We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“A pleasant activity even for beginners” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Swan Pond River

Ranked #7 of 25 things to do in Dennis
Attraction details
Bridgnorth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“A pleasant activity even for beginners”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2013

My wife and I have very different extents of experience in kayaks. I have spent 20 years in white water including the Alps, Zambezi and White Nile. In contrast, my better half has a fear of water.

To my amazement, this trip was her suggestion (I suspect sunstroke :-) ). We hired kayaks from right on route 28 by the river bridge. We were soon familarised and my wife was reassured by the the boats' stability. They also had open tops instead of being tightly enclosed as is usually the case. She felt less trapped, soon relaxed and thoroughly enjoyed herself. Despite being a white water fan, I found the placid paddle to be very enjoyable and relaxing.

Because the tide was coming in, we were advised to paddle upriver to the Swan Pond. It was a simple matter to follow the twists & turns of the river for 20 minutes up to the Pond (it's big so more of a lake really - perhaps they chose 'pond' because of confusion with the ballet). We then spent about half an hour exporing the nooks & crannies of the lake. I landed on a small island, which I reclaimed for Britain and King George III. I await the ruling of the international court.

Visited June 2013
7 Thank Stephen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Enjoy an adventure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

We kayaked toward the beach and had an exhilarating afternoon. I don't think we laughed this much on any of the other activities that we did. To rent a kayak, we went to a place right on rt 28. The people we very reassuring and confident that we would not tip over as this was the first time we had kayaked. It was a blast and would recommend it to anyone!

Visited July 2012
2 Thank Camila82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Experience a fun tidal river”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2012

We used an unofficial put-in site to paddle our kayaks into Swan Pond, down the river into the ocean, and back up. Had to fend off a goose on the way down! Definitely check the tide charts and your stamina if you finish by paddling upstream - it was punishing fighting the current even though we had the rising tide on our side. At low tide, the mouth of the river is a walk, not a paddle.

Visited April 2012
1 Thank RoughGuess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leverett, MA
Level Contributor
365 reviews
53 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 217 helpful votes
“Pleasant low flow reiver”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

You can enter this river from route 28 in Dennisport, very near the intersection for route 28 and route 134. You can rent boats and paddle your way downstream to the ocean on the south shore of Cape Cod. Or, you can paddle your way upstream to Swan Pond and paddle around the island in the relatively small pond. You can make the entire round trip in a couple of hours, depending on how ambitious you are. In the process you will pass along a winding small river with lots of reeds on the banks and a variety of birds. If the ocean is calm, you can readily simply paddle from the river into the ocean, but this is not advisable if there is any surf. All, in all, a pleasant river to paddle. Bring your sunscreen.

Visited July 2011
3 Thank BobHLeverett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Paddle to the beach or the Swan Lake”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2009

Rent a kayak or a paddleboat (Right on 28) and enjoy the wildlife. I don't think I've seen that many diffrent birds in any zoo, not to mention in the wild. You can choose the direction - towards beach or into the lake. We always pick the beach, as drop our kayaks there and just relax for a while.

10 Thank WunderlustKing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Swan Pond River also viewed


Been to Swan Pond River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing