We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Off-Season Value: Comfortable and Accomodating”
Review of The Garlands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Garlands
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Off-Season Value: Comfortable and Accomodating”
Reviewed May 15, 2009

We stayed here during the low season and the place was not at all crowded. We were excited to find a place that offered an entire "apartment" for the price of a motel room. The apartment, as it was, was small, but certainly offered more room and privacy that renting a motel room for a family of 4. Having a full kitchen was a treat and the small sitting area with tv separate from the bedrooms was nice.
We loved the fact that it was right on the water. We could hear the water lapping the shore all night and woke up to a beautiful ocean sunset. There was a private deck at the hotel and some of the rooms offered balconies. We may opt for a private balcony next time!
We noted before we came that some reviews had mentioned the place was a bit old. While it was not brand new,w e thought the slightly dated decor only added to the charm.

The staff was extremely helpful and cheerful and greeted us like old friends. This is not a place to go without a car as restaurants were not within walking distance. But there were plenty of restaurants, pubs and shopping areas within a few minutes drive (or maybe a leisurely bike ride or long walk). We would definitely go back and stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CruisingMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    19
    14
    15
See reviews for
35
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed April 23, 2009

Under new management this year. Things are looking great. Our unit (#2) has a great view and is well appointed - everrything we ned and now great weather!

A great value and place.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CapeLover54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 5, 2008

The Beach:
The location is the best thing about this property. It's right on a private beach. The beach does disappear during high tide, but during this time you can use the sun deck with the lounge chairs. Note that the only access to the beach is via a set of stairs, so if you have trouble with going up/down stairs then this is not the place for you.

The Room:
I was in a 2 bedroom. It is small -there were 2 adults and it was a bit cramped. Each unit appeared to have different decor - some of the units had newer furniture in the living areas while others didn't. The living & dining area consisted of a loveseat & chair, tv, and 4 chairs & dining table. The kitchen was well stocked with a microwave (though old), coffee maker, small stove/oven, small (dorm size) fridge, utensils (including can opener, corkscrew), pots, pans, dishes, etc. You were also provided a new sponge and dish soap to do your dishes with.

The beds were not comfortable - the mattresses were pretty firm. The 2 bedrooms were both small. One had a double (?) bed in it, which pratcially took up the entire room and was pushed up against 1 wall, and the other had 2 twins in it, with about a foot and a half of space between. Each room had a small closet and set of drawers, as well as a ceiling fan. Each bed only has 1 pillow (the double has 2 but that's only 1 per person), so I would suggest bringing your own pillow if you need more than 1.

The bathroom was outdated, but for the most part clean. Upon first glance the cloth floral shower curtain appeared to be new, but when you got closer you noticed the mold spots all over it. As someone else mentioned, the towels were thin. The bathroom is tiny but served its purpose.

It did seem like there wasn't hot water during the day, not sure if this is based on consumption or if they turn it off.

It was a very quiet complex - no children - mostly older adults. There is a general store within a short walking distance at the campground down the road, which came in handy.

Also, note that there is not an elevator, so if you have a room on the second floor, be prepared to carry everything you pack up a flight of stairs.

Overall the room was clean. I didn't notice any dust or grime. The housekeeper came daily to replenish towels, take the garbage out, etc.

All in all, I'd say this is your average beach motel. It wasn't bad, but it certainly wasn't a 5* place. If you're looking for a quiet, relaxing, private beach and don't plan on spending too much time in the room, then I would recommend it. If you need all the bells and whistles of a deluxe resort, then you definitely won't be happy here. I'd stay there again.

  • Liked — The location
  • Disliked — The uncomfortable bed
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LilyGirl11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkville, NY
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2008

What a find this place was! Like other users we wanted something on the ocean at a reasonable rate and the Garlands definitely delivers. Our unit was more than enough for the wife and I with two bedrooms, a kitchenette, TV area, and spacious bathroom. The whole place was decorated with quaint knick-knacks and the cupboards were stocked with every dish and utensil we could imagine (even wine glasses.) The microwave, stove and mini-fridge were a blessing. The place was extremely quiet and I had no problems passing out on one of their lounge chairs overlooking the beach. Everything was clean and worked properly. I recommend this hotel (and that area of Cape Cod) to anybody that is looking for some serious relaxation and doesn't need the Ritz. P.S. - The Sailing Cow Cafe down the street is one of the friendliest paces we have ever eaten.

  • Liked — Great rate, great view, will return again.
  • Disliked — We had to leave to go to our next stop.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Greedle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Assonet,Ma
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 16, 2008

To celebrate our mid May wedding anniversary I Googled the coast of Cape Cod to find a facility directly on the ocean.. We chose the end [vip] units at the Garlands which are directly on the beach.[the waves break directly below the front windows] The unit was a pleasant surprise-reasonably priced ,clean, nicely laid out , with a spectacular view of the ocean-and not so incidentally with a good hot hi flow shower. Our present plans are to return in the fall.

  • Liked — oceanfront vip rooms, clean and fully equipped units
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank engineer-don
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2007

Disappointed in our accomodations, double bed only accessible from one side..not fun getting in or out. Very old nothing updated. Used sponge left for sink cleaning. refrigerator with broken door shelves....all of kitchen dingy and old looking ...not inviting to use. Sheets so sheer you could see through them. Towels so thin it takes 5 to dry and there aren't enough for 2. Just gave the overall feeling of being done as cheaply as possible and never updated. Shower head non existant....bathroom not really dirty but you felt like it was. Georgeous ocean view. No beach at all during high tide. Grassy area with signs to stay off of it. Not a friendly hospitable feeling! Well lit at nite . Wasn't expecting or looking for the Hilton not bad enough to make you leave but disappointed and wouldn't recommend or go back

  • Liked — the ocean view
  • Disliked — accomodation and lack of beach
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank masmanatee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dennis Port hotels

Somerville
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 16, 2007

Our family of four just returned from our stay at the Garlands. We were very disappointed. The room seemed dirty (like hair behind the bathroom door on the floor .) We had no soap to wash our hands. Our double bed was very uncomfortable and our shower had no shower head and there no water pressure to speak of. Granted the view was beautiful and the sound of crashing waves was very soothing, the beach was a let down. I wouldn't say the Garlands was terrible, but would not recommend it to anyone looking for cleanliness and comfort.

  • Stayed August 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank heleneSomerville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
3.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
254 reviews
3.9 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Oceanside Motel
Oceanside Motel
#17 of 19 in Dennis Port
26 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garlands

Property: The Garlands
Address: 117 Old Wharf Rd, Dennis Port, MA 02639-0506
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garlands 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Garlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garlands Hotel Dennis Port
Garlands Hotel Dennis Port
Garlands Dennis Port
The Garlands Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing