We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would not return”
Review of The Garlands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Garlands
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Reviewed August 16, 2007

Our family of four just returned from our stay at the Garlands. We were very disappointed. The room seemed dirty (like hair behind the bathroom door on the floor .) We had no soap to wash our hands. Our double bed was very uncomfortable and our shower had no shower head and there no water pressure to speak of. Granted the view was beautiful and the sound of crashing waves was very soothing, the beach was a let down. I wouldn't say the Garlands was terrible, but would not recommend it to anyone looking for cleanliness and comfort.

  • Stayed: August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank heleneSomerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

80 - 86 of 90 reviews

A TripAdvisor Member
Glenville, ny
12
Reviewed May 22, 2006

We are going back to the Garlands for the 14th time. The first trip was back in the late 70's and we have tried to return yearly and sometimes twice yearly. If you are looking for hot tubs, game rooms, golf courses and hand to foot service, go some place else. If you are looking for peace and quiet, a great view of the ocean, good neighbors,management that cares and will do what it takes to make you happy, a clean bed, a kitchen you can cook in if you don't want to go out tonight but eat in. If you like being only a short distance from all the cape has to offer,from P town to Woods Hole. If you want to do this without taking out a second mortage, you will love the Garlands.

  • Stayed: June 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2005

yes u get what u pay for, on the "up" side for a "very" reasonable rate u get total oceanfront w/the sound of crashing waves all thru the day & nite (which is what i love!) its a very peaceful & laid back place for great r&r. Gorgeous green grass but u can't walk on it!ea. room, all done differently, i happened to get a kind of 70's shabby chic look!, has a fully equipped kitchentte, lots of pots & pans, flatware, silverware, etc..., except for paper towels! now in the service dept. don't expect too much except for daily bathroom towel changes & btw i will bring my own next time. & they empty the trash..other things i will bring besides the paper towels & bath towels...kleenex, a bag of ice, & lets talk about the "down" side now, the beds! No u don't have to bring your own bed though i wish i could have!! almost every room has 2 bedrooms, 1 w/a doubleor full size & the other had 2 twins, i played musical beds to try to get comfortable, it was like trying to sleep on an ironing board, so i would bring anything that would plump up the mattresses!! like me when u 1st walk in u say "oh this is adorable" & it is but later on u start noticing that things aren't as clean as u 1st thought it was!mirrors, bathroom tile, walls @certain angles of light show quite a bit! but it is posted that the maids only deliver fresh towels & empty trash but if u stay a wk. u can request fresh linens. So i "will" definitely go back!... w/my items i mentioned & maybe a can of windex to go w/my paper towels! Oh and if u happen to go there in humid weather bring along an xtra fan too, no ac. Other than that u get a bang for your buck @The Garlands & god i love those crashing waves &watching the lil sandpipers!!

4  Thank true2u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2004

We recently stayed at the Garlands with the ocean at our front door. We could open the slider and listen to the waves. The rooms are clean,with a kitchenette and 2 bedrooms. Just right for our family. A wonderful small place,I think there were 16 units and the price is very reasonable for an ocean front motel.

13  Thank love2travel7831
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Monson, MA
18
Reviewed May 12, 2004

I stayed at the Garlands in April. The room was small and clean. They said I could check out the different decor in each room but considering I was there to watch the ocean, it didn't matter. The room had a sliding glass door that faced the ocean. I could throw a stone from my room into the ocean. It was absolutely perfect. Quiet, small and private. I plan to return in the fall. The rates were very reasonable.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Loudonville,N.Y.
17
Reviewed September 12, 2003

Recently stayed at the Garlands. A wonderful place with ocean front units. Can't beat the price. Units were well equipted, clean with daily maid service,and conveniently located.

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Boston, Mass
110
Reviewed July 23, 2003

The ocean views are very nice but the accommodations are small with poor decor and are not adequately updated. There is no Air conditioning or ventilation and stale air and odours are present. In my view the rates do not reflect the quality of the rooms being offered.

  • Stayed: July 2003
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
10  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
1.4 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
3.9 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
624 reviews
3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#6 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
Ocean Club On Smugglers' Beach
#3 of 21 in South Yarmouth
410 reviews
5.7 mi away
Bayside Resort Hotel
Bayside Resort Hotel
#2 of 20 in West Yarmouth
1,275 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#13 of 19 in Dennis Port
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garlands

Address: 117 Old Wharf Rd, Dennis Port, Dennis, MA 02639-0506
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range: $112 - $279 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garlands 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your The Garlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garlands Hotel Dennis Port
Garlands Hotel Dennis Port
Garlands Dennis Port
The Garlands Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing