We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Wonderful location directly on beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Edgewater Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Edgewater Beach Resort
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Dennis Port
Certificate of Excellence
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful location directly on beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed in a large 2 bedroom unit. Our door opened into the living room. Great view of the ocean. Plenty of room and very clean. We had a great time and great weather. Resort has a pool, beach, barbecue grills, and a gym and is located close to a number of restaurants and shopping.
We enjoyed a great fireworks display from our balcony then sat on the beach to see several other displays all along the coast. You can walk to Harwichport center and Chatham is a ten minute drive away.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sueholland57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    72
    59
    22
    13
    11
See reviews for
67
57
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wallkill, New York
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

I have stayed at the Edgewater off and on for over twenty years. It is one of my favorite locations on the cape. It sits right on one of the nicest beaches on the Cape, and believe me, i have swam them all. The beach is a sound/ocean beach. The water is usually warm and gentle. A one foot wave is a big wave at this beach. Often during low tide you can walk out forever at this gorgeous beach. It is safe enough for children and yet not so tame that adults cant enjoy it.

Edgewater used to be a motel, but it is mostly a time share now. However I believe you can still book rooms on occasions. There is a great indoor outdoor pool surrounded by glass. You can swim from the greenhouse section, out of a small opening into the outdoor pool. The grounds are beautiful as well, and its a short walk to their exceptional beach. In addition to suites, there are small townhouses available across the road. These are near the great restaurant the "Ebb Tide"

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank robert d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

Not a fancy resort but very adequate & clean accommodation. As others have noted, front door opens straight into smallish bedroom but living room is large enough with sofa bed. Very relaxed atmosphere with most units facing the lawn where many happy children play most of the day in addition to hanging out on the beach. There are many outdoor barbecue grills. Management seems to be trying hard to improve the place and service is good overall. Wifi is free in the lobby but $9.95 per week in the unit. Internet connection seems to be better in the lobby than individual units (at least where we stayed). It would be a romantic place for couples during off season & non school holidays unless you enjoy having plenty of children around.

Room Tip: Ground floor unites have outdoor patios.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank infoodwetrust
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
55 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Very nicely maintained resort with the beach and ocean just steps over the sand dunes. Being able to open the sliding glass door and sit out on the patio at our table and listen to the waves, enjoy a nice beverage and be able to spend time with our adult children who came and went throughout the week was really nice. There was an indoor as well as separate outdoor pool, also a jacuzzi. There were several grills placed around the resort, which allowed us to cook some hotdogs/burgers/fish/steak. Even though you don't think of cooking when on vacation.. it's nice to cook out and enjoy with the family from time to time. Ice and vending machines on the premises, as well as friendly front desk staff who graciously accommodated our requests for more towels and toilet paper. Convenient to many restaurants and attractions.. a most enjoyable vacation!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Susan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

This is a timeshare and we made an exchange to stay there. We very much enjoyed ourselves but, on the whole, it was a disappointing exchange. Our home resort has better and much bigger units. It is also a true resort with a much bigger range of facilities, such as restaurant, club, play area, etc.

Edgewater is a small place. It is nicely presented, well maintained and very clean. The apartments are in a two-storey U-shape with the open end facing the beach and sea. The swimming pool is at one end of the U.

Despite trading in a 3-bed house, we were in a one bed unit. Presumably the 2-bed units are those on the groundfloor. The apartments are sweet and attractively decorated. However they are small and cramped - the size of studio apartments. The bedroom is so cramped that it is difficult to make the bed for lack of space. There is also only a small, partial kitchen with limited equipment. Although the maintenance was good and the furniture and fittings were well kept, the coffee table was distictly worn and tatty.

The apartments are, however, adequate and they work - especially if you're out most of the time like we were - but they are tiny and lack the luxury of our home resort in England.

The nicest aspect is the direct view over the dunes to the sea. The upstairs units have nice private balconies with a good view. Being lower, the ground floor units probably can't see much and also have the disadvantage of no balcony, just a patio with little privacy.

Other than the swimming pool and the fitness centre, there are no facilities. This is not a resort in the normal sense of the word. There is no shop and nowhere to eat. There is a small beach that is supposedly private - but isn't. It's fenced in on one side but open on the other. If you wanted to, you could walk for a mile or two along the sand through the other 'private' beaches. Unfortunately the beach was rather bland and featureless, just a long stretch of sand. However the sand was lovely and pale but, sadly, visitors hadn't looked after it and it was dirty and strewn with rubbish. Shame on you Americans! As a result, we used it only once.

Edgewater is pretty well located for travelling the Cape. On the south, it is around half way along the cape, with travel to Provincetown at the tip taking just over an hour and Boston being less than two. However Dennisport is not the best town to be in.

Typical of many cape towns, it feels articial because it has a lot of hotels, holiday homes and timeshares and so feels rather artificial and without heart. The town is pleasant enough and is immaculate (as only New England can be) but there is no real town centre (just a string of shops) and no harbour, so there is no focal point, or anything much authentic or with history. Other than walking on the beach, we couldn't find much to do in Dennisport itself but there is plenty without travelling too far.

Room Tip: The upstairs units have the advantage of a private balcony and the best view. Only a third of the u...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed with our kids in a 1 bedroom suite. The kids slept on sleeper sofa. Ample space for 1 bedroom suite. Super cute decor- very beachy. You can walk to beach. The pool needed some maintenance and updating. There were no laundry facilities for guests. But suite was very nice for family.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank neenandscadad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

The room we were in was nice , clean , and a view of the ocean from the sliding doors like you read about . Needless to say it felt like we had come home. It wasn't the Taj Mahal but with the view it was better . I wouldn't have left if I could have stayed .

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Garotycoyote
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
0.0 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
4.4 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 215 reviews
5.4 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 549 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 340 reviews
0.2 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
0.5 mi away
The Cutty Sark
The Cutty Sark
#8 of 20 in Dennis Port
4.5 of 5 stars 90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Edgewater Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Edgewater Beach Resort

Property: Edgewater Beach Resort
Address: 95 Chase Ave, Box 68, Dennis Port, MA 02639-2627
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Edgewater Beach Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Edgewater Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Edgewater Beach Hotel Dennis Port
Edgewater Beach Dennis Port
Edgewater Beach Resort Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing