We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food in a cozy atmosphere”
Review of The Red Pheasant

The Red Pheasant
Reserve with OpenTable
The Red Pheasant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #7 of 25 Restaurants in Dennis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $32
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Creative and Classic Cuisine in the charm of a 200 year old barn on Cape Cod. Fresh flavors and local ingredients are our hallmarks.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Good food in a cozy atmosphere”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

The food was very good and the atmosphere was a delight-warm and cozy. We were seated by a window which gave us a full view of the lushly landscaped garden. The service was prompt and attentive. I would definitely recommend the Red Pheasant.

Leslie H.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Leslie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

286 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    56
    22
    14
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dennis, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
54 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“uncomfortable situation made good!!!!!!”
Reviewed October 10, 2012

We had eaten here this summer and had a bad experience with one of the servers, which I mentioned in Trip Advisor. The owner was on it immediately and addressed the situation with the server. She then contacted us and apologized and told us what she had done to correct the problem. Her promptness and willingness to address the situation was very professional. It says a lot about a restaurant that is willing to correct problems instead of ignoring them! We will be back!!!!!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Babs0707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Used to be outstanding”
Reviewed October 9, 2012

Still good but not the wonderful night out that we recalled. Some things change but I am sorry to see that this has not continued in its former fashion.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank NewHampshirereviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedPheasant, Owner at The Red Pheasant, responded to this review, October 11, 2012
Could you be more specific? It is upsetting to read as we work very hard to make dining at The Red Pheasant a special experience. We appreciate your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Standard upscale”
Reviewed October 4, 2012

We ate as a group of 20 and the restaurant managed to serve us with reasonable efficiency. Of course we mostly ordered sea-food which was fresh and well-prepared. The restaurant is traditional and does not pretend to be "cutting edge"

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank ormond42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Garden City NY
Level Contributor
229 reviews
182 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“The Red Pheasant is very pleasant”
Reviewed September 30, 2012

We heard about the Red Pheasant from a friend who stayed on the Cape and dined here twice in one week, because the food was that good.

Classics of cuisine like "Sole Meuniere, lemon, shallots, white wine & capers, finished with sweet butter, served with gratin potatoes" are expertly prepared. You can taste the real butter used to make this dish.

Local residents flock here because the food is consistently very good.

We found the hostess to be very friendly.

We intend to return.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GC_Guru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Pheasant also viewed

 
Yarmouth Port, Cape Cod
Dennis, Cape Cod
 
Harwich, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Red Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing