We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap, clean, on the water”
Review of The Garlands

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Garlands
Ranked #16 of 19 Hotels in Dennis Port
Worcester
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Cheap, clean, on the water”
Reviewed August 25, 2011

If you are looking for a 4 or 5 star resort keep looking. If you are looking for a cheap, clean place to rest your head that is literally right at the beach (walk down the stairs) then you found the right place. We stayed in a room upstairs and the room was old but we noticed that many of the other rooms had been updated..the stairs leading up to our unit were VERY steep so if you are older or have a lot of stuff you may want to ask for a room on the first floor. We slept with the windows open and it was wonderful to listen to the waves all night. It was clean. The beds were great. Very small unit but 2 bedrooms, living area, kitchen area and nice balcony. Will definitely go back but will probably ask for a ground floor because of the stairs..was difficult with the luggage and I have a bad ankle. Bad reviews are probably from people who expected a lot more but if you look at prices for ocean front rooms and compare to this place...BARGAIN!! And really..are you coming to the Cape to sit in your room? The private beach was loaded with cool shells (my daughter found a conch shell!) at low tide and my kids enjoyed taking a swim first thing in the morning and last thing at night. Oh, and as for the reviewers who commented on the smell...if you have ever stayed by the ocean you would know that most places smell a little musty..its just the way it goes..definitely not offensive in the least..the people who gave really negative reviews need to get over themselves or pay premium prices for premium lodging.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank luckyl72002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    20
    19
    14
    15
See reviews for
35
23
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 30, 2011

The rates are great for a waterfront motel. The rooms are small but clean. It's wonderful because it has a kitchen which allows you to cut down on you vacation expenses. You have access to a private beach which is a major plus! Wonderful place to stay if your planning a vacation on a budget.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Wrldtrvlng77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2010

very old building, no updates, heavy odor from the rooms, 30 plus years old wall paper, tv wan not working ,beds very unconmortable, don't stay here

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BostonTraveller24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Dennis Port hotels

new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 27, 2010

Housekeeping was horrible. I was assured by the new managment that there was improvement - NOT! - bathroom and kitchen floors were gross. they don't clean after guests check out. Do not go there!

  • Stayed August 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank itsybitsyNewYork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upstate NY
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2009

My friend and I had the two bedroom unit directly on the beach. Loved the deck overlooking the ocean and spent a lot of time sitting there enjoying the fantastic view. The place was clean, well stocked with necessities and very reasonably priced. The Garlands is in a great, central location and near good restaurants, shopping and activities. The management was wonderful and we will definitely return.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lexysmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 8, 2009

I stayed with 2 friends in a 2 bedroom unit. The kitchen was very small but the tiny stove did work. There was enough room for the 3 of us and you can't beat the location. It is directly on the beach and every room has a gorgeous view. They don't clean the room daily on the off season but do provide fresh towels.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aguide07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new york
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2009

My friend and I were very disappointed in the accommodations. Cramped, dingy, dirty, ill-maintained, constant damp, musty smell (I washed all my clothes when I got home whether I had worn them or not), uncomfortable, hard, lumpy beds, kitchen and bath were old, not filthy, but not inviting either. This place has potential but needs serious updating. I would not recommend The Garlands if you are looking for comfort and cleanliness. The best thing about The Garlands is the lovely ocean view from the patio and the private beach. The rates do not reflect the quality of accommodations being offered.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank rgny09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis Port
3.0 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#5 of 21 in South Yarmouth
254 reviews
3.9 mi away
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
Red Jacket Beach Resort & Spa
#4 of 21 in South Yarmouth
601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#12 of 19 in Dennis Port
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Corsair and Cross Rip Oceanfront
1.1 mi away
Oceanside Motel
Oceanside Motel
#17 of 19 in Dennis Port
26 reviews
2.9 mi away
Riviera Beach Resort
Riviera Beach Resort
#9 of 21 in South Yarmouth
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Garlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Garlands

Property: The Garlands
Address: 117 Old Wharf Rd, Dennis Port, MA 02639-0506
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis Port
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Dennis Port
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Garlands 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Expedia and Agoda so you can book your The Garlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Garlands Hotel Dennis Port
Garlands Hotel Dennis Port
Garlands Dennis Port
The Garlands Cape Cod, MA - Dennis Port

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing