We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful views”
Review of Pelham House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Pelham House
Ranked #12 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Reviewed July 5, 2012

This hotel is very quaint...The views are spectacular from every angle of the hotel. It sits right on the beach and the ocean waves are very calming at night. The rooms themselves are fairly large and clean. I was not fond of the restroom. Our bathroom had a very old toilet in it with no toilet seat cover & it was too close to the shower. Other than that, it was nice. The hotel doesn't have a bar or restaurant, so if you want to bring snacks and drinks, I suggest doing that and putting it in the mini fridge in the room. Location is definitely what you're getting with this hotel. The staff was very friendly as well. Each person we encountered was very helpful & friendly.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Mia1197
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (155)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

101 - 107 of 155 reviews

Reviewed May 14, 2012

We had never stayed at this resort and took a chance, I'm glad we did! I don't think I've ever had a better view from a room on the Cape, and we've been going there for 10 years!. Our room was HUGE and the porch overlooked the pool and the ocean.

There was way more space than we expected. Tons of storage for drinks, snacks, etc. The closet was very large and the granite countertop ran along the entire wall! The "mini" fridge was really not all that mini and held bottles of wine, soda, juice and food (there is a microwave too!)

By far, the best part of the room (Room 13), though was the view. With the huge picture window we could see a panoramic view of the ocean. Also, we could open the windows and fall asleep to the sound of the waves and wake up to the seagulls. It was unbelieveable.

We have already started planning our return trip!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Shawn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2012

Had originally booked for 2nights but arrived a day early. Rather than stay somewhere else for 1 night we stopped in to see if they had vacancy. The woman was very nice and said that they did and since there were not a lot of guests, people were all staying in the main guest house. The room was large and had an ocean-view, clean, with a comfortable bed. I decided to go for a shower before dinner, only to find that there was no shower head and no hot water, I waited until bedtime for a bath but still no hot water. We called the night number posted for when the lobby is closed--no answer. The next morning, no hot water still but we did get a young man to come up and check out the problem. Well, no shower head is just fine apparently, even when the floor gets wet, and he said he fixed the tap. Great! Time for a bath...no hot water. We had now bathed in cold for 3days. Another gentleman came up and pushed the tap further then we had been shown. Yeah! Hot water! Just in time for check-out! When we complained, we were told that we had already been given an upgraded room. We hadn't asked for this and would have been satisfied with a standard room. It was the front desk person who had said that at this time of year, all the guests were being put in that building. We had no way of knowing the price of the different rooms since we had booked online and paid in advance for all but 1 night. Nice room, nice ocean view, but I don't like cold showers or head-games. When you are in a business that is meant to attract and keep your clients returning, you should probably work a little harder. The manager was supposed to call us if he would consider a price adjustment. We have heard nothing, not even an apology. Poor customer relations are easy to come by--so are other ocean-view hotels in Dennisport.

Room Tip: Read reviews.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank lindyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2012

I got a room for $119.with breakfast included. It was my birthday so my husband asked for a great view. I called for an earlier check in and was happily accomodated. Upon arrival we were upgraded from a junior sweet to an ocean front king. Room 29 has two picture windows and a fantastic view. The place is overlooking a small private beach. The front desk staff were friendly and knowledgable of the area. Our room was clean and bright. Breakfast is 8-10am. The facility has wifi. There's an outdoor pool very close to the beach. Downstairs near the breakfast room is a small room with a few pieces of exercise equipment. There are no elevators so if mobility is an issue, book the first floor. This facility is a stand alone type of timeshare. I suggest knowing it's not a full service resort. It does not have an indoor pool, sauna or gameroom. There is a tennis court. There are no coffee makers in the kitchenette or any type of plates or silverware. It had a small fridge and microwave which helped. The bathroom does not have a blowdryer. Also the cabinets under the sink are locked,presumably with the owners stuff. Again the rooms are rented if a partial owner is not there. I suggested to management upon check in a basic sheet of instruction would be great. It should include wifi code,breakfast time. I came down at 10:15, mostly everything was put away. I did have a bagel and coffee(which was good!) It looked like there was more to breakfast but not sure what. Like alot of cape cod properties this is a dated property. There was painting going on though and its not unkept like the motel across the street. So i would return during the high season to relax on the beach and will update as improvements are made. My feeling is know what to bring, dont expect a full service resort. Do expect a great location! I have stayed all over cape cod. This property was different from a regular hotel or motel experience. As always feel free to email if more details are needed. Katevet.

  • Stayed: May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank 2010homerun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2012

We took a short R/R trip to Pelham House again after a long winter! The weather was great so we took a day trip up to Ptown and enjoyed walking around and going into the shops. Another day, we visited Scargo Tower, the highest point on the Cape. Plenty of good seafood at Clancy's, Kreme & Kone and Seafood Sam's.

Of course, the ocean was still to cold to go swimming but we did walk along the ocean every AM. Just love having the ocean right at our door. So relaxing....

Being off season, breakfast was continental style..danish, coffee, juice,bagels. Just enough for us before we hit the road for the day. We've also have been there in the summer and enjoyed the full breakfst.

Room was freshly painted and we heard all the rooms were recarpeted/painted this year. Our room, being the end unit has to large windows looking out onto the ocean! Can't beat that!

Can't wait to get back there again this summer.....

PS Being off season, when we arrived, the office was closed. (They close early off season) No big deal, our key was in the mailbox. We've had this same occurance at other motels.

Room Tip: Clean oceanfront motel. Large rooms and comfy beds! Open the windows and listen to the crashing wave...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank whymeNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

We received a phone call from management the day of check in wanting to know if we were still coming to the hotel. We stated yes. At that point we were told that the keys to the rooms (2) would be in the mailbox, no one would be there to check us in. We got the keys okay and were amazed at how deserted the place was. It is in the middle of a neighborhood. We along with one other couple were the only guests. We thought maybe because it was Oct. 10 and that was why it was so deserted but this turned out not to be the case. A little drive and you could clearly see other hotels were booked. Pelham House rooms appear to be PRIVATELY OWNED ROOMS that are rented out. We had pictures of little kids in the bathtub (obviously personal photos). Cabinets are locked. All of the bed linens are OLD and WORN OUT as well as the furniture and drapes. One bed had a bug in it. This wasn't even the worst of it. In the middle of the night the alarm went off in the lobby. We heard a car peel out. Finally the police showed up to the alarm and wanted to know what we knew. Well, we didn't know anything. We sure won't going to check out that situation. The pool area was closed and locked even though it was unusually warm. The only thing good I can say about the Pelham House is that you have a wonderful view of the ocean from the room. The next morning we mentioned to management about the alarm, the police, the quality of the room and our lack of sleep. Management said they had no idea what we were talking about. Truthfully I can see why this place would be a target for thieves to either break into the building or peoples cars. It really is in the middle of a deserted neighborhood (summer cottages).

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Traveler2911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here for a friend's wedding in May and the staff was great! They were really attentive and nice- if you check in past 10 PM like us, they leave the keys in a mailbox out front.

The room was spacious and the bathroom could use some updating but they had breakfast and it's right on the beach!

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lucysuze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
3.7 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
0.7 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
6.4 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
3.3 mi away
All Seasons Resort
All Seasons Resort
#10 of 21 in South Yarmouth
353 reviews
0.6 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pelham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pelham House

Address: 14 Sea St, Box 38, Dennis Port, Dennis, MA 02639-2410
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range: $75 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Pelham House 2.5*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Pelham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham House Hotel Dennis Port
Pelham Hotel Dennis Port
Pelham Resort Dennis Port
Pelham House Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing