We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great get away on the cape” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Breakers on the Ocean

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Breakers on the Ocean
Ranked #11 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Waterbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great get away on the cape”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2011

We have been to the cape many times but this was our first stay and the breakers. It was wonderful to be so close to the ocean and got to enjoy this warm december with walks on the beach. The condos were recently updated very comfortable and clean. We had a very large one bedroom unit with a small patio. The staff was all very kind and helpfull. Would definitely go back. The only negitive would be that sound seems to carry easily and that there is a quiet time. We had a family with small children above running but once "quiet time" began we never heard a peep from them. All and all a great location and we had a great time.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank lisah716
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    33
    14
    9
    15
See reviews for
36
36
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Durham, NC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 16, 2011

The picture you see on the website with the face/front of the buildings are 1BR units only and are ocean front with a pool betwee you and the ocean. Nice but did not go inside. The resort has both ocean side and street side units. Be specific when booking.
Note: Units 100A and 100B are 2BR units ocean FRONT and actually a separate stand alone building facing the ocean vs the main building - from my perspective PRIME units and would request if you have an option and need 2 BR units. The majority of the units which the Breakers Resort has are 2 BR units. Our unit, 104-a 2BR, was on ocean side of the street, with ocean views on the 1st level. The unit living space, and I think with all units from what I read, have hard wood floors. The primary BR had a King bed and the second BR had twin beds. We asked maintenance to join the beds together which they did without any hesitancy.
Keep in mind you WILL hear you neighbor's every step above you and with anyone who may have a younger child - I can imagine you will hear every jump and every run made by them from one room to the other. We had adults above us who sometimes I wished would sit down and relax instead of pace back and forth - but they did retire early in the night by 11 pm and all remained quite until 6 am. Our kinda timeline as well.,
The front desk was nice to us and responsive to any requests we made. They are a younger set - but we did not have any issues with their level of experience or felt disregarded with our needs as they arose.
Housekeeping was kind, attentive, and ensured we were taken care of. As we had traded into this resort - we did not know some things that were nice. Daily, they made the beds, pulled trash, and exchanged towels for fresh ones. On Tuesdays, they cleaned the apartment and changed bed linens. We were taken care of with toiletries and coffee daily as well, and as requested.
We enjoyed the location of the Breakers Resort being near the restaurant - Ocean House. We enjoyed the town of Dennis Port. We enjoyed our location being near main street (Rt 28), and Buckies Bakery and Cafe, Clancies restaurant, Keltic Corner restaurant. I never felt many things were far from us. A short drive to Route 6A (scenic highway), or the Cape Cod bay side, or Hyannis Port, Chatham, etc.
We would be happy to stay again at this location. Being more familiar with the layout, I would request 100A or 100B if possible-but would not refuse any of the units on the ocean side of the street. Enjoy your stay!

Room Tip: Request Ocean side of street, request 100A or 100B for direct ocean front if needing 2BR, and if 1BR...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank TarheelBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, MA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2011

Booked a room with a 'queen' bed. The room was about 8 feet wide and 15 feet long. The 'queen' bed was a pulldown in the hall. Three days after returning we have a $250 charge on our card apparently because our neighbors were smoking outdoors while the sliding door on our room was open. Live and learn.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank kjk727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dennis Port hotels

naples
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was our first time at the Breakers, we used a friend's timeshare. It was a wonderful location right on the beach and the accomodations were nice. Condos were nice, clean and all staff was very responsive. Pools were clean, towels provided. This is not luxurious but all you need for a day at the beach. Would definitely go again. The one problem we had was in the master bedroom: the air conditioner was a foot away from the head of the bed and at the same level as the bed. There was no way to have it on and not blow air all over the person on that side. If you like to sleep with the doors open it helps. There are BBQ grills outside for all to use which was a nice plus.

Room Tip: Rooms in the back building have kitchenettes with a tiny stove top.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank seaglasslass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester,ny
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2011

Taking our chances, we arrived in the rain and were pleasantly surprised by the beautifully rehabbed resort (we used to be regulars before it went time-share). The staff were all very nice and extremely helpful. The room was clean, bed comfy and there was a fully equipped kitchenette and a tiny deck off the back. The only complaint I would have is that we could hear the people upstairs..maybe better soundproofing would have helped. There is an outside pool overlooking the Nantucket Sound and of course the beach. The manager greeted us and spoke to us a number of times as we came and went and filled us in on their project next door.. The Soundings Resort.. also being made into time-shares. The Breakers will always be special to us and we are happy to see that we still have a chance to enjoy the place as renters. Hope to have better beach weather next time!

Room Tip: Be aware that you may be located on the other side of the street from the beach and pool but it is s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank noni1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

My wife and i just returned from the Breakers Resort . The room was ok housekeeping staff wont even give us a extra towel. The manager seems never to be in his office The front desk agent BARKED AT MY WIFE SAYING 'HE IS NEXT DOOR AT THE SOUNDINGS ,HE IS THE MANAGER OF THAT PLACE TOO .Is the company to cheap to hire a manager for each hotel? makes you wonder Will we ever return The answer is NO

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank caper1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford CT
Level Contributor
87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2011

This was my 1st stay at the Breakers. I am not a time share owner, we were driving by and stopped to see if a room was available. The price was right - $75 a night . Our room was spacious with a loft, small kitchenette, and jacuzzi (although why it is by the window off the living room I couldn't tell you). We loved our room in the main building (#212) with a great ocean view but I am not sure if I would have been as pleased if we were across the street - so be sure and ask where the room is.
There were a few negatives - poor soundproofing meant we heard the kid on one side of us running up and down the stairs constantly and could heard the jacuzzi on the other side each time it went on. Also, very bright room, no shades on the high windows or room darkeners in the living room so it was hard to sleep in. And the bathroom was way too small, you couldn't get to the toilet paper without banging your arm on the sink!
Overall, I would certainly stay there again. The staff was great, the room was spotless and the location ideal.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the ocean side of the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DVCmemberHartfordCT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
8.8 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.1 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
4.3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 bubbles 225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.9 mi away
Chatham Bars Inn Resort and Spa
7.9 mi away
Wequassett Resort and Golf Club
3.2 mi away
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
Winstead Inn and Beach Resort
#1 of 8 in Harwich Port
4.5 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Breakers on the Ocean? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Breakers on the Ocean

Property: The Breakers on the Ocean
Address: 61 Chase Ave, P.O. Box 1131, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2627
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Breakers on the Ocean 3.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Two story rustic Motor Inn, ocean view or ocean front guest rooms, sandy beach; located 5 miles from HYA airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your The Breakers on the Ocean reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Breakers On The Ocean Hotel Dennis Port
The Breakers On Ocean
The Breakers On The Ocean Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing