the rooms they reserved at The Breakers were empty. Meanwhile, we were not offerred an upgrade, even though the Hotel had ocean view rooms empty. This management policy is no way to win repeat customers, and advertising oceanview specials in the newspaper when none are available is also bad policy.

Helpful?
32 Thank Athena the Godess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
8.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
4.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
247 reviews
8.9 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
3.2 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
282 reviews
9.9 mi away
Cape Codder Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers on the Ocean

Property: The Breakers on the Ocean
Address: 61 Chase Ave, P.O. Box 1131, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2627
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Breakers on the Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story rustic Motor Inn, ocean view or ocean front guest rooms, sandy beach; located 5 miles from HYA airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Breakers on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Dennis Port
The Breakers On Ocean
The Breakers On The Ocean Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing