We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“One night!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kingfisher Lodging

Kingfisher Lodging
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Dennis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Kingfisher Lodging
Save
You added Kingfisher Lodging to your Saves list
177 Main Street, Route 6A, Dennis, MA 02638 (Formerly J.D. Starr Motel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dennis
Boston,MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“One night!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

Len was able to accommodate us for one night - Convenient location - Near popular Mayflower Beach and restaurants on the Bayside of Cape Cod. The room was just right for our needs and Len is a wonderful host!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lalalu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    4
    1
    2
    1
See reviews for
11
5
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Enfield, Connecticut
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2014

I was lucky enough to stay two nights at Kingfisher along with my parents and their 7 month old lab. Room was clean and beds were comfy. I had the pleasure of chatting with the owner, Leonard, and he is one of the nicest people I have ever met, so accommodating and friendly! Rooms are small but functional and we enjoyed our stay and would stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Diane K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paramus, New Jersey
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We were on last Labor weekend. The rooms are clean and simple. This isn’t a pampered and luxurious place, but it is neat and is clearly well taken care of. The owner, Len, went out of his way to make sure we had absolutely everything we need, including giving us another room when he realized we were a bit cramped and that he had the extra space. He was also quite possibly the most open and welcoming manager we have ever met. There was also a pool that we didn’t use, but our dog gave it her seal of approval (though, to be fair, most puddles do well enough for her). If you’re looking to explore the beautiful towns and beaches around here, and aren’t concerned about spas and monogrammed towels, we can’t recommend it any higher.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank KatyaI481
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NJ
Level Contributor
36 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We opted to make a reservation here for 2 reasons, it accepts pets and it was the area of the Cape we wanted to stay around! We would be arriving late (10:30 pm) so, they left the key in the door for us. Kingfisher is cute on the outside, but very dated, smelly and almost unacceptable on the inside. The comforters are old, not clean and need to be replaced. The beds sit on a wood base with planks sticking out that you could easily injure yourself on! The bathroom door had paint chipping off of it and a hole in the back where a hook used to be. There is no dresser for your clothes and no closet, just a rack to hang things on and place things on top of. The floors are newer, composite wood, they are very slippery and the dog had a very hard time walking in them. Overall the room is very, very small with no room to sit and relax, the only place to sit is on the 2 beds or the 1 desk chair. After arriving at 10:30pm we stayed because we did not feel like we could find another accommodation that late at night. We woke up at 6:00 am, went to breakfast and on a search for another hotel which we found, just 1 town away. We returned to our room, packed up our stuff, paid for the night and left. Do not stay here, there are other options that are 100%+++ better than the Kingfisher!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CreateLikeCrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merrick, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

My friends and I stayed for a week and were very happy with the Kingfisher Lodge. The location was perfect for traveling around the Cape. The rooms were clean, quiet and it was convenient having WiFi access. Leonard is just a delightful bonus!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rancolt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framingham, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013

Kingfisher is clean and simple, an old school motel that is perfect for a laid back beach vacation. Best of all, it is very pet friendly. This is my fourth stay after discovering The Kingfisher a year ago. The owner/operator could not be more accommodating! Already I am planning my next stay.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Grandpuppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

Stayed here over the Christmas holiday and everything was great. Room and bathroom was clean and it was very quiet. The free WiFi was a nice bonus. Definitely recommend this motel to anyone heading to the Cape. Can't wait to go back during the summer...

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank podmed2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Dennis
2.0 mi away
Sesuit Harbor House
Sesuit Harbor House
#1 of 1 in East Dennis
5.0 of 5 stars 171 reviews
5.5 mi away
Blue Water on the Ocean
Blue Water on the Ocean
#8 of 21 in South Yarmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 191 reviews
3.9 mi away
Ambassador Inn and Suites
Ambassador Inn and Suites
#15 of 21 in South Yarmouth
3.0 of 5 stars 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Pleasant Bay Village
Pleasant Bay Village
#2 of 9 in Chatham
4.5 of 5 stars 533 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.0 mi away
Starlight Lodge Cape Cod
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kingfisher Lodging? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kingfisher Lodging

Property: Kingfisher Lodging
Address: 177 Main Street, Route 6A, Dennis, MA 02638 (Formerly J.D. Starr Motel)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Dennis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Dennis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Also Known As:
Kingfisher Lodging Hotel Dennis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing