We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So what if it's damp”
Review of The Garlands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Garlands
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Springfield Mass
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“So what if it's damp”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

We had a great stay at the Garlands. Even though it was mid-August and the unit is not air conditioned, we were comfy because the Atlantic Ocean was right outside our window. The sound of the the surf made sleeping superb. The decor was a bit "kitschy" but the location on Cape Cod was great. We were close to all the activities we wanted to do. And the price was quite good for the season. It's a good thing to get such a nice price on your stay on the Cape, because everything else there is overpriced.
Oh, not all the units are as close to the breakers as the one we were in. There is no pool but there is a private beach. Also, no restaurant -- but do they need any more restaurants on Cape Cod?

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Owl70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    19
    14
    15
See reviews for
35
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Florence, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2012

We recently spent a week at the Garlands. I rarely complain about accomodations, but for the price, I expected a LOT more. Although they are clean, the units are very tiny. Although we had a two bedroom unit, there wasn't even any room to put our luggage - even the beds were too low to store a suitcase under. Luckily, there were only three of us, so we were able to use the remaining twin bed to place our luggage on. Even with only three people staying in the unit, it was less than ideal. The bathroom was not well ventilated, and it resulted in a sauna-like effect when taking a shower. Leaving the door open wasn't an option, unless you wanted everyone in the unit to have a "view." And, despite our requests for additional linens, housekeeping would only give us two washcloths a day...for three occupants....

Also, beware that the management leaves promptly at 5pm. No one is on premises to police the goings on after hours. We had the misfortune of having a unit between two families that knew each other. They were extremely discourteous, playing music and constantly yelling at their children. Given the closeness of the units - and the fact that no air conditioning requires that you leave the windows open - we couldn't escape the noise.

We also came back to the room one day to find that housekeeping had shut all of the windows and turned off all of the fans...on a 90 degree day. Did I mention that the units do not have air??!!

The beach was also very narrow. At high tide, the beach is non-existent.

Again, the unit is extremely clean, and I understand that we had the misfortune of getting caught between discourteous guests. But, for almost $200/night, I do not feel that I got my money's worth.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FranklyRenee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dennis Port hotels

Level 3 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 25, 2012

I'm not sure how to rate this property. Each unit is privately owned so you never know what you're going to get. For the most part, the units are clean and comfortable at the Seaside property which is separate from the Garlands property. The Seaside building directly faces the ocean.

I have not stayed at the Garlands. I have only stayed at Seaside, and I have rented just about every unit there at one time or another. Most have only one bedroom, but there are two units that have 2 bedrooms.

Of the two bedroom units, you'll want to avoid unit #8. Though the view is fantastic, the owner of this unit hasn't updated it in perhaps decades! The furniture is old, EXTREMELY uncomfortable and dirty! The kitchen area sink, counter top and cabinets are in similar condition~ old and dirty. Given the fact that the 2012 high season rate for this two bedroom unit is $205.00 per night plus tax, you could find a two bedroom cottage within walking distance of the beach with more room and for less money for a 7 day rental.

Having said that, the rates at Seaside and at the Garland are relatively cheap for an ocean-side property and many of the units are charming, clean and nicely decorated. The problem is, if you've never stayed there before you just don't know what you're going to get.

The management of this property changed a few years ago and I was hoping that the change would result in an improvement, but I haven't noticed any, and I stayed there last summer (2011). However, keep in mind that I have only stayed at Seaside and can't speak to the Garlands.

As for the other Seaside units, all others I've stayed in were clean and comfortably furnished and I would recommend any of them for a fairly inexpensive stay at an ocean front property on Mid Cape. Most other ocean front properties are more expensive.

If you are looking for a luxury oceanfront suite, the Seaside isn't for you. If the view of the ocean and the cool breeze of salt sea air is most important, then the Garlands/Seaside is your place to stay.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Janet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2011

We have stayed in the Garlands many times over the last ten years and liked this place a lot. Most of the units are small two bedroom apartments good for up to four people. There is a good private beach, though during the high tide most of it is under the water. I would recommend this place to anybody who wants to be next to the ocean without paying a lot of money.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank VHerzberg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcester
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2011

If you are looking for a 4 or 5 star resort keep looking. If you are looking for a cheap, clean place to rest your head that is literally right at the beach (walk down the stairs) then you found the right place. We stayed in a room upstairs and the room was old but we noticed that many of the other rooms had been updated..the stairs leading up to our unit were VERY steep so if you are older or have a lot of stuff you may want to ask for a room on the first floor. We slept with the windows open and it was wonderful to listen to the waves all night. It was clean. The beds were great. Very small unit but 2 bedrooms, living area, kitchen area and nice balcony. Will definitely go back but will probably ask for a ground floor because of the stairs..was difficult with the luggage and I have a bad ankle. Bad reviews are probably from people who expected a lot more but if you look at prices for ocean front rooms and compare to this place...BARGAIN!! And really..are you coming to the Cape to sit in your room? The private beach was loaded with cool shells (my daughter found a conch shell!) at low tide and my kids enjoyed taking a swim first thing in the morning and last thing at night. Oh, and as for the reviewers who commented on the smell...if you have ever stayed by the ocean you would know that most places smell a little musty..its just the way it goes..definitely not offensive in the least..the people who gave really negative reviews need to get over themselves or pay premium prices for premium lodging.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank luckyl72002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The rates are great for a waterfront motel. The rooms are small but clean. It's wonderful because it has a kitchen which allows you to cut down on you vacation expenses. You have access to a private beach which is a major plus! Wonderful place to stay if your planning a vacation on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wrldtrvlng77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

very old building, no updates, heavy odor from the rooms, 30 plus years old wall paper, tv wan not working ,beds very unconmortable, don't stay here

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BostonTraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
3.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
252 reviews
3.9 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
600 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Oceanside Motel
Oceanside Motel
#17 of 19 in Dennis Port
26 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garlands

Property: The Garlands
Address: 117 Old Wharf Rd, Dennis Port, MA 02639-0506
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garlands 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Garlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garlands Hotel Dennis Port
Garlands Hotel Dennis Port
Garlands Dennis Port
The Garlands Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing