We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice Get Away”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #10 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Groton, Connecticut
Level Contributor
41 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Nice Get Away”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2012

Nice timesheet located next to the beach. Was greeted by staff upon arrival. Room was equipped w/ all necessary anemities. The town near the resort is small and quiet. Many of the restaurants listed in the guest services book were closed down...maybe seasonal. Overall good stay.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lightskin_leroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    34
    14
    9
    15
See reviews for
37
38
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ashburn, Virginia
Level Contributor
151 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2012

We found this place two years ago when we booked a room at another nearby place that disappointed us so much that we bailed. The front desk was accommodating and our stay was great. So when we decided to go back for a second time, we contacted them to book a room. This process took months and months because they weren't organized enough to be able to give us a room and confirm where and when something was available. Once the reservation was finally complete, we were happy... until check-out. At check-out they said the room was more than what they quoted to us, we then showed them the e-mail confirmation and they gave us the rate that they originally quoted.
Enough negative comments.
The property is very nice and clean. The rooms are nicely decorated and comfortable. The location is great, it's on the beach and there is a park within walking distance behind the property. We will continue to try to go back, and hopefully booking our room will become easier.

Room Tip: The loft rooms over the office are great for families.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laguna5243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
89 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2012

A quiet weekend to the Cape was the plan of the weekend. Had never been and hoped we would have a great time. We did!
The Breakers made the perfect rest stop for all activities. Day trips were easy to do from The Breakers as were walks along the beach. Nearby restaurants were easily accessed and the people were great (La Scala Italian restaurant/bar-thanks!).
The unit we had was ocean front: two bedrooms with a kitchen/eating area, master bed, living space, indoor garden tub and outdoor deck - all faced the ocean. Couldn't have asked for better views (esp. sunrise!) and ocean sounds as a constant backdrop.
The staff was pleasant and housekeeping staff do a great job with the units and the property.
Thanks The Breakers!

Room Tip: The rooms vary in accommodations and you can pick what best suites your needs. Some rooms are ava...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bazrj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Fairfield, Connecticut, United States
Level Contributor
49 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

There are a wonderful assortment of things to do that are near to the Breakers. The Kreme & Kone Restaurant, The Sundae School ice cream, and downtown Harwich and Chatham. The staff is very attentive and all our needs were taken care of. We have been back six years in a row.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank J0eMay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yardley, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2012

We bought our timeshare 6 years ago. Out of the past 6 years we have used our time during Christmas. We travel to different places each year. This was the first year that our experience was terrible. I spoke with Raye (manager) on three different occasions. I explained to her that our daughter, her husband and baby would be joining us. She assured me that we would have the following: two rooms with queen bed, crib, view over looking the ocean and balcony. When we arrived they said "our" room did Not have heat but there was a room ready for us and the heat would be fixed the next day and we could move. Here is what we got: one queen bed, two twins,no crib,no ocean view and no balcony. The next day the front desk told me that "our" room would not be fixed. I said, "Raye has known for over a week when we were arriving why wasn't the heater fixed ahead of time?" The girl at the front desk said, " we didn't promise you anything." I said, "Raye gave me her word I would hope that would be good enough." well, it wasn't and we never received what was told to me. They really just didn't care. I would the that the manager's word would be sufficient.....but not in this case. Huge disappointment

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
16 Thank Teagan39
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dennis Port hotels

Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We have been to the cape many times but this was our first stay and the breakers. It was wonderful to be so close to the ocean and got to enjoy this warm december with walks on the beach. The condos were recently updated very comfortable and clean. We had a very large one bedroom unit with a small patio. The staff was all very kind and helpfull. Would definitely go back. The only negitive would be that sound seems to carry easily and that there is a quiet time. We had a family with small children above running but once "quiet time" began we never heard a peep from them. All and all a great location and we had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisah716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
85 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

The picture you see on the website with the face/front of the buildings are 1BR units only and are ocean front with a pool betwee you and the ocean. Nice but did not go inside. The resort has both ocean side and street side units. Be specific when booking.
Note: Units 100A and 100B are 2BR units ocean FRONT and actually a separate stand alone building facing the ocean vs the main building - from my perspective PRIME units and would request if you have an option and need 2 BR units. The majority of the units which the Breakers Resort has are 2 BR units. Our unit, 104-a 2BR, was on ocean side of the street, with ocean views on the 1st level. The unit living space, and I think with all units from what I read, have hard wood floors. The primary BR had a King bed and the second BR had twin beds. We asked maintenance to join the beds together which they did without any hesitancy.
Keep in mind you WILL hear you neighbor's every step above you and with anyone who may have a younger child - I can imagine you will hear every jump and every run made by them from one room to the other. We had adults above us who sometimes I wished would sit down and relax instead of pace back and forth - but they did retire early in the night by 11 pm and all remained quite until 6 am. Our kinda timeline as well.,
The front desk was nice to us and responsive to any requests we made. They are a younger set - but we did not have any issues with their level of experience or felt disregarded with our needs as they arose.
Housekeeping was kind, attentive, and ensured we were taken care of. As we had traded into this resort - we did not know some things that were nice. Daily, they made the beds, pulled trash, and exchanged towels for fresh ones. On Tuesdays, they cleaned the apartment and changed bed linens. We were taken care of with toiletries and coffee daily as well, and as requested.
We enjoyed the location of the Breakers Resort being near the restaurant - Ocean House. We enjoyed the town of Dennis Port. We enjoyed our location being near main street (Rt 28), and Buckies Bakery and Cafe, Clancies restaurant, Keltic Corner restaurant. I never felt many things were far from us. A short drive to Route 6A (scenic highway), or the Cape Cod bay side, or Hyannis Port, Chatham, etc.
We would be happy to stay again at this location. Being more familiar with the layout, I would request 100A or 100B if possible-but would not refuse any of the units on the ocean side of the street. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Request Ocean side of street, request 100A or 100B for direct ocean front if needing 2BR, and if 1BR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TarheelBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
0.1 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
8.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
4.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
7.9 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
3.2 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers on the Ocean

Property: The Breakers on the Ocean
Address: 61 Chase Ave, P.O. Box 1131, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2627
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Breakers on the Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story rustic Motor Inn, ocean view or ocean front guest rooms, sandy beach; located 5 miles from HYA airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Breakers on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Dennis Port
The Breakers On Ocean
The Breakers On The Ocean Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing