We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Garlands
Ranked #15 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Housekeeping was horrible. I was assured by the new managment that there was improvement - NOT! - bathroom and kitchen floors were gross. they don't clean after guests check out. Do not go there!

  • Stayed: August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank itsybitsyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (90)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

68 - 74 of 90 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2009

My friend and I had the two bedroom unit directly on the beach. Loved the deck overlooking the ocean and spent a lot of time sitting there enjoying the fantastic view. The place was clean, well stocked with necessities and very reasonably priced. The Garlands is in a great, central location and near good restaurants, shopping and activities. The management was wonderful and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lexysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I stayed with 2 friends in a 2 bedroom unit. The kitchen was very small but the tiny stove did work. There was enough room for the 3 of us and you can't beat the location. It is directly on the beach and every room has a gorgeous view. They don't clean the room daily on the off season but do provide fresh towels.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank aguide07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2009

My friend and I were very disappointed in the accommodations. Cramped, dingy, dirty, ill-maintained, constant damp, musty smell (I washed all my clothes when I got home whether I had worn them or not), uncomfortable, hard, lumpy beds, kitchen and bath were old, not filthy, but not inviting either. This place has potential but needs serious updating. I would not recommend The Garlands if you are looking for comfort and cleanliness. The best thing about The Garlands is the lovely ocean view from the patio and the private beach. The rates do not reflect the quality of accommodations being offered.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank rgny09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2009

We visited relatives and loved The Garlands. A few things need to be corrected-we never did get a working phone, do need fans in the rooms for those hot days. Everyting else, except for a few things, need internet access and a fitness area to work out those great meals, were wonderful. We will stay again, the view of the ocean was wonderful, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristineLocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 17, 2009

What a deal. Very Clean! sound of surf, access to everything - don't need a car to eat and plenty to do. New management is fantastic.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HartfordSouthender
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2009

We stayed here during the low season and the place was not at all crowded. We were excited to find a place that offered an entire "apartment" for the price of a motel room. The apartment, as it was, was small, but certainly offered more room and privacy that renting a motel room for a family of 4. Having a full kitchen was a treat and the small sitting area with tv separate from the bedrooms was nice.
We loved the fact that it was right on the water. We could hear the water lapping the shore all night and woke up to a beautiful ocean sunset. There was a private deck at the hotel and some of the rooms offered balconies. We may opt for a private balcony next time!
We noted before we came that some reviews had mentioned the place was a bit old. While it was not brand new,w e thought the slightly dated decor only added to the charm.

The staff was extremely helpful and cheerful and greeted us like old friends. This is not a place to go without a car as restaurants were not within walking distance. But there were plenty of restaurants, pubs and shopping areas within a few minutes drive (or maybe a leisurely bike ride or long walk). We would definitely go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CruisingMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
3 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
276 reviews
1.4 mi away
Bluegreen Vacations The Soundings, Ascend Resort Collection
3.7 mi away
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
Ocean Mist Beach Hotel & Suites
#7 of 21 in South Yarmouth
390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Breakers on the Ocean
The Breakers on the Ocean
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
116 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#13 of 19 in Dennis Port
156 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Hill Inn & Suites
Holiday Hill Inn & Suites
#9 of 19 in Dennis Port
112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garlands

Address: 117 Old Wharf Rd, Dennis Port, Dennis, MA 02639-0506
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range: $111 - $278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garlands 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Orbitz so you can book your The Garlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garlands Hotel Dennis Port
Garlands Hotel Dennis Port
Garlands Dennis Port
The Garlands Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing