We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, inventive breakfast.”

Grumpy's Restaurant
Ranked #1 of 25 Restaurants in Dennis
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast
Yarmouth Port, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
66 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Wonderful, inventive breakfast.”
Reviewed January 16, 2012

Usually a line in the morning, but worth the wait with fine, creative breakfast options!

Helpful?
Thank Maybelline3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    290
    121
    37
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Leverett, MA
Level Contributor
391 reviews
262 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 230 helpful votes
“Great place for a home-cooked breakfast in a comfortable setting.”
Reviewed December 28, 2011

Grumpy's Restaurant is a wonderful place. It has a breakfast and lunch menu, is very comfortable, always has a lot of patrons, and has a very fine family oriented feeling. Were there for breakfast a few days after Christmas. The place was nearly full at 10:30 in the morning, with people of all ages from young children to grandparents. The feeling was warm and friendly. The servers were attentive, polite and cheerful. The spirit was genuine; the staff very much enjoy working there and it shows.

The breakfast menu is really extensive and there is listed on the large blackboards the many specials. Omelets are apparently a specialty because many folks ordered them and there were many to choose from. We ordered eggs over easy, toast and bacon with aside of beans. The eggs were just right, the toast was properly done, the bacon (ordered crispy) was properly well-done and the beans were unusually good, with bits of onion and bacon blended in. The coffee kept coming and the switch to decaf resulted in nearly as good a cup (which is not always the case). A great place for breakfast.

The feeling in the restaurant was really something special. So, since there were a few empty tables, with no one waiting, we simply sat with coffee and watch the goings-on. We saw many selections go by: huge omelets, french toast, sides of hash-browns, pancakes (blueberry, cranberry, plain, among others), waffles with whipped cream (quite the pile), and the list goes on. There are muffins. The prices are quite reasonable.

Try this place. You will not be unhappy. In fact, you will leave in a better mood than when you arrived. Try to sit by the back windows with a view of the marsh. It is likely very busy when there are a lot of tourists around. The location is a mile or two west of the intersection of routes 134 and 6A, in what is officially West Dennis, MA, on the north side of Cape Cod.

  • Visited December 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BobHLeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albertville, Alabama, United States
1 review
“I LOVE GRUMPY'S!”
Reviewed December 9, 2011

Everyone, at some point in time, has had a piece of pizza in their life. One day, I got tired of every pizza I ate, tasting the same. I have a lot of friends that recommended Grumpy's in Arab. Mom decided trying new food would be good for the family. We drove to Grumpy's the next day to give it a go. When you first see the restaurant, it looks like it wouldn't be very good, but actually it's one of the cleanest restaurants I've ever been to. All the employees are so nice to the customers, even the rude ones. Also they care about what's going on in your life, and they do it without being too nosy. At Grumpy's you really are like family.
The first time I tried Grumpy's, I was scared I wouldn't like it. I ordered a plain cheese pizza for the first try. The wait can seem like such a long time, but it's just because they take their time in hand making your food. When I got the pizza, i sat there for a while staring at it. It looked amazing! The cheese was lightly toasted to perfection, the crust was overdone enough to be crispy, but not burnt. I picked up a slice and took a bite. I wanted to go give the chef a giant hug! it was the best pizza ever! I ate the whole 12 inch pizza in like 5 minutes. The italian cheese melted over the juicy tomato sauces danced over my taste buds. Now we go there every Wednesday after tumbling. It's the perfect small restaurant, that I would recommend to anyone and everyone. I'd give it 5 pitchforks!

  • Visited January 2011
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Abigail C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Friendly local restaurant with great food!”
Reviewed November 30, 2011

Eight (and a half!) of us had breakfast at Grumpy's on a Saturday morning. Everyone had something different, from pancakes to omelets to waffles and egg nog french toast. And everything was delicious! Don't be intimidated by the line at the door; it moves very quickly!

  • Visited November 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KCLL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Wales, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Friendly eatery”
Reviewed November 15, 2011

Great restaurant for breakfast and lunch. Just wish it was open in the evenings

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
Thank cliffie_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grumpy's Restaurant also viewed

West Yarmouth, Cape Cod
 

Been to Grumpy's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing